The Reef Tank banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey :banana: everyone

I have my first saltwater tank with live sand. Does anyone have any suggestions about this. I have been doing saltwater for about 3 years so Im still new. My tank is now cycling just started it last week. I want to make it into a reef tank. Its a 46 gal bow front, would like to get a sump for it but for now it has a skimmer and magnum hang on canister filter and 900 maxi jet . This is all I can do for now, Im getting back surgery in June. In the meantime I could use some advice. :jester: What kind of sump that would fit the tank stand, what I would need pump wise and tubes etc.. I have a 55 gal FOWLR and thats going good ,so advise I would take kindly.. If I knew how to post pic I would of my 55.

·
Administrator
34,435 Posts
since this is going to be a reef. i suggest removing the cannister filter. what kind of skimmer do you have? the LR and the skimmer are all of the filtration you will need. i know it is tough to believe, but it is all you need. cannisters will actually be working against you.

to have a sump, you either drill the tank for an overflow or use a HOB overflow. drilled tanks are less likely to fail. anythink will work as a sump. a lot of people just use rubbermaid buckets. whatever fits in the space is fine. you do not need to spend the money on a true sump unless you want to. 20 longs are a good choice for sumps also.

G~

·
Registered
2,271 Posts