Go Back   The Reef Tank > Reef Discussion Forums > General Reef Discussion
Register

Old 08-07-2006, 09:25 AM   #1
partobe
Shark
 
partobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: new york city
Posts: 7,425
Images: 4
Reviews: 43

Do Nitrates evaporate?


Hi everyone. As most of you know I'm sure, I've been having problems with my nitrates I have a 150 with about 12 fish lr and ls and a sump/refg(20 gallon). Ive removed my bio balls all my sponges cut back on my feeds from once-twice a day to 3x a week. I just did my first water change with my new ro unit. I'm happy to say my nitrates look like they might be starting to drop . The last time I tested them 3 days ago they were at 80ppm. After doing a 30 gallon water change sat they are now reading 40ppm. I've added about a gallon of top off (ro) water yesterday and today. I'm wondering if the water that is evaporating is also evaporating nitrates with it? Is it too soon to do another 30 gallon water change or would it be better to wait a week first?
Thanks for all the help
Patrick
__________________
Lions, Triggers and blennies! Oh My!
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 09:28 AM   #2
Hardhead Cat
Stinky Slimey FEESH
 
Hardhead Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 2,602
Images: 2
In my opinion, if you are using saltwater made with RO/DI to do your water changes you can change water out daily if you'd like. No harm should be done to any one. RO water is perfect. I'm sure a trace amount of the nitrates is evaporating out with all the other minerals/elements in your water, but I wouldn't think it would be enough to help. Water changes, less feeding and cleaning up your tank will do the trick eventually! Good luck.

HHC
__________________
You can't kill a fish born to hang.....
65-gal Red Sea reef
12-gal Nanocube
Hardhead Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 09:29 AM   #3
Fly Guy
.
 
Fly Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NW
Posts: 11,347
Images: 41
How big is your tank???
__________________
I like to glue animals to rocks and put disturbing amounts of electricity and saltwater next to each other
Fly Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 09:29 AM   #4
partobe
Shark
 
partobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: new york city
Posts: 7,425
Images: 4
Reviews: 43
its a 150 gallon
__________________
Lions, Triggers and blennies! Oh My!
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 09:30 AM   #5
partobe
Shark
 
partobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: new york city
Posts: 7,425
Images: 4
Reviews: 43
thanks hardhead cat and fly guy
__________________
Lions, Triggers and blennies! Oh My!
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 10:49 AM   #6
VWD
BIG SMELLY MOD
 
VWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 21,780
Images: 457
Reviews: 21
I will add That You are going down in Nitrates mainly because of removing the Bio Balls, When You did that You helped Your tank alot, as far as them going out when the water evaporating, No , You also cut down on feeding. them two things along with water changes and Ro/DI water are doing it.
__________________
Vince aka VINNIE OFR
VWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 11:52 AM   #7
zxcv123
Shark
 
zxcv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City area
Posts: 2,758
Images: 2
yup keep doing water changes with the ro di water and you wilol see big improvment
__________________
J
zxcv123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 01:27 PM   #8
leveldrummer
Shark
 
leveldrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: newnan, ga
Posts: 6,317
Images: 152
your doing great patrick, keep it up! now for the next problem, gettin that 150 up to 300 gallons and having a really big tank! lol
__________________
ANDY

Give a man a fire, and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
leveldrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 02:47 PM   #9
partobe
Shark
 
partobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: new york city
Posts: 7,425
Images: 4
Reviews: 43
LOL Thats funny Andy. I have a small nyc apt and when thee mh come on the whole living room glows. Also thanks Andy, John and Vince! I think I will do another water change tomorrow about 20 gallon more.
__________________
Lions, Triggers and blennies! Oh My!
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 03:57 PM   #10
VWD
BIG SMELLY MOD
 
VWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 21,780
Images: 457
Reviews: 21
Wow! Your are getting a 300 gallon tank , That is cool, Don't forget to post the pictures
__________________
Vince aka VINNIE OFR
VWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 04:08 PM   #11
partobe
Shark
 
partobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: new york city
Posts: 7,425
Images: 4
Reviews: 43
LOL No Vince I'm not getting a 300 gallon tank. I cant keep the nitrates down in the one I have now
__________________
Lions, Triggers and blennies! Oh My!
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 04:58 PM   #12
leveldrummer
Shark
 
leveldrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: newnan, ga
Posts: 6,317
Images: 152
think of it this way, put everything you have in a 300 gal, fill it up with another 150, and you should have half the nitrates you have right now, instant fix!!
__________________
ANDY

Give a man a fire, and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
leveldrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 05:05 PM   #13
partobe
Shark
 
partobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: new york city
Posts: 7,425
Images: 4
Reviews: 43
LOL Andy, I never thought of it that way! I'll send you my address so you can send me the check for that new tank. You must be one if not the nicest member of trt to buy me a brand new reef ready 300 gallon tank stand and hood along with lights filter and lr. Andy you could be my new best friend.
Patrick
__________________
Lions, Triggers and blennies! Oh My!
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 05:12 PM   #14
three90s&125sump
uber-stupid
 
three90s&125sump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ottawa, IL
Posts: 4,781
Thats one of the problems with toping off with tap water as the (pure) water evaporats and you replace it with tap water you are adding nitrates (and phosphates) to your tank. If you do a water change and you are removing water that has 5PPM nitrates and put in water that had 5PPM nitrates you are doing nothing to remove nitrates other than the biological filtration. Now do the same thing with top off water and for every gallon of water you add you add that many (PPM) NO3 to your tank. One reason why I think a RO filter is mandatory.
__________________
Jason

My girlfriend says bigger is better, so I am going to build the biggest skimmer I can.
three90s&125sump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 07:02 PM   #15
partobe
Shark
 
partobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: new york city
Posts: 7,425
Images: 4
Reviews: 43
Thanks three90s&125sump I'm finding that out. I just got my ro unit last sat and did a water change the same day and made enough water to use for a whole weeks worth of top off water.
__________________
Lions, Triggers and blennies! Oh My!
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio balls , biological filtration , nitrogen cycle , ppm nitrates


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How fast does water evaporate? UkrainianReefJunky General Reef Discussion 22 03-14-2013 03:35 AM
How much water does your tank evaporate TimBeR General Reef Discussion 44 11-29-2008 10:41 AM
Nitrates!!!!! 180 large Water Chemistry Archive 16 09-05-2003 10:09 PM
How much water does your tank evaporate each day? TimBeR General Reef Discussion 0 09-23-2002 10:48 AM
Do Nitrates Evaporate? GaryG General Reef Discussion 3 10-11-2001 09:07 PM

Similar Issues
Issue Issue Starter Forum Replies Last Post
do nitrates evaporate GaryG General Reef Discussion 3 2001-10-11 22:07:50
how to reduce nitrates in sumpless tank obrut General Reef Discussion 21 2012-04-20 20:14:06
what eats nitrates BlueWater General Reef Discussion 3 2001-12-09 18:30:33
do dying halimeda cause nitrates graber Advanced Archive 6 2002-01-14 19:53:40
will caulerpa raise nitrates? reefguy Algae ,good and bad 7 2001-12-14 19:33:51

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225
Sponsor Our Community

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Our lawyer tells us that, by pressing the "New Thread" or "New Reply" button, you acknowledge that the opinions and information expressed in your article are yours alone and not those of thereeftank.com, dba The Reef Tank. Further, you agree to indemnify The Reef Tank, its moderators, administrators and agents from any and all liability which may arise as a result of your article. (C)opyright 2006 TheReefTank.com