The Reef Tank banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I Need Some Help, I Am Just Learning Of The Importance Of Alkalinity In My Reef Tank. I Ahve A 220 Gal Tank That Has Been Up & Running Well ( Other Than The Brown Algae In The Substrate That I Cant Seem To Get A Handle On) For About 18/mos. My Question Is What When And How Do I Buffer My Water? I Use Ro Water For Water Changes And Top Off-should I Be Buffering The Water Change Water And The Top-off Water Before Adding It To Tank. I Do Not Have A Top On My Tank So I Have Quite A Bit Of Evap And I Do About A 10% Water Change Every 10 Days. My Ph Seems Ok, Maybe A Little Low But Still Good 8.1 Or So. Ive Been Using Kent Marine Pro Buffer Dkh, It Seems To Be Working Slowly But Being The Lazy Man That I Am Is There An Easy Way To Maintain The Proper Alk Without Having To Test,test Again And Again And Again. Maybe Via Top-off Water And Or Water Changes Any Advice Would Be Greatly Apprteciated Thanks, Dk

·
Premium Member
17,355 Posts
salthead said:
I Need Some Help, I Am Just Learning Of The Importance Of Alkalinity In My Reef Tank.... ...Is There An Easy Way To Maintain The Proper Alk Without Having To Test,test Again And Again And Again???
The short answer is "NO..."

Any time you add any inputs to your closed system, you only need to add what is being removed. Monitoring alkalinity is quite important, especially if you are;
  • adding only buffer
  • do not have a large population of hermatypic corals
  • monitoring alkalinity based on pH
  • not adding Calcium (OK, sort of a repeat of the first bullet)
  • depending on the alkalinity to control the algae in the substrate