The Reef Tank banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey...im new to thge forums ...my name is nicole. I currently have a 56 bowfront stocked with only 1 lonely royal gramma. I recently purchased 2 deepwater yellow gorgonians....then are in relatively low lighting and a low water flow. When i first put them in the parameters of the water were fine but then i had to add about 4 gallons of new water and my nitrites went up a little bnit. I put cycle in and everything is fine again however, my gorgonians HAVE NOT opened up since i purchased them...they were open in the store when i got them but no luck in almost 2 weeks. I have moved then to different spots and even tried adjusting the flow and lighting. Yesterday when i picked them up to move again i noticed a translucent fleshy like skin coming off of them...so pretty much i wanna know if that means they are goners???? They were so pretty but i am afraid i have killed them...nitrites possibly???

·
Premium Member
14,531 Posts
Welcome to TRT Nicole. Sorry to hear about the gorgs Have you been feeding them anything?
Why did you have to add 4 gallons of new water? was it fresh water to replace evaporation or mixed salt water?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i have been feeding a tablespoon of Kent zooplex everyday. I had to add the 4 gallons of new waer because i took the gladd hood off and my motyher knocked it over and shattered it to bits so b 4 i got a new one i had quite a bit of water evaporate in this 100 degree weather....and it was fresh water but i had put cycle in it and let it run through because i dont want the salinity to go any higher

·
Premium Member
20,603 Posts
well come to TRT.
you need to remove the glass hood , it does not help withhteh gas exchange you need on the tank. it will also trap the heat in.

can you post a picture of it?