Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (7)
 Add a review

Mag-Drive 9.5 / 950 Pump

 
Mag Drive Pump 950 by Mag-Drive. Economical, strong and versatile magnetic drive aquarium pumps


Price: $84 to $145 at 10 stores
Searched Mag-Drive 9.5 / 950 Pump in Reviews
 

 

quality pump featured

Installation and Operation a good, economical pump solution. like many submersible pumps, it doesnt provide a ton of flow at higher head pressures, but for most purposes it works well. I use it as a return pump, and it's performed well for me over the last 2 years. Generally quiet.


Performance vs. Expectations Honestly it performs a bit better than I expected. There's a reason why these are so common in the hobby; they're priced well and work well. I actually used this pump on a 150 gallon tank as the main return pump, and it was fine. Maybe a bit low total flow for some folks on a tank that size, but it worked well for me.


Value for money As mentioned earlier, these are a great pump that are priced well. While some other pumps may be a bit quieter or energy efficient, these are a great product at a great price.


Customer Support One one danner pump, the pump wouldnt always start. I had bought the pump almost 3 years prior, and it had worn out the housing where the impeller sits. I called danner up, and the simply sent me a brand new pump. I was very impressed.


Liked about it Great price point, good performance and good warranty, relatively energy efficient (compared to external pumps), and very versatile.


Didn't like Sometimes they can be a bit loud, and they don't work well in external applications. Otherwise, a great pump and I'm sure I'll buy more in the future.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
Apr 27, 2009
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $84 to $145
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Makes a great return pump

Installation and Operation These pumps are so simple to install and use. They are plus and play for the most part unless you have some plumbing to do. As a submerged return pump they are easy to install. They run very quiet, but that can transfer some heat to the water for this reason many people run the externally. That is a great option with all MAG pumps you can run then in sump or external.

I used this as a return on my 75g for some time. I did have to dial it back a little since my overflow could only handle 800gph.


Performance vs. Expectations This pump was a workhorse for me three years I never cleaned it and the only time it stooped running was then the power went out. I love the threaded in/out that makes it great for rigid plumbing and many people use this pump or one a little larger for a closed loop system. As my return I could not have been happier.


Value for money They are a little pricey. But I thin it it worth it, They are work horses and very versatile pumps.


Customer Support I never had any problems with any of my MAG pumps.


Liked about it It's alot of pump for it's size.
It can be used in sump or external which is a huge advantage for this pump.
I really like the threaded fittings. I hate nylon hose and barbed fittings.
It's a work horse just let it run!


Didn't like This pump did seem to product an excessive amount of heat.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $84 to $145
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great Little pump

Installation and Operation Simple to install. Its basically a plug and play pump. Can be used externally or fully submerged. Great pump to be fully submerged in a pond. Easy to clean. Other than that it doesn't need to much attention. Comes with prefilter.


Performance vs. Expectations I've used this pump for about 11 years now. For the last 8 yrs its duties have been for my top-off water in my 32 gallon brute container with 6' head pressure. I still got about 685gph out of it. Very reliable and quiet. Although it will put out some heat while in use. I have run this pump dry many times and it still runs perfectly. Great for pump to be fully submerged in a pond.


Value for money Great value for the money. Has paid for itself over and over again.


Liked about it Love this pump. Happy with its lasting power. Very trustworthy. Seems to be indestructible.


Didn't like The heat generated by it. But with most ceramic impeller shafts I have found a heat issue.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $84 to $145
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Silent work horse

Installation and Operation It couldn't be easier to install. I have one thats been running for about 5 years straight, and I've haven't done any maintenance on it.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes. It moves a lot of water for a pump in its price range.


Value for money The only down side I can see is that they do draw quite a bit of electricity and they do produce some heat.


Customer Support Never needed to.


Liked about it Reliability and low up front cost.


Didn't like I do wish it didn't produce as much heat and consume as much electricity.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Elegance Coral
Sep 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $84 to $145
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Powerful

Installation and Operation I didn't have a problem running mine. I used it in my large tubs to Mix my Salt water and pump it into the needed tank with clear hose for water changes and top offs. Just plugged it in and the power of the pump did the rest


Performance vs. Expectations Even what used at 5-6 feet of head pressure i never had a problem


Value for money Good price tag depending on where you shop


Liked about it Powerful
didn't produce a lot of noise


Didn't like Required some time to open it all up for cleaning


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By zero186
Jul 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $84 to $145
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great Pump!

General I love this pump! It pushes its stated gph if not more. With a 4 foot head I measured it pumping around 700gph+. Great product and not much maintence either! A little pricey, but you get what you pay for.


Liked about it Strong
versatile


Didn't like Gives off heat


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $84 to $145
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Mag-Drive 9.5

General The energy efficiency and heat produced by the Mag-Drive pump is the price you pay to get a very reliable, high flow, internal pump. I feel that the pump is a very good pump and would recommend it to anyone, except those struggling to keep their tank temperature down.


Liked about it Mag-Drive pumps are the most reliable, internal, high flow pump available.


Didn't like All Mag-Drive pumps produce excessive heat and are not very energy efficient.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By pogodzib
May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $84 to $145
Compare Prices
at 10 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec284 spec313 spec317 spec320