The Reef Tank banner

drilled overflow/pump noise

21K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  KNUTE 
#1 ·
Another Question:
I'm having trouble with my drilled overflow plumbing, I can't seem to make it match my pump return and it is extremely loud. I have two holes drilled that are plumbed with 2" bulkheads and pipe and then I have a 90 degree joint with a screen on both holes. The return from pump is 1" and tees into the aquarium. I can't seem to get it right. My pump is a Iwasaki external 40RLXT and it is quiet loud also, I've placed it on a pad but any other suggestions to quieten it will help.

thanks

G
#2 ·
Do you have just the elbow with a strainer on it for return? no slotted overflow structure in tank. What is the rate of return at the ht from the pump? Do you use a piece of vinyl hose to connect return pump and bulkhead or are the 2 hard plumbed together

------------------
I thought I was me, but we were wrong
email: geeflipr@internetcds.com

#3 ·
I have an elbow with pvc that goes in each return bulkhead and I capped the elbow with a strainer. Pump is connected to sump with vinyl tubing and to return with vinyl tubing and then pvc at top where it goes over aquarium top and tees. I have pad on pump and I guess I will go ahead and secure it to the plywood bottom and to the pad. Any other suggestions to help either situation would be appreciated.

#4 ·
I had the same problem and it took a while but thanks to geedoug and others it worked out fine. I have a Mag 12 which is very quiet so I don't have that problem but it was tricky to modulate the drilled overflow with the return. If I fiddled with it long enough I could get it close but then it would still slurp on occasion and gurgle. Finally used a length of airline tubing fed thru the elbow and then set with a air valve for the right flow. Very quiet and easy to adjust. Still makes me a little nervous to leave it alone for long but has been working great.

#5 ·
Originally posted by KNUTE: