The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alrighty friends, so I am currently looking into getting a 16 gallon bow front and I need some help from the ‘hive mind.’

First problem:
It doesn’t come with a filter so I will need to get one along with a protein skimmer. Therefore what is a good idea for a skimmer and filter that won’t break my bank?

Second problem:
It has a kind of light I have never worked with before so I will also need help with that, I will post a picture with both the tank and the light on it.

Third problem:
This tank is going to be moved 4 times a year, so what fish could handle the stress of that? Yes I know four times a year is a lot, but if I am going to put a tank in my dorm room it has to be easily packable and moveable. Note that I move ~4-5 fish tanks 4 times a year already, so the process of moving the tank itself and keeping the water/fish is pretty much down to a science. However since it is saltwater it could be more interesting. This could be an interesting experiment, with caution ofc and careful observation.

Fourth problem:
Knowing the size of the tank and how often it will need to be moved, what fish/inverts would thrive in the tank? I know it’s small so maybe nano fish, and hermits/shrimp. Also I was hoping maybe an anemone and clownfish but it might be too stressful for the anemone. Also I’m not planning on getting any coral as it would simply be too much for them to handle the move that often, unless y’all think otherwise.

Fifth problem:
What’s the best way to kickstart the system? I can use water from my already cycled and thriving tank at home, I would just have to bring it from there, and the rock I will be getting should have bacteria as the person I am getting it from offered to put it in their water to give it beneficial bacteria. I know I will still have to let the tank settle before putting anything in it.