The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new to this hobby and am in the process of researching a reef tank. Likely size will be in the 120-150g range. I've done a lot of reading (including this forum - great stuff!) and talking to various retailers. I'm getting comfortable with the concepts and terminology. Now it's time to start making decision and spending money...

The main question I have at this point is around filtration. If I understand it correctly, one option would be the use of bio balls, another would be the use of a refugium. What is the difference in terms of effectiveness, ease of maintenance, etc? People I've talked to seem to come down on both sides of the fence...

My apologies in advance if this is a no-brain question...chaulk it up to rookie naivity...

Mark

·
Registered
133 Posts
mcdavies said:
The main question I have at this point is around filtration. If I understand it correctly, one option would be the use of bio balls, another would be the use of a refugium. What is the difference in terms of effectiveness, ease of maintenance, etc? People I've talked to seem to come down on both sides of the fence...

My apologies in advance if this is a no-brain question...chaulk it up to rookie naivity...

Mark
Hi Mark:

WELCOME TO TRT and keep asking the questions.

The big difference between bio balls and a refugium is the former is a huge nitrate trap and really, really, really bad for your tank. The latter, if done right, is a nitrate sink and will take out a lot of the bad stuff from your tank - helping to keep the amount of algae and unwelcome stuff in your tank down. Do a search for "refugium" on this site and you can check out the macroalgae that are good (Halimeda) and the ones that aren't (Caulpera). I got something called a "shaving brush plant" in my refugia and it seems to be doing well.