The Reef Tank banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've been battleing this stuff for a couple of months now, and just cannot get it under controll. Have tried large and small water changes. Have tried lights out for a week (twice). No sign of it untill about a week later, then back with a vengance. I thought maybe there was something wrong with the DI water I was getting from work, so I purchased a new RO/DI of my own, not the problem. My pc's were about a year old, so I replaced them, but still no progress. If anyone has any suggestions, I would be grateful. Thanks!

65 gallon tank
24 gallon sump/fuge
PM HOT-1 skimmer
Circulation via mag 9.5
100 lbs live rock
4" sandbed in sump, 2" in tank
SG 1.024, pH 8.3, ammonia 0, nitrate 0, nitrite 0, temp 80 - 82

·
Bring it.
932 Posts
I know of a fellow reefer who has a black sponge/algae like encroaching growth. It kills everything it comes in contact with and there seems to be no end. Please give more details about your infestation. A better decription would be helpful. I know the stuff he is battling is very course and spongey. He uses kalwasser spot dosed to keep it in check. You might have that or just cyano. I had a similar problem with black nasty stuff and immedieately removed the rock from the system. If it is the sponge like stuff and not cyano I recommend immediately removing the rock and letting it dry out and scrub it off.

·
Registered
4,853 Posts
can't say I have a clue why or whats wrong, but I did see a guys tank that was covered in black...never seen it before, but it looked nasty.

hope someone has some idea's for you :)

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·