The Reef Tank banner
23K views 25 replies 10 participants last post by  tims 
#1 ·
First and foremost, I would like to say hi, I randomly stumbled across this site when doing research for my marine tank in the near future and these forums look like a collage of collected people of similar interests and information, so I figured it was a good place to start asking questions. :)

I have had some experience with fresh water before, but it was quite a few years back, this will be my first try with a salt-water tank.

I've read a few articles from random sources and what not and have come across 2 important things concerning salt-water tanks:
1. They are expensive.
2. They require meticulous care.

So with the small introduction done I move on to my questions.

1. Could anyone be so kind as to post some links to articles or guides for a novice future salt-water tank owner like me?
2. I ultimately want to have a tank with reefs and fish, is that possible in a Nano reef?
3. How much should the tank roughly cost? Any sort of ball park would be fantastic. (I know this is an investment and as such would require more time and money then another hobby but I feel other hobbies don't stand out as much as a fish tank :p)
4. Can any of you share your photos of your current nano tanks that?

I'm sure I have many more questions but just can't think of any off the top of my head. If anyone would be so kind as to throw in small tidbits of information and advice it would be sincerely appreciated. I plan on taking this tank completely seriously so I want to know as much as possible before I start my tank.

Thanks for reading, I will be looking forward to your replies!

See less See more
#4 ·
Thank you very much for the link and the pictures! Your fish tank looks so intricate and diverse! Out of curiosity, what is all that stuff on the back wall of your tank? and is that the fish from finding Nemo? :p