Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (8)
 Add a review

Maxi-Jet 900 Powerhead MP 900

 
Maxi-Jet Powerhead/Pump Model 900 230 gph by Maxi Jet. Maxi-Jet fully submersible, sealed powerhead/water pump for a variety of aquarium applications


Price: $21 to $24 at 2 stores
Searched Maxi-Jet 900 Powerhead MP 900 in Reviews
 

 

Great utility pump to have on hand... featured

Installation and Operation The Maxi-Jet 900's are great small utility pumps which are easily installed and maintained. Included in the box with the pump is a good selection of brackets, inlet screens, output nozzles and suction cups which make it possible to easily configure the pump to your needs. The included manual is very well laid out and includes a detailed diagram of all the pieces of the pump with part numbers.


Performance vs. Expectations The claimed output of the MJ 900 is 230 gals per hour at 0 head. From my experience with these pumps, I would say this is a pretty accurate number. They provide a lot of flow for a smaller pump and they draw very low wattage which results in very little heat being transferred to water.


Value for money These are great pumps to have on hand for many situations. They're very versatile and can be configured to work in many applications. In addition to providing good flow as a powerhead in smaller tanks, they also make great return pumps for smaller nano setups and they're great for providing flow to peripheral equipment like UV sterilizers, calcium/nitrate reactors, phosphate/carbon reactors, and external protein skimmers.

As long as you perform routine maintenance on the pump, they should last for years. The only time I've had a Maxi-Jet fail was due to me failing to clean it routinely like I should have, and even then all I had to replace was the impeller assembly and it was like new again.


Liked about it Some of the pros to the MJ 900's are they are very versatile pumps that provide good flow for their size and they do it drawing minimal wattage. They're easy to maintain and replacement parts are available for them if needed.


Didn't like For cons, the only thing I can think of that I dislike on the MJ 900 is the pattern of the flow it produces if it's used as a powerhead. Due to the small outlet, the pattern is very concentrated instead a wider, dispersed flow. They are after market kits available though that address this issue and can turn these pumps into flow monsters... but we'll save that for another review. :D


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Big D
Jan 17, 2010
 
Last updated: January 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

a good small powerhead for small tanks

Installation and Operation This thing is a breeze to install and operate, and it will probably last for years with regular maintenance (cleaning out algae growth and coralline deposits). I've had countless maxijet pumps over the years, and they all still operate well. The issue is that they're very limited in overall size, so tanks larger than about 50 gallons should seek alternative pump solutions.


Performance vs. Expectations Works as you'd expect. With an impeller style jet flow you've got a very narrow path of water compared to propeller style stream pumps, but for the price it's a good solution on small systems.


Liked about it They're cheap, easy to install, and they'll operate for a long time with little overhead and very little power draw. On smaller systems they'll do fine.


Didn't like The suction cup mounting method is not reliable long term, so try to seek out another mounting method (most common is using a magnet, or clipping them over the side of the tank is a good choice as well).


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Small profile for it's flow.

Installation and Operation The suction cup bracket is able to attach to 3 different sides of this pump which makes it very easy to hide in a corner of a tank in order to reduce it's profile. If you have a thin walled glass tank you can also hang the pump from the top of the tank and use a clamp to make sure the power cord follows along the hanger.


Performance vs. Expectations I only ever use these pumps in zero head applications and they seem to perform well. They come with several accessories for all sorts of applications. I tend to use the dispersal nozzle on the outflow in order to better aim the flow.


Value for money If I had a planted freshwater tank I would buy 6 of these because they provide gentle flow, but they are not really for use in larger saltwater tanks.


Liked about it The outflow can be aimed anywhere in a 360 degree direction. This allows you to hid the pump in your LR and prevent anaerobic spots from building up.


Didn't like Did not come with a foam pre-filter but you can use any old one you happen to have laying around.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hawaii4485
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Nice little pump

Installation and Operation I have had 1 of these running my UV and GFO reactor for about 2 years. And it still runs great. It was basically the only pump I could fit in the limited space I had that could handle the job. I tried another brand but the size limitation made me choose a weaker pump and it failed in a month or 2. But this pump is still running perfectly and silently.


Performance vs. Expectations It has met and even exceeded my expectations. I actually have to throttle it back a little bit.


Value for money Very good value for the money. I could not find another compact pump to do what I needed for a better price any where.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Compact size. It runs silently and is just as strong if not stronger than its rating.


Didn't like If they threw in a tiny ball valve that would be nice.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Aug 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great pump

General Great little pump, definitely a good return on investment


Liked about it Size, noise level, gph, power consumption


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By CaptiveBred
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great little pump

General I use this pump to feed my Media reactors. Work flawlessly and keeps this moving right along! Great basic bulletproof pump!


Liked about it Great for the money, seems to be indestructible!


Didn't like Nothing...


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Cant beat them

General These little powerheads produce some major current and are by far the BEST product for your money. I am currently using 9 of them and have not had a problem with any of them. If they get gummed up you just clean them off and they are like new.


Liked about it easy to install, cheap and reliable


Didn't like trying to get the suction cups off of the glass...wow...


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By CoonValleyCorals May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Tough little things

General I have had a number of different sized Maxijets over the years. I have used them in fresh and salt water tanks. I have some really old ones that would still work after being used for years and then stored for another bunch of years. I have even dropped them on concrete and they still continue to run (not that i'm saying anyone should try that, lol).
They clean up pretty easy and last close to forever.


Liked about it Inexpensive, easy to find, comes with lots of different bits to customize to your use. They last forever.


Didn't like Ain't the prettiest things.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By icebear
Mar 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $21 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec293 spec311 spec315 spec320