Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (26)
 Add a review

Hydor Koralia 3 Circulation PumpPowerhead850 gph

 
Koralia Water Circulation Pumps Pump 3 by Hydor. Hydor Koralia series turbo aquarium pumps feature articulating ball joint for adjustable directional water flow


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Hydor Koralia 3 Circulation PumpPowerhead850 gph in Reviews
 

 

BIG Pump for a Little Price featured

Installation and Operation Out of the box and into the tank in less than 2 minutes! The instructions clearly state what any person could gather with common sense. These are slick little power-heads that are easy to use and provide a lot of flow!


Performance vs. Expectations These power-heads are as advertised and more! I bought 2 of them for a 90 gallon tank and am amazed at the amount of flow within the tank. I low the fact that they do not create a directional 'stream' and therefore make random flows in the movement of the water which is nice for a reef style system.


Value for money I was able to get these at $30 a unit and I think that is an outstanding price for the quality of the power-head. I know the Evolution are fully controllable, but if pure flow is all you're looking for, these are worth every penny!.


Customer Support I have not had to deal with the company as I have had these for 2 years and with regular maintenance there has been no problems.


Liked about it Flow is Multi-directional
Cost Efficient
'Plug&Play'
Clean look doesn't detract from the tank.


Didn't like On/Off only.
Power-heads can 'chatter' or spin backwards if repeatedly turned on/off.
May effect water temperatures if multiple units are in use.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By JeeperReefer
Oct 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

these are unbelievable featured

Installation and Operation this is so easy my 6 year old pulled it out of box and knew one magnet went on outside of aquarium and said he bet the whole in the other one was where you stuck the red bracket from the powerhead he never even looked at paper inst. so this was a sure sign that i will also be getting same brand only bigger for my 125 gallon


Performance vs. Expectations very powerful for the size and dispersed water in a even all around flow good for my hammers and frog spawn and doesnt overpower but spreads beautiful movement all over tank i will never switch and love the whole magnet idea how genious


Value for money really i say this is the bigger bang for your buck i mean the power is not over bearing but enough tokeep a good steady flow and really the price is like not bad even for the larger size powerhead i recomend to anyone try and you will see these are great adds for your tank


Customer Support never had to deal with but hear again this says alot for product


Liked about it i love the even flow with power that really improves my tank and the magnet is nice to be able to adjust where you want it by sliding outer magnet is nice not to have to stick hands in all the time price is so reasonable


Didn't like nothing i have no complaints and that is for real


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By big daddys passi
Mar 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very affordable flow. featured

Installation and Operation Instillation was a piece ok cake. These come out of the box ready to run.
The magnets are great and give you piece of mind versus just a suction cup.
All you need to do is fin a spot where you want them and stick them to the glass, Install the magnet on the opposite side of the glass point it where you want it them plug it in and forget about it forever.


Performance vs. Expectations There really are great little pump. Half the price for the same about of flow compared to other high end pumps.
You do loose a little bit bu the size of these pump. There are very large for their output.
They are not controllable at all so do not even attempt it.
There are some mods out there for these pumps which is great it involves swapping out the impellers. Cheap easy and nothign physical to the pump. All in all a great pump! I have owned three different versions and have been happy with all of them.
I ran the K3 on my 75 gallon mixed reef. I had two of them running and was very happy with the flow.


Value for money GPH per dollar they are about the best you can buy. Not the Evolutions are out and not much more expensive. and they are 100% controllable. I would imagine it will not be long before they discontinue the origional Koralias.


Customer Support I have never had a issue with Hydor.


Liked about it Flow, They have a ton of flow and it was a very wide pattern.
Price, Very affordable especially when just starting the budget is already tight.
Quality, They just seem to run and run forever with very little maintenance.


Didn't like Really the only thing I disliked about these pumps was the size I feel Hydor could have made them much smaller.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

pretty good solution for smaller tanks featured

Installation and Operation Great pumps for adding a lot of gentle flow. I used koralias as a supplement to the Tunze system I employed for areas that were a bit stagnant, yet where a tunze wouldn't fit or would be too much flow. These come with good mounting devices, I was able to use it on my 3/4" glass tank without any issues. The cords are a bit short if you have long runs, but otherwise I was satisfied with the performance of these pumps.


Performance vs. Expectations For the price, it performs well. I've had these last for years without issue, and I've never had an issue with performance. I didnt have terribly high expectations, but this unit has worked well and I've been pleased with the product.


Value for money This is one of the cheaper stream style pumps available on the market, so I think it has a great value. I could see myself buying these in the future.


Liked about it Great amount of flow for very low power, these pumps are a good addition for almost any tank. They're probably adequate flow by themselves for aquariums in the 50 gallon range, but as mentioned I've used them to help eliminate dead zones on larger tanks (this was a 150 gallon in particular). These are cheap compared to high-end controllable units, but they do work and I found the quality to be rather high. For the 2 years or more I've been using the korallia 3, both of them are still in operation and fire up with little issue. I do maintain them with vinegar soaks every 12 months or so, which helps eliminate any coralline build up or other issues, but they're built well and I think they would have operated even without that maintenance.


Didn't like These arent meant for larger systems by themselves, so if you have large hopes make sure you know what you're getting. I have read a few reports of these not starting up in the proper direction, but I've personally never had that issue. They are a bit bulky, and somewhat limited with their directionability, but they're better at pointing than other designs (such as the vortechs). They are an on/off pump, so don't expect to be able to vary the flow output of this product. For the price, they're a good pump.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Quiet, cool, and powerful featured

Installation and Operation Installation was so easy that I hate to even call it installing. The Koralia uses a magnetic mount that stays put and doesn't require much thought to hook up. I had the pump out of the box, in the tank, and running in 30 seconds. Once in the tank it's easy to adjust the direction of your flow using the special swivel base of the pump.


Performance vs. Expectations If anything, a little more powerful than I expected it to be. The box is rated for up to a 50 gallon tank, which is what I put it in, and I moved a few corals away from it to reduce the current over them. If you have SPS this will get you enough flow to keep them healthy.


Value for money I would have liked to have spent $5 dollars or so less on this product, but in the end, it really performs so I feel like I got my money's worth. It's also well built, easy to maintain, and the magnetic mount (the reason for the extra $) made me feel like I got something that would last.


Customer Support I have not dealt with customer support, there was just no reason to, the product worked right out of the box and was so easy to install. I am not sure what I would have asked them.


Liked about it 1. Plenty powerful
2. Easy magnetic mount
3. Easy to adjust swivel head


Didn't like 1. Makes a little rattle noise on start up. This is fine if it turns off once a day, but if you plan to use it as a wave maker, that's too much.
2. A little large. I just read about the new line coming out and they are smaller, more powerful, and totally quiet on start up.
3. There is a flow nozle attachment it comes with. Mine came off a couple of times. This was because I didn't push it on far enough. It took a couple of tries to get it there. Without it the flow is massive so I am glad they included it. There are many reasons not to use it depending on your tank.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Creates just the flow my corals like

Installation and Operation The installation is too easy. I love the magnet and how easily you can adjust the direction of the powerhead. This and one other powerhead provide a great flow throughout the tank. I know where my higher flow areas are and so it makes it easier to place corals.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs as I hoped. Upgraded from a 2 and my torch coral took an immediate liking to the increase.


Value for money Compared to others on the market, fairly priced.


Liked about it Ease of installation...the magnet is great, ease of adjusting direction, creates just the right amount of flow my tank seems to like. Also easy to clean.


Didn't like It is a bit large.I've never had problems with the magnet or getting it to start.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Sherilw
May 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Questionable,Depends on your application.

Installation and Operation Easy to install,monthly cleaning should be done to ensure life of punp.


Performance vs. Expectations They do perform as advertised.Wish they would come up with a way to make them more compatiable with wave timers.


Customer Support Have never dealt with customer service so can't comment.


Liked about it They move alot of water for the price and as long as there not on a wave timer they work fine.Liked the fact that they are easy to install.and magnet mounts make it easy for placement .


Didn't like Tend to chatter when installed on a wave maker and sometimes they don't seat well when power is applied and often run in reverse,after about a year of use the front cage where the shaft seats breaks.and the rubber suction cups tend to lose there suction after a while causing the whole assembly to rotate.However the magnets still hold it in place.They are not switchable.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By 03DieselPower
Apr 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

over my expectations!!!

Installation and Operation Dynamic, fully submersible water pumps revitalize hard-to-access "dead spots" in your aquarium. Magnetic base with articulating ball joint allows a full, 360-degree range of convenient pump positions. Directs vital water movement to areas of your aquarium never possible with conventional powerheads.


Performance vs. Expectations better than other brands, really effective


Value for money i got more than i expected, the product is worth every penny


Customer Support koralia has never let me down with their products and this one is no difference


Liked about it -flexibility
-performance
-power


Didn't like -nothing the product is worth the money


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Apr 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Powerhead!!!!

Installation and Operation Very easy to setup. Just stick it where u need some extra movement and plug it in.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes


Value for money More expensive than other powerheads but definately worth the money. Especially if you are housing corals.


Liked about it Great Movement, Doesn't get stopped up, and runs very quietly.


Didn't like more easily installed on a wavemaker


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By joschend0325
Feb 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Powerhead for the money. Sleak design and does not stand out in the tank.

Installation and Operation Very easy to install. Provides a powerful current in the tank. Minimal maintenance required.


Performance vs. Expectations Product performs exactly as advertised. The pump is more powerful then expected.


Value for money For any other comparable product this product is best in class.


Customer Support I have had no issues with this pump.


Liked about it 1. Mounts with a good magnetic suction cup on the tank.
2. Provides a great flow rate.
3. Low risk of anything getting caught in the impeller.


Didn't like 1. Not switchable !! This is really the only drawback.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mark_Winn
Jan 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

What i use to move the bulk of my water

Installation and Operation Easy to install, broad stream of water,not good on a wavemaker.


Performance vs. Expectations the korilia does have good water flow.


Value for money the korilia is a good value compared to other pumps on the market.


Customer Support broke the ceramic shaft, hydor sent me a new steel shaft for replacement.


Liked about it water movement,ease of placement, power consumption.


Didn't like not food on wavemakers,getting the plastic shroud to stay on after cleaning can be a pain,sometimes won't start up when first plugged in.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By blmboy
Dec 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth the money

Installation and Operation Easy to install place and point it were you want it plug it and let it go.


Performance vs. Expectations Performed as expected


Value for money Good value


Liked about it I liked that it had a wide flow and not just a straight stream of water and with the optional attachment you can direct the flow more to where you want it, low heat being transfered to the tank water, liked that i could put it any were in the tank and with the magnets you could be sure that it will stay put.


Didn't like Nothing i did not like but i did have one that would jam on start up returned it for a new one no problems.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By chrisd
Sep 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great pump for the money

Installation and Operation I remember when these first came out no LFS could keep them on the shelf. And for good reason they are fantstic at moving water, and at a very good price. Some power heads are very expensive and these are totally reliable and cost much less than the others. I have had mine running for just about 3 years now with out a hick up. Very happy with my purchase.


Performance vs. Expectations Performed even better than expected.



Value for money Super value for the money. Water movement is vital in reef tanks and these do that very well for a minimal amount of money.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Nice broad yet gentle flow. You can point them in a few directions. And they are inexpensive.


Didn't like I didn't like that it has a ceramic shaft, but the new ones have a stainless steel shaft so they fixed that issue.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Aug 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Not bad for the money, could be better in my opini

General I liked my hydor koralias until I tried a better powerhead for less. I recently picked up 4 Sunsun dual powerheads that are just all around better powerheads for a lot less. Much better magnets and twice the flow for like the same price. Id get them over hydors any day. They also sell under CoralVue powerheads and are numbered like 101b and 202b.


Liked about it Very easy to adjust aim
Has a nice steady stream
Nice long cord, which matters


Didn't like Its a little long for the GPH
I have to disagree with others about the magnet. My glass is 3/4" and it barely holds it on. Its hard to move the pump by adjusting the magnet on the outside of the tank. It falls off often when adjusting placement.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By mjkelly
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome powerhead

Installation and Operation It goes right in. plug and play ease of use


Performance vs. Expectations It performs better than expected especially for the price they can be found at.


Value for money Great.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it I love the large stream of water it puts out.


Didn't like The one thing I didn't like is when they turn back on after feeding - the propellers rattle a bit. No problems starting up ever and still worked awesome, just noisy for 1/2 second when they first kick on.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gouch
Jun 22, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

EXCELLENT

Installation and Operation This powerhead is very easy to install. You don't need instructions, one magnet on the outside to hold the powerhead in place on the inside. Plug and play. Regular scrubbing and vinegar bath every so often to really clean it out.


Performance vs. Expectations It performs just as described. Very quiet running and does it job!


Value for money It is a very good value. You can find it relatively cheap on ebay.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it - Quiet running
- Pushes a lot of water
- Magnet mount keeps it from sliding.


Didn't like There isn't anything that I would really want to change.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bud217
Apr 14, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

I love my Hydor Koralia 3

Installation and Operation This product is very simple to install and operate anyone can do it.


Performance vs. Expectations Performance is excellent as it push a wide stream of water with minimal voltage use.


Value for money It cost just as much as a stander power head pump. It's was well worth every penney spent


Customer Support No problems as of yet and I don't expect there to be any as the product is well constructed.


Liked about it Moves a push a ton of water around, can be pointed in almost any direction within your aquarium, easy to relocate


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

K3

Installation and Operation It installed very easily and operates great


Performance vs. Expectations I have 2 in my 55g mixed reef and I have no dead spots at all
I expected a lot and it delivered a lot


Liked about it 1.easy install
2.quiet
3.great flow


Didn't like 1.kinda big
2.could use stronger mag.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By collin
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Quality and Reliable

General Overall great product with huge amounts of natural flow.


Liked about it They're so simple and easy to install. I've never heard of anyone who has ever had a problem with these power head breaking. It's amazing how much water they push over a large area but they are still very gentle more like the ocean as opposed to a strong jet like most power heads. Great price too.


Didn't like My one problem is they are still pretty large compared to some and they are an eyesore if kept any lower than the top 2 inches of your tank


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Rapidfire143
Jul 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

OK...

General Cheap powerheads, but I don't think I will replace the ones I have when they break. They will all the sudden quit working and even trip my GFCI breaker, not sure how, but they do. 2 of the 3 I own have now done that.


Liked about it Good Flow, Cheap!


Didn't like Keep breaking and leaking electricity.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Hydor K3

General Love them would buy more when I need them.


Liked about it The best line of powerheads you can buy.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Still Wet
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

High Volume - Low Pressure

General Koralia powerheads employ the concept of high volume/low flow. Unlike many other pumps, there is not a strong jet of water shooting from a nozzle with these pumps, and as a result, a more natural flow is produced, thus correctly reproducing surge zone currents. This kind of flow produces a very nice natural movement of corals in the current, creating a great relaxing environment for viewing.


Liked about it Moves a large amount of water. Natural flow. Great mounting system


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ILuvMyGoldBarb
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth every penny

General I have 2 of these running in a 90 gallon and there is not one area of dead water. They have excellent flow and are extremely easy to setup. I like the way they are easily adjusted and moved and you can't even hear them running.

I would definitely buy these again and recommend them to my friends, well worth the money you pay for them.


Liked about it Ease of setup
Extremely quiet when running
Portability
Excellent flow


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jagator
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Well worth the money

General Amazing flow, I cannot believe how much water this pump moves at such a low pressure. Once turned on, the tank will come to life with movement.


Liked about it Mounts very securely
Can be aimed in any number of positions
Very quiet
Excellent flow


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

you get what you pay for

General These are great powerheads. I have two in my 55g and there is PLENTY of flow. they went in very easy and are practically impossible to hear running. they do take up a little more room that I expected but that is minor. I will not look at any other powerhead line.


Liked about it solid, quiet, easy to install


Didn't like in-tank size a bit larger than expected


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A great powerhead

General It sticks well with the magnet provided. Doesnt take up alot of room and is adjustable. Puts out good flow as well


Liked about it Easy to put in, not huge


Didn't like n.a


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By chatterboxbaby82
Apr 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec289 spec311 spec317 spec320