The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
649 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long story, but I've been hired to build a 6000+ gallon system.
I maintained a 5000 gallon fish only system, so I have SOME experience though I did not design or build any of it.
The tank is in a mansion that changed owners before it was far enough along for anyone to move in. The new owner now has a huge tank with no plumbing, etc.
Just an industrial size chiller, 2 massive sumps, and a mixing vat.
It's up to me to buy the rest of the equipment and get it running within 2 years time (a loose time-line for when the mansion is finished).
Where do I buy giant skimmers, pumps, etc.?
Thanks for any input!
Automotive tire Wood Bumper Floor Flooring
Automotive tire Wood Bumper Floor Flooring

· Registered
649 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Maybe you guys could help me with a list of needed equipment. One of my tasks (if I land the bid for the job) is to create a list of everything I would need to buy in order to get the system up and running. This would include tentative pricing.
So far I have:
2 protein skimmers (size to be determined)
4 main pumps (2 in use, 2 backup)
Full quarantine tank system including medications
High end test kit/machine
Salinity testers
2 Reverse Osmosis systems, one for the salt water vat and one for the freshwater vat
1 vat for fresh water, there is already a large vat on site that I assume the original owner ordered for mixing salt water
Roll of filter floss
Several pallets of salt
Small spare pumps
Refrigerator for fish food storage
Lighting system. I think the original owner intended to use metal halide though I will try to convince the new guy to go with LED. The builder told me the lights he chose were going to create a lot of heat so they put in a ventilation system and ordered the huge chiller.
Step Ladder
Extension cords
Possible air pump for scuba to clean the front glass.
Air pumps