Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (9)
 Add a review

EcoTech Vortech MP40W Featured

 
VorTech Propeller Pumps VorTech MP40W, 3" dia x 5" by . VorTech Propeller Pumps: Revolutionary magnetically-driven powerhead moves water through your aquarium like no other powerhead


Price: $115 to $359 at 7 stores
Searched EcoTech Vortech MP40W in Reviews
 

 

Fantastic!!!

Installation and Operation Easy to install, simple instructions for install, operation instruction are vague in provided booklet, website has a more detail instruction manual and support. Once you learn modes and operations this thing is fantastic!!!!


Performance vs. Expectations Seen one in operation at local fish store and everyone raves about it, performs excaltly as expected and everyone says.


Value for money High Priced, but this one mp40 replaces two other high end powerheads and wave maker I have purchased, Wish I spent the money earlier.


Customer Support Na have not had to call, but online support and FAQ's are awesome


Liked about it Footprint is smaller inside tank
Controller and all the modes to choose from
PowerHouse
No eletric inside tank


Didn't like Can thing of one thing I dont like


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By salty198
Apr 10, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Big things come in small packages ;D

Installation and Operation The mp40 is probably one of the easiest wavemakers to add to your tank. I didn't even have to read the instruction manual.


Performance vs. Expectations When I first saw this pump, I thought, what can a small pump really do for me? When I bought it, I plugged it in and put it on max. My tank from that day started living.


Value for money The product is very very expensive. No one would ever pay $445 for any pump. However, this pump, in my opinion, is necessary for a reef tank. If ecotech would lower their price a bit, it would have been better.


Customer Support Never.


Liked about it The pump is very strong and the wave controller has many functions. I also loved how my tank was moving from once side to the other.


Didn't like Not many things to say about this pump. However, it's definitely very expensive for just a small pump.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By Silentdea
Mar 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Best WaveMaker

Installation and Operation It was very easy to install. it comes with a small instruction colored booklet with easy demonstration on how to create different flows best suited for each aquarium inhabitants. comes with a small LED-lit with different colors to differentiate between various flows. as for maintenance, it require a simple paper towel cleaning every other month to keep it running as new.


Performance vs. Expectations its the BEST powerhead in the market for Reef aquariums. I've 1 40mp on one side and 2 20mp on the other side, it puts more flow than both of the 20's


Value for money its a little pricey, but no other powerhead would come close to its performance.


Customer Support Never had to deal with the company.


Liked about it 1-Doesn't ADD Heat to the aquarium.
2-STRONG!
3-Easy to change flow( lagoon reef, Reef-Crest, short pulse, Long Pulse, set speed)
4-Has 10 minute feeding mode with a click of button.
5- Night-Mode for 12 hrs period programmable( saves 50% power)


Didn't like Nothing to dislike about the mp40, except the price. btw if you had to choose between 20mp and 40mp, go with the mp40. Mp40 outperform 2 20mp


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Sami
Aug 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

If your thinking about getting on just do it

Installation and Operation This pump is very easy to install and keep clean. if you need help there are videos all over the web to help.


Performance vs. Expectations The MP40w sends out a wall of water water that will keep your coral happy all day. performance is great


Value for money Good value. this pumps can run stand alone or in groups, and you dont even need a extra boxed to let you control them.


Customer Support Wworks so good never had to use them.


Liked about it all the different modes you can put it in to
it can be sync'd wireless
easy to install, almost maintenance free


Didn't like not a big deal but the only thing i would change would be to make the dry side water proof so it could be installed in a over flow.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Boring
Feb 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Love My MP40W!!

Installation and Operation Easy Install.
Clear Instructions.
Easy Maintenance.
If you use the spacer provided there is to vibraton or humm.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs great.
Im using it on an acrylic tank no problems after 2 years.





Value for money Expensive but woth the price.


Customer Support The magnet in wet-side housing supplied by Eco Tech rusted easily.
After contacting them I was supplied a replacement that was plastic coated and had no problems since.
Eco Tech was easy to contact and very helpful.


Liked about it Perfoms as advertised.
Easy to set-up.
Easy to maintain.
Great customer service.


Didn't like Price.
First generation wet-side magnet.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By depitch
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

EcoTech Vortech MP40W

Installation and Operation Installation of the MP40W is strait forward and takes minutes. The programming is simple and the only hard part of the installation is figuring out where to mount the controller and tuck the wires.


Performance vs. Expectations The pump exceeds the advertised performance.


Value for money The pump is a little pricey, but with the battery backup, is well worth the investment.


Customer Support I have not yet needed to contact customer support.


Liked about it I purchased one of these about two years ago. I liked it so much that I recently rounded out my tank and purchased a second one. The flow is such that I have gone from an army of other powerheads and now only run two vortecs.


Didn't like I've read that some people have an elevated noise level with their pumps. Personally I have not noted this. Once you get the wet and dry side aligned properly, the pump is very quiet, especially in an in-wall application.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Hop
Dec 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Well Worth the money

Installation and Operation Very easy to install. Instructions are very helpful . The set up was a bit tricky . There are different settings for the amount of magnetic force to hold the MP40 to the glass . "make sure You read this"
Maintenance on the MP40 is simple and very easy


Performance vs. Expectations Performance is an A+
Expectations for the MP40 were high but I have to tell you .It was way better than I expected


Value for money The MP40's are very expensive but well worth the money . They are something that should be saved up for. They are "WELL WORTH THE MONEY"


Customer Support Customer support was outstanding . I had a problem with one making noise . They told me to send it in .4 days later I had it back with a new wet side . It was apparently still under warranty . I would have paid to fix it and they knew that !!


Liked about it The adjustments and flow rates on the MP are awesome . This thing is unbelievable . I turn it all the way up to stir the tank up during water changes .They also can see each other in the tank and can be synced together in larger tanks


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By biowheel
Nov 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

I dint thought it was so loud

Installation and Operation Easy to install


Performance vs. Expectations Berry satisfied with the performance


Value for money A little bit pricy


Customer Support N/a


Liked about it Settings and versatility


Didn't like To loud no matter how much i try to center the pumps the noise is berry frustrating, i feel sorry for my tank mates!


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Galindoreef
Jan 15, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Wonderful

General I added just one of these to a 700 gallon FOWLR and it easily out performed the two RIO 3100's I had in the exhibit before. It stirred up particles in the substrate that the other two could not. I'm hoping to purchase many more so that I can add them to all of my display tanks.


Liked about it Wonderful controller, Amazing flow.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hawaii4485
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $115 to $359
Compare Prices
at 7 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec267 spec276 spec281