Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (13)
 Add a review

EcoTech Vortech MP10 Featured

 
Operational Mode Feed Mode - Slows down your pump for 10 minutes to allow you to feed your aquarium. Constant Speed Mode - The pump runs at a constant speed you set based on your aquarium's specific needs. Reef Crest Mode ...


Price: $169 to $218 at 11 stores
Searched EcoTech Vortech MP10 in Reviews
 

 

Amazing product, worth the investment. featured

Installation and Operation Directions are straight forward and simplistic and clear. Very easy to operate, the manual could use a little more info, but it does the job. the downloadable manual gives excellent description of the modes.


Performance vs. Expectations The performance is outstanding, I use it on a 40 gallon aquarium and it gives flow through, broad ranged flow, and with the modes they offer, I don't see anything that can compete with it. I expected great things and got more than that.


Value for money Honestly, at first the price seems a bit high, but when you own them you understand why they are what they are and why they cost as much as they do. They offer features not available anywhere else, the profile in-tank is amazing.


Customer Support I had an issue with the wetside of the pump being off balanced and the ability to disassemble it was gone, it had seized up. I set it to them, and as it was under warranty, they sent me a new one the next day over nighted. Easily the best customer service and RMA I've ever had to deal with. Rate A+++


Liked about it More than what I expected in terms of performance
Amazing customer service
Awesome unique features.


Didn't like Is expensive, but you get what you pay for.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Koala226
Jul 24, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Great product that's worth the price! featured

Installation and Operation I have the MP10w ES version with the EcoSmart Driver.

Installation was pretty straight forward. Plug everything together, measure your glass to determine if you need to use the included spacer, align the wet/dry side, plug in, select the mode that you desire for your tank! The Quick start guide that is included in the box is enough to get you going, but I highly recommend you download the full user manual off of Ecotech's website (44 pages). It includes much more in depth information than that of the quick start guide.


Performance vs. Expectations This pump exceeds my expectation. It creates so much flow from such a little package! It's flow pattern is great, broad but powerful! It makes a wave in my 3 ft 45 g. tank!


Value for money These little pumps are definitely on the pricey side, but they are worth every penny. My one MP10w ES replaced two Koralia Nano 425's and a Koralia 4.


Customer Support I haven't dealt with Ecotech's customer service first hand, but from what I have heard from others, it's great!


Liked about it Customizable settings
Wireless capability to link with other pumps/lighting
Flow pattern
Small footprint in the tank

I pretty much like everything about this pump!


Didn't like I think Ecotech should include a bit more as far as instructions go. The quick start guide leaves quite a bit to be desired.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 08TRDOFFROAD
Dec 29, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Worth its weight in gold! featured

Installation and Operation Easy to install as long as you know the thickness on your glass, instructions are great and help out a lot, I just wish that they would backup which line on the graph is the primary line so you know exactly what your pump will do as the primary if you were to have multiple pumps setup. Easy to operate, pretty straight forward, once you get your short wave length dialed in and save it, its there until you reset the system which is great that you only have to figure out the timing once! I used to own an MP40, and they are essentially identical, this is just much smaller and compact.


Performance vs. Expectations Outperforms any powerhead on the market for the size of it, hands down. I wouldnt change a thing about it in any way. My fish love it, my corals love it, deitritus hates it, and I love to see the change in flow automatically and random. If your on the fence....just go ahead and jump on the other side, you will be glad you did! I have tried to build my tank being energy efficient...I run LED's....a skimmer that uses minimum power....and this pump and a small heater. If your trying to keep your electricity bill down......this beats a closed loop, where a closed loop may use 100+ watts this only uses 1/4th and less.


Value for money Its expensive.......and spending 230 for a powerhead seems ridiculous! Its a hard thing to buy for the aquarium, especially with a price tag so large.....but its worth it in every way. It will bring your tank to life like nothing else. The amount of flow will help your skimmer operate more efficiently, your rocks denitrify faster, give you more surface agitation to increase oxygen in your tank water, and will keep your fish fit with all the extra swimming.


Customer Support Phenomenal! Couldnt ask for better, Period. I had a problem with the wetside and sent some pictures, they just sent me a new one. No further questions, just took care of it. You really cant deal with a better company.


Liked about it Awesome
Variable flow
Broad flow
Compact
No electric in the tank
No heat added
Efficient
Easy to clean


Didn't like Price
I didn't buy one sooner


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jun 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

A worthwhile purchase featured

Installation and Operation I have two MP10w with the wireless ecosmart driver and all I can say is this is one of the best powerheads out there. Installion is a breeze; just make sure you get the alignment exactly right and leave it alone, after a while it will break in a quiet down to well below ambient noise levels. As for operation, it is a bit more complicated. Be sure to download the entire setup and installion manual from their website and read it carefully. I explored most of the modes, nutrient export, short pulse, tidal swell, and both random modes. I found that on my thin 55G, reefcrest mode (80% power) with one MP10 working opposite the other (orange slave) worked best and my corals couldnt be happier. I also run night mode for 10 hours a night on a defaut setting so fish can relax more.


Performance vs. Expectations I was a bit apprehensive when I dropped over 500$ for two of these guys but after a few days and seeing an overwhealingly positive responce from my corals I think it is money well spent. This is working better than I ever expected


Value for money Expensive but very much worht the price


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it One of my favorite things about this pump is the having the motor outside the tank. This keeps the heat from getting into the water column as well as eliminating any possibilty of stray voltage from having a cord come into contact with saltwater. Combined with a sump filtration system, I have no electric cords entering my display tank!


Didn't like Nothing. Not even price or noise (just be sure to align it right the first time)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rustl3r
Jun 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

You get what you pay for..... featured

Installation and Operation The EcoTech Marine MP10 Vortech Propeller Pump w/ Wireless EcoSMART Driver is a class product from packaging to performance. Installation is a snap. Lined up the pump's wet and dry side in a matter of minutes. There are several modes of operation. Trial and error are necessary as every reef tank is different. For my JBJ 28 nano the "Lagoon" mode seems best. Then dial up as much power as you want without blowing everything around inside your tank!


Performance vs. Expectations Time will tell but if my initial impressions are correct this was $$$ well spent. Solid construction and tons of features make the MP10 a reef-professional piece of equipment. I think I was impressed most with the auto night mode. Once set the pump automatically dials back to 50% of the daytime running power letting your reef fishies sleep in peace. This product delivers and advertised....bottom line.


Value for money The MP10 is in a class all by itself no question. Look no further.


Customer Support Haven't had the need to deal with CS yet. Got a "gut" on this that I won't have to.


Liked about it 1.Performance
2.Ease of Operation
3.Features


Didn't like Cost? But again if you don't want a Cadillac buy a Hyundai.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By coral1
Oct 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

One pump replaced three and changed my tank forever! featured

Installation and Operation Installation is very easy and the instruction booklet is quite clear and provides illustrations.

I would say the most important part of installation is to get the alignment correct. If you don't, then the pump runs noisy. If you do, it will probably be the most quiet pump you've ever owned.

Also important is the use of the cord holder (they include 4 of them you only need one at a time) which is a just in case safety item that if the pump should come off the glass it won't fall to the floor and break.

If you want to make waves with the pump (duh, of course we do) then you need to make sure your tank, and your stand, can handle it. To get the idea of what a wave does just take a half full jug of water and rock it back and forth letting the water fall from one end to the other, you will notice it moves with considerable force. That's because water weighs about 8 pounds per gallon. Multiply this to whatever tank size you have, say 55 gallons, and that's a great deal of weight shifting back and forth. I checked with manufactures of my tank and stand and discovered both were easily built for this. In talking to various aquarists about this, I feel comfortable saying most tanks are good to go, I just add this as a caution since it wasn't something I thought about BEFORE I purchased the pump.

It may take a little while for you to set the pump just right for making waves. It can depend on your tank shape as to just where the right setting is. I won't get into the physics behind waves, just know that's the reason each tank is different.

The pump has various modes of operation, each of which are well outlined in the booklet and easy to switch between.


Performance vs. Expectations This is one of the rare occasions where something performs better than I expected it would. I did lots of research on this product before I bought it. After all, it's not cheap and I wanted to make sure I wasn't wasting my money. I have a 50 gallon tank, and the upper end for the MP10 is 55 gallons. But I had 3 Koralia pumps in the tank and they still weren't giving me the water movement that I wished for. I wanted whole water movement, and that requires a wave.

A new fish store opened up where I live an they had several display tanks with these on them. It was awesome to watch the movement and all powered by something so small. I told them what I wanted to do was replace all of my pumps with this one and they assured me that was possible. I did my research, then made the buy.

I put this in my tank, and left the other pumps in, still not convinced in my own mind they weren't needed. After some adjustment, as mentioned above, I got a good wave going. The corals in my tank began to sway gently back and forth, back and forth but not perfectly so. I realized the other pumps were messing it up so I took them out and the rocking smoothed out. I had a sort of dead zone on the surface of my tank and that went away. It wasn't long before I started to notice a reduction in algae on my tank as well. I was told that the increased water movement would help with this and it did. It doesn't go away of course, but I do scrape less.

I feel like one of these pumps is enough for my tank, which is 50 gallons. I'm looking forward to getting another one for my BioCube.

Just a quick note, the pump has a feeding mode, and a night setting. The feeding mode is activated with the push of a single button, the night mode, once set, is automatic.


Value for money I got a very good price on this pump but even if I had paid the full retail price I would feel it was worth it. Not only does it change the flow in your tank, increasing health of your corals, but it increases the aesthetic as well with the gentle back and forth sway that is so relaxing to watch.

The pump is also super quiet if you have it aligned correctly and that's a massive bonus.

Aside from this noise reduction there is heat reduction because you use fewer pumps, and electricity savings as well.


Customer Support I recently had the power supply go out on my pump. As it was still under warranty it was replaced for free. I have to say my experience was a very positive one. I was quickly contacted by Jeff M. from customer service, he easily figured out what was wrong based on what I told him and had a new power supply shipped out to me. It arrived very quickly, in fact before the estimated arrival date. I'm a huge fan of good customer service, and it's something that we don't see that much of anymore, it's nice to find a company that believes in it and someone like Jeff to make things easy on us aquarists.


Liked about it 1. One pump does the job of three.
2. Multiple settings for whatever environment you wish to create in your tank.
3. Creates a satisfying wave motion that is useful and appealing.
4. Has a feeding and night mode.
5. Actual pump is outside of the tank so there is little to no heat put into the tank by this pump.


Didn't like 1. It costs more than other pumps (so what, it's worth it).


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Aug 23, 2010
 
Last updated: October 12, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

REVIEW!!! EcoTech Vortech MP10wES... one of the best pumps on the market featured

Installation and Operation I've owned all kinds of different powerheads/pumps throughout my dozen years in the hobby, and considering all the features packed into this unit, it's really pretty simple to use and very easy to install. Installation is nothing more than choosing the location for the pump, then placing the wet half and dry half on either side of the tank. I'm using it on a 3/8' thick acrylic tank, and I've had no problem keeping it in place. While there was a small amount of vibration noise for the first couple days, this is expected and now the pump is dead silent. There's plenty of cable length to install the driver where it's needed, so no complaints there.

Operationally, the pump has some great features that well outperform competition and are mostly intuitive to use. The model I have is wireless, however I am not using that feature as I only have one of the pumps to date (though I am seriously considering adding another). The flow dial is very simple to operate and the LEDs that display strength makes it very easy to dial in. These functions are where this unit really shines; I've used other manufacturers' pumps that have flow control as a set screw that is hard to access and requires a tool. Such an easy (and attractive) means of controlling this pump are a serious selling point, and I've been very impressed. The only drawback with this unit is that it uses color coded LEDs to display what operational mode you are in, but there's no color key on the unit. You definitely have to have the manual handy in order to know what mode the pump is in, but for most folks I think that's no big deal as they'll set it up once and then just let it run (meaning you won't be changing modes often).


Performance vs. Expectations I'm using this pump on a 100 gallon shallow tank that I built, which I know is well above the recommended tank size for this piece of hardware. So while this isn't the only pump on the tank, I honestly think two of these would be adequate for this application. The flow, even at non-peak power, is rather strong and it gives me great coverage. When I took the pump out of the box, the size of it made me question what type of performance it would provide, but as soon as I plugged it in all my concerns evaporated. This pump is an amazing performer, and with a power consumption of under 18W it's almost unbelievable how much water flow it provides.


Value for money As I've already implied, I've used a lot of different pumps in the past. I've bought cheap pumps for non-critical applications, and I've invested serious money in high end equipment for main displays. This pump falls into the latter of the two categories, but it is by all means worth every penny. To have this kind of performance is, at times, priceless, and some of the add on features (such as battery backup) can literally save your entire system in what would otherwise be catastrophic events. So while it may hurt your pocket a bit to get this pump in hand, you won't regret it.


Customer Support I've not had any reason to contact Vortech about this pump, so I have no real input on their customer service. From what I've heard, however, they take care of their customers.


Liked about it I've a long list of likes for this pump. Power consumption versus water flow is second to none. The discretion of the installed pump is great, as there are no internal wires. Plug and play battery backup capability is not something you could get with any other brand. The ability to adjust flow output is as easy as any I've ever seen. And in the few months I've had the pump, it's worked flawlessly. I have strong expectations that this pump will last for years to come.


Didn't like Based on the basic design of the pump, probably the biggest complaint is that there is no way to change the direction of flow. Water flow is going to be at a right angle from the pane of the tank it's mounted to. If that is an issue, this pump is not for you, but I think all the other features greatly outweigh this one design restriction. Otherwise, the only aspect I could see as adding value to this system is to put a mode color key on the driver of the unit to eliminate some of the need for referring to the manual during use. These are nits, however; bottom line, the pump is awesome.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Aug 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Definitely not overpriced! Worth every penny!

Installation and Operation The directions are pretty straight forward and easy to follow.


Performance vs. Expectations Was very hesitant on this purchase but the expectations were dead on accurate to other customer reviews. Any other power head cannot even touch or compare to these Vortechs. The distribution of flow is absolutely incredible and the wide selection of setting and even being able to customize some of the settings just blows my mind away. Reef crest mode is my absolute favorite setting so far.


Value for money Worth every penny considering what kind of performance this piece of equipment can deliver.


Liked about it 1. Wide distribution of flow.
2. Various modes for various interests.
3. Less heat and clutter in the tank.


Didn't like 1. Wish it was quieter but after a few days it quiets down a lot.
2. Even though worth every penny, still could be cheaper.
3. ^ Those are the only things I wish were different.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By sanzz218
Apr 14, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

One of the best wave makers

Installation and Operation Instructions provide very good guide in terms of setting up. Once it is setup, it is very smooth. It is a good idea to have a manual around since they are different kind of settings. Not much of maintenance is required.


Performance vs. Expectations So powerful, so many waves this little thing can create. One of the best wave makers on the market. Since "big" waves can be created, need to play around with it to make sure water will "stay" in the tank.


Value for money It is pretty pricy but it does the job. Instead of buying several power heads, one of this can does the same thing.


Customer Support never had one.


Liked about it 1. Small, the power core is outside of the tank.
2. Different color indicates different modes
3. auto night mode is a killer


Didn't like 1. making some sound, but not a deal breaker
2. one pricy side
3. wish firmware can be updated eaiser


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By baysidefish
Apr 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Great pump.

Installation and Operation Installation was very easy. Took me a while to get the exact flow I wanted.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs very well and has a nice wide flow. Very well built.


Value for money Very good price for what you get. Comes with a controller which is not the case with most pumps out there.


Customer Support Have not had an issue yet.


Liked about it The advantages to pump like this having the motor on the outside of the tank are as follows: Takes up very little room in the aquarium. The motor on the outside of the tank allows for very little heat being transferred to the tank which can be a problem in smaller tanks this is designed for. One less cord entering the water which could cause electrical shock if something goes bad..

I love it comes with a controller. The prices is also right, once you buy other pumps with a controller they will cost more. The controller has lots of different modes for various flows to one that can actually create a wave in the tank. I highly recommend this pump.


Didn't like This pump can be a little loud at the highest speed but can be fixed by dialing it back a little. Also there is no way to adjust the angle of the flow.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By shred5
Mar 02, 2010
 
Last updated: October 19, 2012
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

man can put man on the moon but cant deliver a noisless vortech

Installation and Operation this mp10 is pretty simple to set up after reading instructions.



Performance vs. Expectations yes it does.but you will notice they say nothing of the noise level.


Value for money i would say average.
if the unit was cheaper then perhaps that would make up for the noise they produce.
like then they could turn around and say "hey what you expect for 150.00 bucks when people complain.


Customer Support no i havent as yet but im waiting to see if its noise factor reduces.


Liked about it ok i like the overall idea and concept and the flow is very good.
the product looks very well made and finish is to be praised.
the foot print and all the main features i would say are almost second to none.


Didn't like ok now the noise on the high end of flow is what lets this unit down and IMHO a unit with noise lvls like this pump has should not have been put on the market.
word on the street is split as to how noisy these units are,so perhaps there may be inconsitencies with the product,or peoples views just vary.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By judgedread
Dec 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Buy it!

Installation and Operation Installation was easy, it took little time to dial in the wave action I wanted in my frag tank, but now it is what I think is a set it and forget it reliable water mover. Lost or random settings and wide range of volume settings.


Performance vs. Expectations It does more than I expected. I use it in my frag tank 2'x3'x1'deep 45G lots of random water movement, I removed two pumps previously in use and move more water randomly. I currently have it set to make waves from 5AM -7PM then low volume flow for 10 hours. Corals seem to like it temp is down in the tank and the Tank has adapted to the change.


Value for money My LFS Matches best price on the net so I got a low price, It is more than what you would pay for othet pumps but I think it was well worth it.


Customer Support No probs as of this time.


Liked about it power for size, wave making ability, less heat in the tank and less power consumption.


Didn't like can not angle the flow from the pump, some nois but not bad in my opinion.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Seamore
Oct 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Nice little pump!

Installation and Operation Vortech MP10
Nice little pump that is easy to use.
Just Plug & Play, all you do is pick a color that corresponds to the type of flow you want.
No complex programing like other wave pumps.
I don't like the noise it makes. If you have a system with fans or noisy pumps then it’s OK, but if your system is quiet the noise as the pump goes to higher speeds is very noticeable.


Performance vs. Expectations It lives up to the hype


Liked about it east to use


Didn't like noise


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By oyam123
Sep 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $169 to $218
Compare Prices
at 11 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec267 spec276 spec279