Go Back   The Reef Tank > Equipment / Methodology related Forums > DIY Forum
Register

Old 04-16-2004, 01:53 PM   #1
wanareef
Pretty In Pink
 
wanareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: portland or
Posts: 3,288
Images: 29
Reviews: 6

DIY Aquarium Controller - more


One of the assembled boards - the main controller





http://compudoc97.com/SaltwaterNewbie.shtml

Last edited by wanareef; 04-16-2004 at 01:57 PM..
wanareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 01:55 PM   #2
wanareef
Pretty In Pink
 
wanareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: portland or
Posts: 3,288
Images: 29
Reviews: 6
The PH board


wanareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 06:21 PM   #3
-_Nebuli_-
Plankton
 
-_Nebuli_-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ga.
Posts: 19
i just went through that whole site and looked at the message boards, i want one. is he sending them out/figured up the total cost? or is it all still pending?
__________________
If you try to fail and succeed.....what have you done?
20L
55lbs aquacultured fiji,30lbs live sand
bakpak skimmer, sps and zoos and always looking for more
-_Nebuli_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 10:04 PM   #4
Phishnoob
Oh no...not again!!!
 
Phishnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 11,249
Images: 740
I tried to figure that out as well. I looked at the parts list and looks like everything is easy to get from Digi-Key but it would be great to get the boards.

If anyone figures out how to order these in any form I want one as well.

Phishnoob
Phishnoob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:30 AM   #5
wanareef
Pretty In Pink
 
wanareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: portland or
Posts: 3,288
Images: 29
Reviews: 6
If you guy's made it to the bottom of his site - you would have seen this


Preprogrammed Chips and Premade PCB's
If you are interested in purchasing any of the pcbs of these projects, or if you need a chip programmed, I am willing to do this for my cost plus shipping. Go to the signup sheet HERE The cost maybe around $150 or so. Don't forget the X-10 modules for the controllers (lights, pumps ect, ect ,,,)


Just sign up, no $$ up front. I figure an acrylic housing will be just great for this and I'll be making my own. Oh forgot to explain - PCB's = Printed Circuit Boards

This is the first "prototype boeads and he is working out the "bugs", He has made corrections to the schematic and will be ordering more boards for the 2nd run. If you are on the list, you will be notifiked as to when and how much. If you read the Q&A part near the top of his site, you can ask him your ???


Here the promotion for the X-10 modules
http://www.x10.com/products/firecrac...irecracker.htm

Last edited by wanareef; 04-20-2004 at 03:45 AM..
wanareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 06:24 PM   #6
Phishnoob
Oh no...not again!!!
 
Phishnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 11,249
Images: 740
Okies I have my name on the list for everything. If anyone needs help building this up let me know.

Phishnoob
Phishnoob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 03:27 PM   #7
bap
Plankton
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 25
Images: 4
His website says he is back working on this after a six month break. This has got to be the best DIY aquarium project of all time. I really appreciate his sharing his work with all of us. I can't wait to get the parts and assemble this thing.
bap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 08:43 AM   #8
wanareef
Pretty In Pink
 
wanareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: portland or
Posts: 3,288
Images: 29
Reviews: 6
Thanks for posting - I kind of gave up. Heard he just went thru a divorce and I can understand dropping this project
wanareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 07:51 AM   #9
davidc
Little Fishy
 
davidc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 365
i know where to get extremely cheap PCBs, so I might contact him and see if he's interested in getting some made for cheap.


I had 50 PCBs shipped to me for $40 one time. They were simpler though. I also just had some fairly complex, mostly surface mount ones shipped to me for $20 @ 6 pieces. You can't beat those prices!
If he doesn't want to deal with that, maybe I can work up a different PCB with his permission and offer that for cheap.
davidc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2004, 09:07 PM   #10
Krux
Nemo's Chamber Boy
 
Krux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lake Oswego
Posts: 4,539
Images: 34
i would be game.
Krux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 06:36 AM   #11
wanareef
Pretty In Pink
 
wanareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: portland or
Posts: 3,288
Images: 29
Reviews: 6
davidc

You'll have to wait till he fixes his schematic and does his upgrades on the board before ordering more bd's. Did you see his cut and jumps?
wanareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 10:43 AM   #12
davidc
Little Fishy
 
davidc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanareef
davidc

You'll have to wait till he fixes his schematic and does his upgrades on the board before ordering more bd's. Did you see his cut and jumps?
yeah, kinda like hopscotch with all those jumpers I'm in no hurry, I've got plenty of other projects going on
davidc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 01:36 AM   #13
Jimbo
Klingon
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Forest Grove, OR
Posts: 1,808
Images: 8
I put my name on the list for PH and ORP board, but have not received any emails about them. I would just build the ph circuit up but you don't want it to drift and a circuit board adds stability to the circuit. My PH monitor has MV out so I could just hook that to one of the processors a/d converter lines. You can get a x10 interface for the DIOS board. But I'm trying to stay away from x10 stuff but down the road that might be an option. At first I was only going to use 8 ports, not including lighting should be enough for PH, ORP and heat controllers. ORP only needs one port but if you have a calcium reactor and a neilson reactor you will want two ports for PH. So I could add two making 10 ports to run everything.
__________________
40g 3' BB tank * 2 Seio 820's * 250w 14kk light * 190w actinic/10kk * DIY recirc skimmer.
~If I could only remember half of what I've learned~
~Jimbo~
Jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 04:56 AM   #14
wanareef
Pretty In Pink
 
wanareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: portland or
Posts: 3,288
Images: 29
Reviews: 6
Typical engineer - can't understand your language

Jim - would it be possible to use this controller (Saltwaternewbie) and have it look like this - (check your PM since they are a sponsor I'd thouhgt to keep it on the downlow) but maybe more switched "recepticales"? I could use more than the 8 that they have. Fans, lights (4x mh's, 4xvho's the vho's on different times) chiller, calicum rector, usual ph, orp, temp ect ect.. trying to get away from x-10's too.

There was a premade PCB with 10 relays on it 5 were 10 amps and the other 5 were 5 amps. If I can find it, I'll post it but how would you interface it? Never mind, I won't understand it.

And why did you sign up for those two PCB's when the main controller will have them, or am I mistooken about that
wanareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 12:06 PM   #15
Jimbo
Klingon
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Forest Grove, OR
Posts: 1,808
Images: 8
Wannareef I was planning on just using those PCB's (ph, redox) with the DIOS microcontroller. If I redesigned the whole circuit board to include them that would be way cool. But one step at a time, if they all ready made that can save some hassle on the prototype. The only thing that needs designed is the triac on/off switcher (circuit board)

I was thinking of 12 ports total, so that gives you 4 more ports than that other controller. One problem with the triacs I'm using is you can only run 480 watts out of each port. So maybe for lighting we could use 4 relays along with 8 triacs. (relays) are more expensive. Would 4 ports for lighting satisfy you?

On my setup I would hope that the software will allow us to set each port to any specific function, PH, Ph, ORP, Temp (for triac ports), main pump. spare ports could be used for powerheads. 4 relays for lighting each individually programmable.

As you can see there is a lot of work to be done here Triac/relay board design. 30 pages of code, + debug time. The setup will be more complex that other controllers because of the flexibility involved. But several default setup's could be included. If you read the manual on the other board that is for sale you'll see that you can only use certain ports for certain things (this greatly simplifies the software). Hopefully they will change that in the future, but no PH,ORP controller. I'd be willing to bet they are working on it along with additional ports or port expansion.

You would be able to update the DIOS board through your computers serial port, nice feature for sure.

If you want to know more about the DIOS board checkout www.kronosrobotics.com. As many times that I've mentioned them here you would think I would get a free board
__________________
40g 3' BB tank * 2 Seio 820's * 250w 14kk light * 190w actinic/10kk * DIY recirc skimmer.
~If I could only remember half of what I've learned~
~Jimbo~
Jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium reactor


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Little more on the DIY Aquarium Controller wanareef DIY Forum 0 02-12-2004 12:52 PM
Aquarium Controller wanareef DIY Forum 3 11-13-2003 09:27 AM

Similar Issues
Issue Issue Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to get rid of the glare on an aquarium Martinwinte General Reef Discussion 2 2013-01-09 21:32:18
aquarium photos bare bottom Hermit General Reef Discussion 12 2010-12-11 00:16:12
what is necessary in a perfect reef aquarium Sparky General Reef Discussion 4 2001-07-20 02:24:00
how long does diatom bloom last in new saltwater aquarium Allen General Reef Discussion 3 2001-07-21 01:11:00
I keep getting shocked in my aquarium? obrut General Reef Discussion 21 2012-04-20 20:14:06

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225
Sponsor Our Community

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Our lawyer tells us that, by pressing the "New Thread" or "New Reply" button, you acknowledge that the opinions and information expressed in your article are yours alone and not those of thereeftank.com, dba The Reef Tank. Further, you agree to indemnify The Reef Tank, its moderators, administrators and agents from any and all liability which may arise as a result of your article. (C)opyright 2006 TheReefTank.com