Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (20)
 Add a review

Hydor Koralia 4 Circulation PumpPowerhead1200 gph

 
Koralia Water Circulation Pumps Pump 4 by Hydor. Hydor Koralia series turbo aquarium pumps feature articulating ball joint for adjustable directional water flow


Price: $59 to $59 at 1 stores
Searched Hydor Koralia 4 Circulation PumpPowerhead1200 gph in Reviews
 

 

Great flow in a not so tiny package! featured

Installation and Operation Installation is plug and play. Take it out of the box, pop the magnet mount into the pump and place it where you want it. Plug it in and watch it go! They include an addition flow focuser and what I refer to as a "fish guard." Basically it is a screen you place over the end of the powerhead to keep things from being able to get into the impeller.


Performance vs. Expectations These pumps perform great. I had two in my 90 gallon and they eliminated all dead spots in the water column. The flow is wide which helps to keep it from beating up on the smaller inhabitants of the tank. They met and exceeded my expectations.


Value for money These pumps are worth every penny! They move alot of water and are reasonably priced!


Customer Support Haven't had any dealings with Hydor's customer service.


Liked about it Pros:
Lots of flow
Included flow focuser, and fish guard
Magnet and suction cup combo mount


Didn't like Cons:
They are a bit on the large side, I think they could do something with a newer model to shrink them down in size for what they are. They can be a bit of an eye sore to those that are not familiar with their function. Once covered with coraline, they blend right in!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 08TRDOFFROAD
Mar 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Good flow n a large package. featured

Installation and Operation Simple to install these pumps are plug and play.From the box to your tank.
I really like the suction cup along with the magnets. The magnets give yo some piece of mind knowing that eventually suction cups will fail. Super quiet all you will hears is a hum from these pumps. What more would you ask for.
Cheap pump, Plug and play, quiet, and a very wide flow pattern.

Look around there are even some great mods out there for these pumps.


Performance vs. Expectations At one time I had four of these running in my 125. They sis an OK just but as I found myself moving more and more towards SPS they just did not cut it cor me anymore and I was forced to get something that would provide more random flow.

Nothing against these pumps though. They are great. They did everything and more than I expected and I highly suggest them for any mixed reef. But now that the evolutions are out I suspect that it won't be long before you cannot even get these anymore.


Value for money Dollar for dollar you cannot beat the Koralia pumps.
At about $45 for a 1200gph pump they are very affordable.


Customer Support I never had any issues with Hydor.


Liked about it Lots of flow and a super wide flow pattern.
Extremely affordable. You can get two of these for the price of one of it's competitors.
Very quiet and efficient.


Didn't like They are big and bulky. they take up lots of space and can be an eye sore of not hidden in the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Nice cheap pump for smooth, wide flow. featured

Installation and Operation this pump is pretty easy to use and install. there's almost no configuration needed out of the box, simply stick the magnets on opposing sides of the glass and you're ready to go. I've used this on tanks as large as about 120 gallons and it provides decent flow (though you'd need a few in a tank that size). If you have a tank larger than that, I'd certainly consider going with a different brand of controllable pump, though, as you'd need a lot of these in place to get the right kind of flow needed (and they do take up non-negligible space within the display).


Performance vs. Expectations This pump did pretty well for what I was expecting. The design lends itself to much wider flow compared to impeller style powerheads (such as maxijets), so while it may not feel as strong in any certain area the overall spread does move a lot of water. These pumps do NOT use a lot of energy, either, and they've held up well to the few years of use that I've had them in. All said, I've been very satisfied with the pump.


Value for money Compared to other controllable powerheads, or even some of the higher-end brands, this is a pretty good value. A lot of stream style pumps can cost hundreds of dollars, so if you're not interested in a controllable setup and only have a tank around 100 gallons or so this is certainly worthy of consideration.


Liked about it Easy to set up, a great mounting option compared to other powerheads (the magnets do much better compared to suction cups), and it doesnt draw a lot of power. It also fires up consistently and I've been using a few of these for years without issue (I've used these in combination of the koralia 2s).


Didn't like It is a bit bulky, so make certain you have the space to place it. Otherwise, I've had great results.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Favorite Powerhead

Installation and Operation You won't need the instructions, this is very easy to install, just plug and suction to the tank wall and magnet. This is my favorite because of the magnet. I've had other brands of powerhead and the suction cup fails, and then winds up aiming towards the bottom, stirring the tank floor. The magnet on it is very strong. I've never had a problem with the Hydor Koralia 4 Circulation PumpPowerhead popping off of the tank wall. Low maintenance, just rinse and clean. I bought 2 more for my newest tank set up. Highly recommend.


Performance vs. Expectations The product exceeds my expectations. Wide area of water flow and easily adjustable should you add new coral or feel adjustment is needed.


Value for money Great value for your money. Reasonably priced and gets the job done well.


Customer Support I have never needed customer support for this product.


Liked about it Ease of installation. Wide range of water flow. Reliable/Consistent


Didn't like The unit is large, and while not quite an eyesore a smaller size with the same flow would be the only thing I would change.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Signgirl
Aug 02, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

serious flow

Installation and Operation easy to install ... Don't get the inner and outer magnets together or you will have one Heck of a time trying to sepparate them lol! cleanup and dissasembly was easy. remember the threading is reversed though or you end up breaking it.


Performance vs. Expectations moves UNGODLY amounts of water from great distances. i have 4 of these in my 180. 2 on eather side running on a wavemaker. only 2 run at a time and get Tons of flow across a 5' tank.


Value for money value for money is great. i payed about 40 bucks a pop for these guys.


Customer Support never needed


Liked about it Tons of Flow, very low wattage consumption, easy to clean, easy to manuever around the tank. these big guys deliver.


Didn't like clicking noise on start-up, every time my wave maker cycles over to the next pair, most the time there is a bad clicking noise which i found is the prop. jumping on the shaft. sometimes they wont start up because of this.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bigredmachine
Feb 27, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Decent Entry Level Powerhead.

Installation and Operation Product is ready to use right out of the box. Simply put the magnets on the glass plud it in and your ready to go. The pumps operate consistantly and are easily maintained with a monthly cleaning.


Performance vs. Expectations I'm running two K4s on my 75 they move lots of water but I still find I have dead spots in the water column. These pumps are a cheap alternative to the spendy pumps but you get what you pay for. All in all they perform good enough for now but I am looking to upgrade to a higher end pump soon. These pumps were a bit nosiey at first but after they broke in are for the most part quiet.


Value for money These things are pretty cheap making them a great choice for the novice reefer looking to get their tank of the ground cheap. I think they perform great for what they cost and provide a good bang for the buck.


Customer Support Pumps have run flawlessly for almost 3 years with no need for support.


Liked about it Economical pump
Nice wide flow pattern
Dependable and ease of use.


Didn't like These pumps are ugly they take up alot realestate.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By MedicMike
Jan 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

worth the money ++++

Installation and Operation I don't think installing anything on your fish tank is easier to set up than this aside from a thermometer.
So much easier than the traditional "suction cup" mount. It literally takes more time to open it up out of the box and to plug it in than to install this product.


Performance vs. Expectations Not only are these easier to install and more versatile than the traditional "suck and blow" style powerheads, they also are more realistic in the current it creates.


Value for money Very good price for very good equipment. What more could you ask for?


Customer Support No troubles here, so need to call
N/A


Liked about it I like the more natural water flow created by these style of powerheads.
I like the propeller way more than the impeller.
I also like how versatile they are in where you can mount them and can point them in any direction.


Didn't like The one thing that I didn't like was the bulkiness by these powerheads.
Sorry, but this is the only thing I don't like about these.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 9erNation
Feb 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

great powerhead

Installation and Operation Easy to install. Just find where you want it to go and install magnet on the other side and done. Simple! It has a ball joint adjustment which is great for pointing in otherwise hard to reach areas. End cap can be removed for wider range flow. Runs quiet except for start up. Rattles a bit and can pop off end cap which is a pain retrieving it. Not designed for start and stop (wavemaker)


Performance vs. Expectations performs great.Very good distribution of high/turbulent flow. Again not really for use with wavemaker.


Value for money little expensive but worth it


Liked about it loved the ball joint adjuster and the large out put design. Delivers awesome turbulent flows. especially if you have more than one


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Still Running!

Installation and Operation The only thing you have to put together is the magnet. That's so easy that it's self explanatory. You place it where you want it in the aquarium then plug it in. It's that easy. These run quieter than I expected and provide a gentle, decently-spread amount of flow.


Performance vs. Expectations They are very slick looking, perform better than I expected, and are still running. They will rattle a bit, every time you turn them on, but it goes away in a few seconds. Every now and then I have to give them a good vinegar bath; but from there, they just keep on going.


Value for money Prior to these, I had Maxi Jets. The Koralias changed my view on what powerheads should really be doing. I feel these pumps are definitely worth their asking prices.


Customer Support Never had any issues, so never had to call them.


Liked about it 1) Decent, wide flow. 2) Adjustability. The heads are directional. 3) Magnet that also dubs as a rubber suction cup... that's nice when glass is too thick, or when you are using them on acrylic (no scratches).


Didn't like 1) They are kind of big. 2) They can be on a wavemaker but you have to mod the shafts so that they don't rattle. 3) For some reason, I have to clean them more than any of my other powerheads. These things are coralline magnets... if that's a bad thing, I guess. :)


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By flipside
Jan 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

More then I was expecting!

Installation and Operation Simple and easy. Instructions in box easy to follow. Regular maintenance is a must. I clean mine internally every 3 months. Toothbrush the outside grills with each water change. Has worked flawless.


Performance vs. Expectations Moves a great deal of water. Performs as advertised. I wasn't expecting these to move as much water as they say looking at its design but was i ever surprised.


Liked about it Easy of installation
Quiet operation except the start up
Pricey but worth the money


Didn't like Once coralline algae grows on it it becomes a little difficult to disassemble, but nothing to bad I hear the coralline crack and thought i cracked the plastic.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By salty198
Oct 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Best powerhead for the price!

Installation and Operation The product was very well designed with a magnet/suction cup combo so it won't fall off! Very self explanatory, easily maintained with removable parts as well.


Performance vs. Expectations They really move a lot of water for the size and the price.


Value for money Excellent gallon/dollar ration compared to the Tunze and Vortech of the same size.


Customer Support The customer support is top notch. Any problems with any of the Koralias that I have had were taken care of with replacement parts with no cost to you with free shipping as well.


Liked about it Nice design
Great Price
Move a lot of water


Didn't like Wish the power cord was longer


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jumpman420
Jul 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

K4

General I love these pumps I run 4 of them in my 75, it takes some tweaking to get the flow from kicking up your sand or spraying out of the top of the tank. I've replaced a few over the years so I would and have definitely buy again.


Liked about it Good quality pump, great customer service, easy to clean and assemble.


Didn't like There is a small washer on the end of the prop that should be in the directions for assembly, put off a small amount of heat, older ceramic shafts break very easily. Flow on the K4's only comes out of 2 holes primarily.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By firsthesitation
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Totally worth it!

General This powerhead is the best in the market if you dont wanna pay hundreds of dollars for a perfect working powerhead! As I mentioned above, it's good looking and perform as well as any other powerhead out there on the market!


Liked about it Very attractive powerhead in term of performance and price! I have 2 of these Koralia 4 in my 125gL and have not had any problem at all! Plug and play powerhead! there's a ball connect between the base and the head so it's very easy to adjust the flow into any direction without moving the whole thing! and the base is magnetic so even if you wanna move it, just need to remove the magnet out side the tank! The impeller is included with the system which gives a broader flow! And only Koralia 4 gives you the choice to upgrade to a bigger impeller to improve the strength!


Didn't like I have had these Koralias for about a year now and has nothing to complain about! zerooo!!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By umakemekissu
Apr 23, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Hydor Koralia 4 Circulation Pump

General These really are nice entry level, wide-flow pumps. They are a little bulky, but I was able to tuck them in the rear corners of the tank. The magnet mounts are strait forward and worked well on my half-inch thick glass. Initially you may feel that the pump isn't putting out the flow the manufacturer claims, but the wider flow pattern is deceiving.


Liked about it The price of these units is great. Combined with the higher flow and wider flow pattern makes it a fantastic buy for entry-level and more experienced reef keepers.


Didn't like The unit is a little bulky and out of four I have ran through the years, three of them needed to be replaced, but the warranty took care of them.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Hop
Apr 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Efficient, leading edge PH design

Installation and Operation Initial set up is a piece of cake; plug and play. Use a tooth brush to clean the casing every 6 months, takes 10 minutes at most.


Performance vs. Expectations If new to hobby go straight to the Koralia and skip the Maxi Jet. If you've been in the hobby for a while and haven't upgraded from your old MJs, it is time. IMO this design is so effective and efficient I think it will likely be the standard going forward.


Liked about it Evenly distributed turbulent flow, standard magnetic bracket and low maintenence


Didn't like Little pricey, can get clogged if not brushed off once in a while


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By lunatank21
Oct 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great for the price

Installation and Operation Very easy to install


Performance vs. Expectations The only problem with them is that they clatter when first starting, so probably not great for use with a wavemaker.


Value for money Great


Liked about it The price is great
Great water movement
Easy to install and adjust


Didn't like Clatters when starting


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schmnr
Oct 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

OK....

General These things are good pumps, but if you have a tank with ANY algae, these WILL clog. Keep them clean and I think you will have many years of service, they seem to be better than the Koralia 3's.


Liked about it Decent Pump, good flow


Didn't like Clogs WAY to easily.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Hydor K4

General Will buy again when needed.


Liked about it Simple plug n play. Not to big but still moves water


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Still Wet
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Koralia 4

General Overall, Koralia pumps are perfect for people looking for a cheap, high flow pump that is energy efficient.


Liked about it The Koralia pump is a low energy, high flow pump that sells at a cheaper price than comparable high flow pumps.


Didn't like Koralia pumps can make noise upon startup.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By pogodzib
May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great powerhead!

General Worth the money, especially theres only a $15 difference between the K4 and the K1!


Liked about it I love how much flow this powerhead creates! I run it with another K2 on my 90 gallon, but I will be adding at least 1 more K4.


Didn't like No complaints!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ZMattie
Apr 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $59 to $59
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec289 spec311 spec318 spec320