Help on adding a sump to existing tank? - The Reef Tank





Go Back   The Reef Tank > Equipment / Methodology related Forums > DIY Forum
Register



Old 02-27-2017, 01:10 PM   #1
SilliSwilli
Little Fishy
 
SilliSwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Prattville, AL.
Posts: 143
Images: 13
Help on adding a sump to existing tank?

ANY ADVICE is welcomed!

Has anybody ever done this?

I have a 55Gal established tank that has never ran a sump of any kind. Always used HOB skimmers/filters/heaters.

I want to drill my tank with Animal bean setup. I know the process of doing it. BUT has anyone ever done it with an established tank. How long do I have to work on the project? Best way to keep my fish/CuC/Corals alive?

My current thought process is:

1) Build Stand to house the Sump
2) Build the Sump
3) Pre-plan plumbing from the sump up to the tank
4) Take all creatures from display tank and place in a 30 Gal Brute trash can with a power head and heater
5) Place all LR in another Brute with power head.
6) Drill tank then plumb it
7) Run a test for leaks for a few hours with freshwater outside on patio
8) Take everything inside and aqua-scape/re-introduce tank mates.
__________________
180Gal Project:
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
SilliSwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 02:36 PM   #2
pmarkj
Shark
 
pmarkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 6,770
Images: 9
Three things -
1) Make sure if it's tempered glass or not
2) Work fast, but slow enough to do right...you don't want your inhabitants in those brute can too long
3) You may need to leak test for a day or so just to be sure.
__________________
"Life is a journey, not a guided tour!"

My Euro-style 100g -
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ad-228971.html
pmarkj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 02:51 PM   #3
SilliSwilli
Little Fishy
 
SilliSwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Prattville, AL.
Posts: 143
Images: 13
That is mostly what I am curious about. Are my inhabitants going to be ok for water testing for at least a day?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmarkj View Post
Three things -
1) Make sure if it's tempered glass or not
2) Work fast, but slow enough to do right...you don't want your inhabitants in those brute can too long
3) You may need to leak test for a day or so just to be sure.
__________________
180Gal Project:
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
SilliSwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 02-27-2017, 03:33 PM   #4
pmarkj
Shark
 
pmarkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 6,770
Images: 9
When I re-worked my BC29 mine were in buckets for a day and no harm.
__________________
"Life is a journey, not a guided tour!"

My Euro-style 100g -
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ad-228971.html
pmarkj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 08:57 AM   #5
SilliSwilli
Little Fishy
 
SilliSwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Prattville, AL.
Posts: 143
Images: 13
Good deal! I would just hate for anything to die just because I want to make this tank better.

I think it's one of those why fix it if it ain't broke deals. But I really want to start using a sump.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmarkj View Post
When I re-worked my BC29 mine were in buckets for a day and no harm.
__________________
180Gal Project:
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
SilliSwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 07:50 AM   #6
125Reefzilla
Little Fishy
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 410
most 55G tanks use tempered glass. You might want to look into upgrading to a 75G. Same length/height/ different depth. You would need a bigger stand, and could build it separately while your 55G is up and running. make sure it works/leak tests etc. All of your equipment would transfer over to the 75G without a problem! It will allow more options for a sump instead of trying to get one underneath that 55G stand. you are really limited with sump options under a 55G. The 75 isn't as narrow.

Just some food for thought. when I had 55G tanks I always wanted to get 75G tanks to replace them. Now would be the time!
125Reefzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 01:45 PM   #7
SilliSwilli
Little Fishy
 
SilliSwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Prattville, AL.
Posts: 143
Images: 13
That is disappointing. I have not looked to see if my 55 is tempered or not. I guess I need to before I get to far in this project. Thanks for the heads up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 125Reefzilla View Post
most 55G tanks use tempered glass. You might want to look into upgrading to a 75G. Same length/height/ different depth. You would need a bigger stand, and could build it separately while your 55G is up and running. make sure it works/leak tests etc. All of your equipment would transfer over to the 75G without a problem! It will allow more options for a sump instead of trying to get one underneath that 55G stand. you are really limited with sump options under a 55G. The 75 isn't as narrow.

Just some food for thought. when I had 55G tanks I always wanted to get 75G tanks to replace them. Now would be the time!
__________________
180Gal Project:
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
SilliSwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 11:38 PM   #8
jerryclunsford
Shark
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Nocona, TX
Posts: 2,653
If you have sand in the tank and remove it then put it back could cause a cycle.

You can use a HOB overflow if your tank is tempered. I am not a big fan of them but if it is the only way for now. It will give you time to save up for a good size upgrade, if you can't afford it now.
Or you could wait on the sump till you can afford a good upgrade.

All of that is just in case of course.
__________________
Research and Planning, Research and Planning.
jerryclunsford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:32 AM   #9
SilliSwilli
Little Fishy
 
SilliSwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Prattville, AL.
Posts: 143
Images: 13
I am flip flopping on all the ideas right now. My tank has been running for over a year with just a simple HOB Protein skimmer and is doing great.
I just want to get further into the hobby. I may save up for now for a Reef ready tank that will fit in my budget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryclunsford View Post
If you have sand in the tank and remove it then put it back could cause a cycle.

You can use a HOB overflow if your tank is tempered. I am not a big fan of them but if it is the only way for now. It will give you time to save up for a good size upgrade, if you can't afford it now.
Or you could wait on the sump till you can afford a good upgrade.

All of that is just in case of course.
__________________
180Gal Project:
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
SilliSwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 02:03 PM   #10
Bradford
Plankton
 
Bradford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by 125Reefzilla View Post
most 55G tanks use tempered glass. You might want to look into upgrading to a 75G. Same length/height/ different depth. You would need a bigger stand, and could build it separately while your 55G is up and running. make sure it works/leak tests etc. All of your equipment would transfer over to the 75G without a problem! It will allow more options for a sump instead of trying to get one underneath that 55G stand. you are really limited with sump options under a 55G. The 75 isn't as narrow.

Just some food for thought. when I had 55G tanks I always wanted to get 75G tanks to replace them. Now would be the time!
That's what I would do as well. Then you can take all the time you need.
Bradford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 03:43 PM   #11
jerryclunsford
Shark
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Nocona, TX
Posts: 2,653
You will want a bigger tank later I'm sure. Seems like we always do.
__________________
Research and Planning, Research and Planning.
jerryclunsford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 12:36 PM   #12
SilliSwilli
Little Fishy
 
SilliSwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Prattville, AL.
Posts: 143
Images: 13
I bought a 180 Gal over the weekend with a sump. $200 for everything. My friend wanted out of the reefing hobby and just wants to keep his 265Gal predator tank running. Gave it to me so cheap because he knows I will keep it running for me/him.

See the following post for updates:

http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
__________________
180Gal Project:
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
SilliSwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 01:10 PM   #13
jerryclunsford
Shark
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Nocona, TX
Posts: 2,653
A 180 should hold you for a little while before the "itch" gets too bad.
__________________
Research and Planning, Research and Planning.
jerryclunsford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 01:42 PM   #14
SilliSwilli
Little Fishy
 
SilliSwilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Prattville, AL.
Posts: 143
Images: 13
Haha this 180 is has big I can go unless I buy a bigger house. Which isn't happening for a while.

But yes that "itch" is always right around the corner.
__________________
180Gal Project:
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ml#post2836233
SilliSwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Dead Coral and Cowrey Shells to New Tank thehultbergreef General Reef Discussion 5 02-25-2017 03:29 PM
Drop-Off Tank Build - Episode 2: Sump Install + Which Rock Should We Use? Marine Depot Marine Depot 0 01-30-2017 12:48 PM
Drop-Off Tank Build - Episode 1: Help Us Pick a Sump! Marine Depot Marine Depot 0 01-20-2017 02:08 PM
Does tank size limit fish size? Paul b The THINK Tank 17 01-08-2017 02:25 PM
tank still cycled after sitting? scrapes27 General Reef Discussion 2 12-10-2016 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our lawyer tells us that, by pressing the "New Thread" or "New Reply" button, you acknowledge that the opinions and information expressed in your article are yours alone and not those of thereeftank.com, dba The Reef Tank. Further, you agree to indemnify The Reef Tank, its moderators, administrators and agents from any and all liability which may arise as a result of your article. (C)opyright 2006 TheReefTank.com