The Reef Tank banner

Sandsifting starfish

Tags
starfish
3K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  connorp 
#1 ·
I'm keen to get a sandsifting starfish for my 50 gallon reef tank but I have heard they are very difficult to keep. I have a weekly subscription of rotifer and copepods for a scooter dragonette and future mandarin I am looking to keep as well as a separate tank harvesting some more. I was wondering what else I would need to feed a sssf in order for it to thrive in my tank?

#2 ·
I have kept one in my 90 for 14 months now. He seems to be doing well but I also get worried about possible lack of food. I have recently started injecting a small amount of mysis into the sandbed about every 2-3 weeks after reading they do eat meaty foods to some degree. It is a fine balance as a don't want a lot of nutrients to promote algae issues. Keep a good sandbed for it (1 1/2 to 2 inches imo) to give it something to play/eat in. Others will hopefully chime in with other ideas/suggestions.

#3 ·
They will eat all microorganisms in the sand bed, bury in it, die, and decay. They last no more than two years. Injecting mysis in your sand bed is just asking for a huge nutrient problem unless you have witnessed it eating the mysis, and even then it probably won't eat enough to survive. They are not beneficial at all.

#7 ·
Thanks for the replies. In my case, the natural filtration is through the live rock and not the sand so i am not too concerned about the star decimating my population from that point of view. My concern would be whether or not I could sustain it on food in the tank. I add the following at present:
Copepods twice a week.
Rotifers once every ten days.
5 species of phytoplanton once per month.

I am also harvesting my own pods in two separate tanks in order to eventually cancel my expensive subscription and be self sufficient!