Planted tank substrate? - The Reef Tank

Go Back   The Reef Tank > General Forums > Freshwater Discussion
Register

Old 02-10-2017, 03:07 PM   #1
Clemtine pace
squid

Planted tank substrate?

Im new to planted tanks and im not sure about what kind of substate i need. I have plants in my 15 gal. "Showroom" tank and its thriving and it has considerably large regular old gravel in the bottom but that tank has been running for many years and ive only just now ever cleaned the gravel.
Do i have to buy special substrate
I was thinking about getting eco complete and rinsing it dispite the instructions.
Can i just use regular aquarium substrate and take some 'fertilizer' aka three years of fish poo and put all that in together? (This, as mean as it sounds would be the preferred method)

If i buy eco complete or any other special gravel like that ill have to order it, and i really dont want to do that. My planted tank will be 5 to 10 gallons and have a betta and maybe some shrimp and hopefully a pleco depending on how agressive the betta is.
Any advice appreciated!
Clemtine pace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:04 AM   #2
pmarkj
Shark

My beautiful bride says Eco-complete is the best for your money and do NOT rinse it...follow the directions.

And , it's not fertilizer it's bacteria that you want...like Live Rock to a Reef.

If you get a pleco make sure it's a dwarf and not regular...they can grow. My wife also suggest getting a group of Amano shrimp to control algae.

HTH...good luck

My Euro-style 100g -
http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f7...ad-228971.html
pmarkj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 02:00 PM   #3
Clemtine pace
squid

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmarkj View Post
My beautiful bride says Eco-complete is the best for your money and do NOT rinse it...follow the directions.

And , it's not fertilizer it's bacteria that you want...like Live Rock to a Reef.