The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 159 Posts

·
Registered
778 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all!!! Im a noob to SW aquariums and I am gathering all my sundries for a new 40B reef tank .....So, this is where I shall post my pics!!! I will be good to have a record of its growth on here. I also have three FW aquariums.....my addiction is accelerating.....
Heres what I have so far:
One 40B Glass aquarium
Awaiting tank stand...... come on UPS!!!!
Toms RP3 wet dry filter/sump with attached protein skimmer with pump and return pump. Its supposed to be for 40-100 gallon system with 700gph output. (also has canister features with the ceramic media, bioball level, and middle level where I can put whatever I want).
Seio pump 1000
Tetra 150 gallon air pump with airstone
Taotronics dimmable 120W LED light fixture (will hang over tank)
I also built a top for my tank from an acrylic sheet and stuck some handles on it, and sealed the screws with 100% silicone.
I am also getting some black sand to put at the bottom (less than one inch), and plan on using perhaps about 25-30 lbs of base rock for aquascaping. May supplement with LFS live rock (havent decided yet)

I havent yet made arrangements for a RODI unit. I would really like to try it without, but everyone here swears by them and I may end up getting one.....

Other than the other little stuff: hydrometer, testing supplies, salt mix etc....... Anything I forgot?

Oh yes... almost forgot..... I made my own top for the tank, and its acrylic...... I have cut holes for the components to sit in, but should I drill some random holes for more gas exchange?

This was reposted from the 40B club thread.....

·
Perfeshunal Hikk
8,887 Posts
Take the bioballs out and forget you ever learned what they are. They will cause you more grief than you care to go through. As for the lid, the more air exchange the better.

What are you going to be keeping in it? And congrats on the new tank. And what lights are you going to have on it?

·