The Reef Tank banner

When they said saltwater was expensive they were not lying!

Tags
aquarium
1K views 20 replies 18 participants last post by  pipermacwills 
#1 ·
With freshwater you can kinda skimp on certain things. Its not recomended but you can.
With salt water on the other hand GEEEEZ you CANT skimp because if you do you should just empty the whole thing and forget about it.

Have any of you bought something pricy and then a few days or weeks down the road you realized it was not going to work and you lost money off of it?

I have learned to keep receipts now......:angry:
And from the newbie here to all you other newbies. When the proficient aquarium folks tell you to do your research make sure its more then 2 weeks of research.....make it months of research........

#2 ·
just dont go to the lfs and be like..so what do i need...:funny: i just started the hobby too and have probably read a dozen or so books and there is no telling how many online articles...and then there is trt....which is probably the most useful. but i will say i am a very fast learner and need to know why things are the way they are, and why they work...with me just because doesnt cut it..lol i need the science and technical aspect.

#3 ·
for example...i am not going to go to bed until like 8am...so ill be researching until then...the reason for this is when i go back to work tomorrow i work 7pm-7am 12hr shifts for the next 7 days :doh:. and im in the airforce and refeul aircraft...so all i do is sit around and wait for an aircraft to be refueled...and im at a slow base...so, ill probably be at a computer...looking things up...:lol:

#4 ·
I am sure everyone thats been in the hobby any time at all has a closet full of stuff that someone convinced them they had to have, but turned out to not live up to it's promise or was not worth the powder to blow it up. Thats one of the reasons for forums like this, to share what works and hopefully steer begininers away from the junk

#6 ·