The Reef Tank banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
I'm currently an undergraduate biochem student who has taken over the abandoned marine aquarium. At the time I took it over, maybe five months ago, the water level was well below normal and there were three animals- a largeish (maybe 4") (Allard's clownfish, Amphiprion allardi or Amphiprion clarkii) clownfish, a 2-3" blue damselfish, and a wayward hermit crab- living in less than ideal conditions.

This tank has reportedly been in the labs for 7 years, though I assume the fish are not quite that old.

The tank itself is 110 gallons, dimensions are 8' (98") long by 18" wide by 22" high, the lights about 2" higher. There is a great deal of liverock, perhaps 10 medium size pieces (I wish I knew the pounds). There is one 48" fluorescent light at 40 watts along the front of the tank. The 'back' lighting (just behind the fluorescent) is a combination of four 24" lights, 2 blue atinic(sp) 2 daytime. These are coralife brand, and 65 watts each. All the lights are on a timer, the blue lights stay on perpetually, and the daytime lights are on 7am to 7pm. There is a 3-way combination carbon, sponge, and bacterial filter which came with the tank, though the sponge and bacterial flora was replaced by myself maybe 2-3 months ago.

I keep the salinity between 1.022-1.026, keeping on the higher side lately, and do water changes about once a month. I replace one of the blue lights recently, and think that the remaining lights may indeed be seven years old due to the contrast in vibrancy.