The Reef Tank banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all here TRT. My name is Sheldon and i am a novice at salt water aquarium keeping. I have a 29 gallon reef tank that has been set up for a good six months now. I have 2 clowns, 3 yellow-tailed blue damselfish, 1 fire shrimp, and 1 green bubble tipped anemone.

For filtration i use the one that came with the tank which moves 225 gph through a carbon filter. I also have a powerhead which moves 165 gph. I have 25lbs of live cured live rock as well. For lighting i have a retrofit lighting system with 1 - 10,000K daytime lights and 1 True actinic blue lamps. It looks like 4 tubes altogether.

I also have recently purchased a 75 gallon tank. I have wanted to do this one much better than the first one. So I did a little research and am trying to do more with it. It is tempered glass so I cant make an overflow box but i would like a sump because after this tank is fully cycled i would like to turn my 29 gallon into a sump. I have a Ehiem classic externel filter canister thing. it pumps 116 gph and is my only source of water movement for now. I have 1 4 striped damselfish in there.I also have 20lbs of live rock. For lighting i have 1 10,000K light and 1 20W true actinic blue bulb.

I would like for this tank to house my 2 clownfish, 5-6 damsels, 1 yellow tang, 1 regal tang, 1 royal gramma, fire shrimp, and maybe a starfish, as well as anemone's, zoos, small polyps, brain corals, and a few other corals that i havent looked into yet.

I do have many questions and this site has helped with a bunch of them.