The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Administrator
34,435 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, teach me everything needed in order to set up a 75g planted aquarium, the right way. :D

what i am really trying to figure out is what kind of lighting is necessary and plumbing. i have a couple of holes drilled in the 75, but do not know if these are necessary or not.

i have done mbuna for many years, so not a complete noob at FW.

i want a tank like whiskey's. :D

G~

·
Registered
124 Posts
Well, get reading!
http://www.thekrib.com/
http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/articles.htm
http://rexgrigg.com/

Do you want a high tech or low tech? High tech includes high light, pressurized CO2, daily dosing of fertilizers and weekly maintanence. Low tech is low to moderate light, DIY or pressurized CO2, weekly dosing of ferts and maybe monthly maintanence. -My definitions-

T5s are just making their way into the freshwater side, and are making a large impact. There are people who buy the 6x TEK setups and end up using only 2-4 of the bulbs. I have no experience with T5s, so take this with a grain of salt*, but a 4x TEK hood will give you adequate lighting on your 75g to grow anything. Otherwise PCs are completely adequate and you can have a great tank with them. Metal halides are not widely used, $$$, but those that use them can probably attest to their greatness.

With great light comes great responsibility, to fertilize. A high tech set up will probably need Nitrate, Phosphate, and Potassium dosed every other day. On days alternate of NPK dosing, micro elements are dosed, like Fe, Mg, Ca, etc. There are a lot of people using dry "PMDD" ferts from Greg Watson; you can get a years worth of ferts for roughly $20. Standard purchase would be 1lb of K2SO4, KNO3, KH2PO4, and CSM+B.