The Reef Tank banner

Just got used tank in horrible condition: rehab or start fresh?

1K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  jalexuk 
#1 ·
I just bought a used 14g biocube on craigslist. The lightbulbs have been dead for months and they didn't even have a filter going in it. It has 2 hermit crabs, HUNDREDS of snails and maybe some inverts that i haven't seen. No corals appear to be alive.

The tank is covered with cyanobacteria and bubble algae among other strange algaes.

Should I toss everything in the ocean and start fresh? Should I try to rehab what's in this tank?

WWYD?

#3 ·
Yeah I was thinking the same thing. It's got some hermit crabs (their child must have caught them at the beach and put them in) alive...should I put them back in the ocean? I feel kind of weird putting anything captive into the wild (invasive species and such) but i'm pretty sure these are local fauna

#5 ·
I'm a newbie to salt water so I'm probably going to ask a couple of obvious/stupid questions :). I'm a Biologist and have always wanted to give a salt water tank a try. This tank I have did not come with any type of instruction manual so i am a little confused about how things should be set up inside the tank.

Where should I place the protein skimmer? Should I replace the media inside this used protein skimmer so as not to re-introduce damaging bacteria/algae? If so where would I find replacement media?

I purchased Biocube filter cartridges...the kind like for a freshwater tank with activated carbon. Are these appropriate for a salt water tank? If so, where are they supposed to go because I can't figure it out for the life of me :)

I have seen many places it is wise to remove all of the bioballs and replace with live rock. Has anyone done this? Should i remove ALL of the bioballs or just half?

I was planning on disinfecting this tank with a 5-10% bleach solution before attempting to start fresh. Is this an appropriate sanitation solution for a salt water tank?