Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.0 (8)
 Add a review

JBJ Ocean Pulse - DUO Wavemaker 2 pump Capacity

 
Creating Motion in Captive OceansThe Ocean Pulse Duo and Quadra are an innovative wavemakers that were specifically designed to replicate the natural alternating rhythms of tides and currents for home aquariums...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched JBJ Ocean Pulse - DUO Wavemaker 2 pump Capacity in Reviews
 

 

I'm satisfied featured

Installation and Operation Installation is a breeze. Plug it in and set the desired increments with the turn of a knob. Maintenance consists of watching your powerheads switch from one to the other. I purchased the wavemaker kit, which includes the controller and two 1600gph powerheads. For $150 it is a good deal.


Performance vs. Expectations I must admit, I expected wave action and did not get it. I don't think they should label them as "wavemakers". That being said, they do provide nice random flow in my 55 gallon tank.


Value for money As I mentioned, the price is great if you are looking for some random flow. Do not expect to get "waves" like you would with Vortechs or Tunze.


Customer Support I have not had a reason to contact costumer support, which is a good thing!


Liked about it I like the random flow the controller provides. The powerheads themselves provide a nice spread flow. It was evident that these powerheads were getting to the crevices in my rock work that my other ones were not.


Didn't like I don't like the fact that they are labeled wavemakers, when no waves are being made. I'm not so sure that the powerheads are creating 1600gph either. All in all for $150, I am happy with the product. If you are looking for a true wavemaker, spend the extra money and go top shelf. If you would just like some nice, spread out, random flow, this is product for you.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By dirtycontour
Nov 30, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

So, So featured

Installation and Operation Installation was a snap, Plug in your Unit, Plug in the pumps, Dial to the time wanted, DONE


Performance vs. Expectations I was not expecting much out of this unit, and performance wise, it performed as expended. You can really expect much more from a wave maker that turns on and off every 10 seconds, and that's what I got.

The Pumps I used with this are two Hydor Koralia Nano 425, and whenever the pumps turn on and off they make a very annoying sound, this is the pumps fault, but I have tried MANY pumps and all seem to have the same issue, except Tunze. So the sound became annoying, but the unit is just doing its job.


Value for money Personally, With 2 Hydor Nano 425's & this unit, It racked up to around $100, not bad, but for tanks around 55 Gallons it might be around $160+ Even more with the Tunze Pumps, I would look into the EcoTech Marine MP10's at that point.

I think for a simple ON/OFF 10 second timer, which it is, Paying $40 - $80 Is just too much.


Customer Support Never Had to deal with them


Liked about it - Relatively Low Cost
- Somewhat of a nice flow, I can see My GSP change direction when the pumps turn on and off.
- Can Be set from 10 Seconds to 6 Minutes.


Didn't like - Unless you using good quality pumps, it gets annoying to use because of the sound, which defeats its purpose.
- 10 Seconds is the shortest "pulse" I wish it has 5, 3, 2, & maybe even 1 Second pulses, I made a switch and manually turned on my pumps on and off every two seconds, and they surprisingly generated a nice wave.
- No NightTimer, I would like a night timer so perhaps one of the pumps turned off and only one pump was running at night. A digital display with the countdown would have been nice too, I guess I'm expecting to much here too.


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Arteom Shostak
Feb 11, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice product for the cost. featured

Installation and Operation Install is a snap, plug into outlet plug your two pumps into it. Starts in constant mode, turn the dial to select between 30 sec min and 6 min max switch intervals.


Performance vs. Expectations First thing to point out to prospective buyers; this is not a wavemaker... The lowest 30 sec switch time is to slow for effective rolling waves. With that said it works very well as a simple current switch. I have two hydor evolutions connected to it(made for use with these switches). I can say with the constant change in water flow I have no dead spots in my tank.


Value for money Considering the price of actual wavemakers this is a good alternative for someone on a budget. Will effectively move water to different parts of tank. I would recommend for most tanks.


Customer Support Have had no reason to contact company


Liked about it nicely built unit
easy to use
has controlled my pumps flawlessly for last 3 years
led feedback to show which pump is running
cost
pick your pump size to accommodate tank


Didn't like Only issue is the restart process. on restart after power loss it will turn both pumps to constant mode until you reset your timer(for me this puts way to much flow in at once)


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jbsetts
Jul 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A good product, but I would NOT call this a wavemaker! featured

Installation and Operation The instructions are clear, and come with illustrations just in case. I can't imagine someone having difficulties since installation is really three plug-ins, one for each pump, and one for the wall. Settings on the dial are easy to, mostly because they are basic settings. Turn the dial to where you want it, and that's it.


Performance vs. Expectations I did a bunch of research before I purchased this, watched some YouTube videos, emailed a couple of the people, and read posts, so I already knew this product wasn't much good at actually making waves (read the Vortech reviews for that) but I can easily see how someone who had higher expectations would be quite disappointed.

That doesn't mean it's impossible to make waves with it, you can, with the right size pumps. However, I am using this is a 29 gallon BioCube. If I put pumps large enough to create a wave the flow would overwhelm the tank. Even with larger pumps, there really isn't much control. There is jut a dial, that has one setting. I have it set to the lowest which is 10 seconds. That means one pump is on for 10 seconds, then the second pump is on for 10 seconds.

So why did I buy it? The BioCube is notorious for dead spots and poor flow. By using the JBJ Pulse I can create a turbulent flow in the tank with ease. The product is also very affordable, I paid only $35 for it using the TRT discount code at Big Al's Online (yes, TRT users get a discount, sweet).

Since installing the JBJ Pulse I have noticed a reduction in algae and cyanobacteria which are common issues associated with low flow in tanks and an increase in polyp extension on my corals. Corals that previously tended to collect detritus are now clear.

One of the nicest things about this product is that to upgrade it only requires you purchase new pumps. If I want more flow, or to use it on a larger tank, I just buy two larger pumps that can start and stop, and I'm upgraded. That, and you can use two different sized pumps with it to create an uneven flow if you desire. I like that.

There's a version that can take 4 pumps if you need even greater flow, it's called the Quatro.


Value for money I really feel I got my money's worth out of this product and because I had done research it performs exactly how I expected. I actually recommend it for those on a budget. We all want a Vortech, but we don't all have the money. $35 - $45 is a lot easier to come up with!


Customer Support I used the JBJ web site to do some of my research on the product. I was able to download the manual for it as a PDF prior to buying it.


Liked about it 1. Affordable.
2. Will accommodate multiple sizes of pumps.
3. Can be used with any tank size.
4. Set up took no more than 15 seconds. The two pumps were already in place, I simply plugged them into the Pulse unit and plugged it into the wall, done.


Didn't like 1. Not really a true wavemaker as far as I'm concerned.
2. Dial allows 10 seconds as the shortest pulse, I really would rather have a 2 second burst.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Definitely worth the money!

Installation and Operation Simple, and intuitive...I did not read the instructions. You plug it in and you plug your pumps into the timer and you're off...


Performance vs. Expectations You can set the timer for seconds to minutes (up to 6 min max), and it will alternate between the two jets you plug into it. Very simple and effective.


Value for money Considering what other wavemakers cost, this one is a bargain, and not a cheap bargain, a good bargain.


Customer Support I haven't had any need for support so cannot comment on this.


Liked about it I like the fact it does exactly what I wanted it to do.
Hydor came out with nano pumps that can be hooked up to a wavemaker (apparently, this didn't work well in the past). I'm using two Hydor nano pumps and they are functioning perfectly with this wavemaker. No issues.


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Michael JT
Mar 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

OK

Installation and Operation it just plugs in the wall then you plug in the power heads its easy


Performance vs. Expectations It performs good I have 2 hydor 3s set up in my 55g


Value for money I would buy it again


Liked about it It looks pretty good and works


Didn't like Im pretty happy with it so no bad


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By collin
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great little wavemaker

General I've got mine running two Hydor Koralia Nano powerheads and it does wonderful. Been going for 3 months now. I've heard problems with these starting back up after power failures but I have my tank on battery backup so I couldn't say yes or no to that. Good wavemaker though. My tank loves it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beware of this unit. But JBJ had decent service...

General I had this unit for just about 2 weeks and it began to spark and smoke. Thankfully I was near and unplugged it. It also fried the pump attached and JBJ did noting to replace the pumps. They offered a replacement controller. I declined a replacement and Premium refunded my money.


Liked about it I like that it has grounded outlet even though many pumps do not.
Dial is easy to use and setup


Didn't like Digital timer would be nice.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ckusnierek
Mar 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec269 spec277 spec278