The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to this. We are having a problem with diatoms and now red bubble algea on the substrate.
Here are some of my parameters:
Water used is tap....no RO/DI
SG 1.025
Amm 0
Nitrite0
'trate0
Alk 3.2
Calcium 430
Temp 76-79*
We have every bottle of Kent product available. What do we need to do/not do to rid diatoms and red bubble algae?
No fish currently in tank(in QT...ich)
Also, white flatworms are multiplying too rapidly...
Any advice greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
18,603 Posts
Get ro/di filter us that for water increase water movement where the cyano red algae is.Diatoms are just part of new tank syndrome we all go through it what else can you tell me about your tank? How long set up? etc

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for the quick reply.

OK, here goes:
72 g bowfront set up in May 14.
100+lbs LR
100lbs.LS
UVsterilizer
protein skimmer
sump
2 power heads alternate current
hmmmm...what else????
2 anenomes...one currently rolling around tank since I changed water flow last night to help with red algea
asst.crabs,snails,cleaner and peppermint shrimp(6, one is pregnant...I guess I'll have to post another thread on how to deal with that)
Fish in QT's...20g Yellow Tang, Coral Beauty,green chromis and blue damsel
10g... 2 clowns, royal gramma and a green chromis ( I know this isnt the best setup for these fish but 2 got ich so they all had to come out and the 2 tanks were the best I could do in the emergency)
Since the fish came out 10 days ago, the pods,flatworms and algea are running rampant. The tank is looking like cr_p!!!
I'll attach a pic.
What all do I need to do now????

Attachments

·
Premium Member
18,603 Posts