The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Just a Fishy
601 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm Back.
I’ve been contemplating about building an aquarium for years. I’ve had my on and off days wondering if, as a college student, I could support myself both financially and physically with the extra burden of a fish tank on my shoulders. Back in 2012 I started my first Nano, and my first ever experience with saltwater aquaria had begun. Two years later, I got rid of the tank. Ever since, my fingers have been parched and only the salty waters of a new aquarist adventure would quench them.

Today, I am happy to report that after a long contemplative thought process, I have decided to begin the first steps into the largest aquarium I have ever owned. Yes — finally, it’s time to start my own build thread amongst all the amazing aquariums, people, and enthusiasm of TheReefTank. I am excited to be able to share the beginnings of a new chapter in my aquarium obsession.

Welcome everyone to:

Logistical Disclaimer.
As a Junior in college, I will be updating this thread primarily on a weekend basis as that’s when I have the most available free time. I plan on finishing the build late Spring to early Summer, of course, I’ll document everything along the way. I will try to respond and contribute whenever I can throughout the week.

The Glass Box.
Size: 92 Actual Gallons — 59" Long, 20" Wide, 22" Tall. 5/8" Ultra-Clear Glass
I knew that if I wanted a new aquarium setup, it simply had to be rimless. I want the tank itself to be as much of a feature statement in our home as the inhabitants themselves, and I personally really like the look of fine polished glass beside shimmering water.