The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to TRT. I have a 24g nano-cube by JBJ that we have had for a year now. I am taking over the tank since my wife has a new hobby (a new baby girl). I have been reading a lot of previous posts in this forum to learn more about my new hobby. I have been slowly taking over the tank from my wife during her pregancy anticipating that she would be too busy to care for the tank once the baby was here. I have been involved in the tank care since it's start up. I understand most aspects of the tank.

Here is my issues/questions:
(sorry for the long post)

The tank did very well from start up in November to June. However, in June, our torch coral and frogspawn died despite great water chemistry. The other livestock were fine. I replaced them with an inexpensive frogspawn a month later and it died as well. This was about the time that one of the canopy fans started acting up. Our water temp started rising as well (up to 80-82). So over the last few months I have tried trouble shooting and fixing things. I replaced both canopy fans (one was dead), replaced the bulbs (2 36w 10k 50/50 CF), added a second power head to increase flow (new hydor magnetic circulation pump 240gph), and changed/upgraded the power head pump (290gph). The water tests fine except the temp remains high at 80-82 degrees. I do water changes/rinse the sponges every 2-3weeks (using r/o and premixed saltwater) and change the carbon bag every month. The lights are on 11hrs in 24hr period (8am-2pm then 4pm-9pm). I feed one cube (frozen mysis or brine shrimp) twice a day. I suppliment with kent zooplex, phytoplex, and calcium (just started adding coral accel yesterday).
Here is a list of my tank contents:
3 Turbo snails
3 Zebra snails
2 Bumble bee snails
7 Hermit crabs
1 Small blue hippo tang
2 false perculas
2 fire shrimp (have survived for 1year)
1 Hawaiian feather duster
1 Green star polyp