The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

So I've been running a Fluval Edge 12 gallon for the past 6 months, and in that time I've had two major crashes. I don't understand the reasoning behind them and was hoping someone could help me.

The first time, I had a clown, 2 small bubble tip anemones, an anemone shrimp, and a nassarius snail. There was also a small gsp colony but nothing major. The tank proceeded to crash, ammonia and nitrate levels severely spiked and I lost everything but the clown.

Fast forward to today. After about three months, I had the same thing happen almost overnight, but I'm looking for a reason why. In order to better support my tank, I purchased a AI Nano and controller, setup a lighting schedule and had the lights at 15% intensity, so I don't think lights were a factor.

Sunday night I did a water change using RO/DI water, dechlorinated using Prime. I tested the water Sunday night, and my nitrates were minimal (0.1) and ammonia and nitrites were both zero. Tank livestock was a nassarius snail, clown, small carpet anemone, a GSP colony, sea fan and a fancy brittle star.

I noticed my fish wasbreathing heavy on Monday, and my water was becoming unexpectedly cloudy almost overnight. I came home and found my ammonia levels were at 8.0 and nitrates well over 4.0. The carpet had pinched itself into about a dime shape, so I tried doing a 30% water change in an attempt to salvage. Entire tank crashed regardless.

I have since done about a 75% water change, and repositioned my rocks. Potentially the carpet and GSP colony may make it, my local LFS is really helpful and he offered to hold them to see if they would make it.