Go Back   The Reef Tank > Reef Discussion Forums > General Reef Discussion
Register

Old 01-12-2008, 01:03 AM   #1
kerrnel
Little Fishy

Reef Tank with Live Plants?

I'm a newb to the site and to saltwater aquariums. I did have a freshwater 10gallon tank but it busted when I moved several years ago and I never really got back into it.

My guy at work just started a reef aquarium, so I decided to do some research. Turns out my boss had a 55g tank and stand, and just gave it to me, though it's missing the hood and didn't come with any of the other parts except what I think is an air pump. I'm fairly comfortable with DIY stuff, so I've been doing quite a bit of reading into what it would take to build a reef tank in a cost-consciencious and cost-efficient manner.

In the books and sites I've been looking at, it sounds like there are fish that eat "live food", to include stuff like seaweed and general plant-like stuff. What I can't seem to find the answer for, is if I put live rock on the left side of the aquarium, and live rock on the right side, will there be an unbalancing of the system as far as chemicals and other bacteria, if I were to plant some greenery somewhere in the middle? Will they die off? Will they grow? Will they live well with the reef system? Would I need additional filtration? Bad idea?

At the moment, the tank is sitting empty in my living room, waiting for me to build a simple sump that I can stick a pump, skimmer, and heaters into. And to selectively buy the rest of the parts needed. I'm in no rush, but would like to have something viable to support at least an anemone and a breeding pair of clownfish for my niece to look at when she visits in the spring.

Is there a way to determine if a tank is made of glass or acrylic?

I've got a bunch of questions, but these are probably best to start with.

Thanks!

Mike.
kerrnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 01:17 AM   #2
Jnicho
This Space For Rent!

Reviews: 1
Welcome to TRT!