The Reef Tank banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.. Let me start by saying this is a fantastic forum with some great people and advise!!! Also, let it be known that I am a noob to marine aquariums after a few years of fresh water set-ups...

Now that that is done, let's get to why I'm bothering you guys... I have recently set up my first shot at a sw bitope :beer: and I had alot of questions. I've searched but could not find answers for all of them so here are a few...

The tank has been up and running for 2 days now with the water and sand but only 1 day with the LR... I appear to have skin or something of that nature sluffing of the rock in several places.

My question is: Is this something living or is it already dead?... If it is living, can I keep it from dieing like pointing my powerhead in another direction or something?... I picked the rock and just about all of my supplies up from Aquabuys in the Atlanta area and Sam, the owner (one hell of a great guy and he has great prices) told me there were a few corals on the rock that Lupe and his boys left(pictures below)... Is that what I'm seeing the loose skin on?... Sorry about any redundant or dumb questions here, like I said I am a noob...

Here's a few pics if I get this attachment thing right::arg:

Pic 3.JPG

pic 1.JPG

Pic 2.jpg

Here's a few other pics... One shows the coral that I hope makes it through the cycle... I suppose there's no way of telling what it could be at this stage...

Pic 4.JPG

Pic 5.JPG

Here's a breakdown of my setup:
  • 24G DLX Nano Cube
  • 30-35 lbs of live sand (Bahama Oolite & Live Reef)
  • 19-20 lbs of Pukani LR (Walt Smith Lupe's choice????) Beautiful rock!!!
  • R/O-D/I water from Capuccino Bay Aquarium
  • Reef Crystals salt
  • Stock lighting (2 36W PC and 2 LED moonlights)
  • Stock powerhead with extra 1/2" Lin-Loc to redirect fan nozzle
  • 75W heater
  • Surface skimmer