The Reef Tank banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a scientist, but I would say a pretty discriminating hobbyist. I have been hearing and seeing test results from the current version of Coralife salt come in and when I ran out of salt last weekend and needed some for my setup I said what the hey ran to my favorite petsmart in Anderson (the closest place to get anything for salt to clemson) and tried the $15 50g bag just to see what was up (I have bad talked this salt in the past:rolleyes: )

Of course before it went in my tank I tested it with everything I had to test it (besides nitrate and phosphate shoulda done these in retrospect)
mixed with rodi 0 tds water.

Objective tests

cheap!
sg- 1.025 refractometer calibrated with distilled water
Ca 500 (salifert)
kH 9.5 (lamotte)
mg- 1150 (elos)
k+- 300+ (kz- a bit of a subjective test imo, but this salt has had the highest level of any I've tested)

Being one of the better testing salts I have tested lately it went into the tank as a 10% wc.

some of the subjective qualities I noticed about the salt were:

very uniform (almost a powder)
easy to dissolve (reminds me of oceanic)
heavy duty resealable bag
no post residue in mixing container
corals look good

I will give a bucket of this salt a try as long as the increased Ca does not cause any problems over the long run (I use a good bit of Ca in my tank- lots of stoneys)

Cheers,

·
Perfeshunal Hikk
8,887 Posts
If you are using Ca up in the tank, then the higher Ca levels in the salt should be a benefit, not a negative since it will mean less Ca adding to the setup. Will be informative to see how well the test ends up after the entire bag is used.

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yes with Ca use this increased level could be useful. Just good to know if you are running a Carxr or two part.

·
Just send me a PM ;)
16,796 Posts