The Reef Tank banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i'm confused... Im fairly new to this so please forgive me if my questions are dumb. So you only have to cycle the tank only once? Why don't you have to cycle again after doing a water change? I heard it's because of the filter but what if you change out the filter? i'm so lost :( Also i'm cycling my tank with fish food and shrimp right now, how long should I keep "feeding" my tank fish food? and how long should I keep the shrimp in there?

·
Reef Junkie
1,544 Posts
Well technically the nitrogen cycle never ends otherwise everything would die. But the initial cycle to establish the benificial bacteria is not affected by water changes once complete. Very little of the bacteria live in the water column. It's primarily in the live rock which is your filter in a saltwater system. HOB filters used in freshwater aren't appropriate for biological filtration in saltwater.

You can leave the shrimp in til it disappears or until you detect an ammonia spike. Once you do, leave the tank alone and monitor ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Once ammonia and nitrite spike and then hit zero and you have nitrates, your system is cycled. You will need dry/live rock for a saltwater system.

What is your setup?

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well technically the nitrogen cycle never ends otherwise everything would die. But the initial cycle to establish the benificial bacteria is not affected by water changes once complete. Very little of the bacteria live in the water column. It's primarily in the live rock which is your filter in a saltwater system. HOB filters used in freshwater aren't appropriate for biological filtration in saltwater.