The Reef Tank banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Sunday everyone!

Let me start this post by saying that I really appreciate all of you and your helpful advice. I am fairly new to the hobby, and it is great to have a group of people that are willing to help others enjoy the hobby and be successful. Now I am asking a lot of quesions, but hope that some day soon I can post some pictures that are even remotely close to as beautiful as the pictures I have seen many of you post.

Now, for my question....

I have a bubble coral that I got from Premium. It has been doing rather well in the tank until recently. I noticed that in the lower RH area of the coral, it has started to recede leaving the bare skeleton only. Also, the tips of the exposed area of the skeleton are turning brownish-green. Calcium levels are around 380-400 mg/l PH is 8.1. Alk measures about 4 meq/L or 11.2 KH.

The only thnig that seems to be out of whack is nitrate, for which I will be doing a water change tomorrow.

20g tank
1 15W 50/50 bulb
25 lbs LR
4 small fish
2 PH
HOT Skimmer

I have attached a picture to illustrate. Has anyone seen this before or have any idea what if anything I can do to keep this problem from progressing? Any suggestions appreciated.

Thanks.

Jason

Attachments

·
Registered
645 Posts
Lighting seems to be the issue based on the specs provided. You're running at less than 1w per gallon. IMO you would need at least 100w of PC lighting to sustain this LPS.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Of course the LFS said that what I have should be just fine for bubble coral becasue they do not like intense lighting. I guess I better look at getting that light upgrade sooner than I thougt.

Any other suggestions diagnosis?

Jason

·
Premium Member
34,435 Posts