Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (12)
 Add a review

Ecotech Marine VorTech Propeller Pump with Wireless Wave Driver Gen2

 
The Vortech Propeller Pump creates a new benchmark for wave-like flow by combining all the amazing features aquarists desire in one unit: high flow, low heat, easy, efficient and controllable technology. The VorTech...


Price: $375 to $459 at 2 stores
Searched Ecotech Marine VorTech Propeller Pump with Wirelesave Driver Gen2 in Reviews
 

 

Great Product! featured

Installation and Operation This pump is extremely easy to install, with a simple quick set-up guide. Very low maintenance and very quiet considering the power it makes.


Performance vs. Expectations This product performs beyond my expectations. I had 3 Hydor pumps before, 1 Koralia and 2 evolutions, and it not only replaces them but puts out more flow than those 3 pumps combined! The variety of current combinations and different flow modes adds to a reef more like it's naturally found in the wild.


Value for money This product is a great value. I did purchase mine used, however it still was not much cheaper even used. Not that I'm complaining I gladly paid it! I'm thinking of getting another so I can have them wirelessly communicate with each other.


Customer Support The company is great. I have dealt with them over another product and the customer service was outstanding!


Liked about it 1)Small and takes up minimal space in tank
2)Different reef modes
3)wireless capability (if get the one that has wireless capabilities)
4)Easy to use and maintain
5)Cleans easy and to put back together after cleaning


Didn't like 1)I keep my reef in my room, so the bright LED's keeps me awake as I like to have a completely dark room when sleeping. An option to turn the LED"s down, or even off should be an option.
2) The price is very high, however on this particular item you get what you pay for.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By cutietwo
Jul 13, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Wow... I love these thngs! featured

Installation and Operation Installs in less than 5 minutes. Put one side in the water and the other side on the outside of the tank and secure the wires... bam its done. Getting the 2 halves to line up perfectly can be a little of a chore, but only takes a few minutes.


Performance vs. Expectations Performed better than I expected. I did not expect the flow to be as wide and gentle for the flow that they make. Definitely better than my Tunzes and far better than any Korallia or Seio. They do make a little noise until the break in, but its not too bad and will go away on its own in a couple of weeks if they are aligned properly.


Value for money I would say that the value is not quite there for me. Its hard to justify $400+ for a powerhead. They are very efficient pumps though, but the price point is elevated and hard to swallow.


Customer Support I have had mixed results with them. A couple of questions were answered quickly and expertly, but I never got a response on other questions...


Liked about it How small the form is in the tank. Powerful, and quiet once they are broken in.


Didn't like Price, I feel that they are almost pricing themselves out of reach for alot of people, and could sell alot more if the price point was lower. I also dont like the idea of having to replace a bunch of items regularly. This IMO, makes the pumps way overpriced. I can understand having to replace a shaft or impeller every few years like on my Tunzes, but not ever 6 months to a year.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Fat Tony
Jul 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Amazing amounts of flow featured

Installation and Operation Not hard at all to install. One side goes in water, other side goes outside of tank.....line them up....turn it on....align until its quiet..enjoy waves. Instructions are great. Easy to operate and easy to keep clean. I have heard people say the bushings have to be changed........but thats no big deal.


Performance vs. Expectations Holy cow. I expected it to be awesome.....it was better than awesome. I bought a older model and have upgraded the driver. Well the older model was awesome.....the new driver makes it insane! I will never buy another powerhead besides the Ecotech models. They are pricey....but wow.....they will make a huge difference in your tank. My corals look like never before since the install.


Value for money The age old saying........you get what you pay for......is true. This powerhead is expensive.....very expensive. I couldn't see myself paying 400 bucks for a powerhead.....I bought a used one and I love it to death I decided to upgrade to the MP40w through ecotech and im even happier. The price tag is large....but the waves it makes are large too, and the grin on your face will be large as well when you hook it up.


Customer Support Upgraded my powerhead through ecotech. They are awesome and helped me out a lot! I bought a used powerhead...they still let me upgrade it for normal price. Very kind of them to do considering I didnt even buy it from them or one of there retailers.


Liked about it Mega flow througout tank
I run it on about 25% and it blows my corals around in my 45 gallon.
Motor is outside of my tank
low heat
low noise
one cord
battery compatible
did i mention TONS of flow
Flow is dispersed.....nothing gets blown directly on......its more of a current than a stream.


Didn't like Front grill spokes get brittle and crack if you turn them the wrong way.
I would like to see a plastic nut at the end of the propeller shaft, or at least the option besides the metal.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Aug 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great pump

Installation and Operation Extremely easy to install. Set up is OK to do especially with the videos on YouTube with how to set it up properly. There are so many options to fit each individual tank and flow rates. Takes a while to do the full set up and fine tuning but each step is laid out easy enough to do, and after install time it's hands off and runs itself.


Performance vs. Expectations Got what I was expecting and did a lot of research before and found the reviews to be accurate as to pump expectations.


Value for money Extremely expensive, don't think it was worth $450 but then again there are no pumps like it on the market that I have found. Unfortunately if you want the flow and circulation that this pump provides you have to pay the price!


Customer Support Haven't had any real problems but enough support and help with set up and maintenance with online videos on YouTube by EcoTech.


Liked about it Loved the variable water flow rates. Makes the whole tank look amazing with the movement of corals through out entire tank now just directly in front of pump. I use in 180 gallon tank and all corals move with the waves. Even directly below pump and directly to the side of the pump.
Gets amazing amount of flow along the bottom of tank with out blowing sand around the tank at all. Creates the flow around the pump by the suction unlike other pumps. almost like there is a wave from beside and below the actual pump.
Love the fact that once you get full setup complete that pump runs itself. From night mode turning on every day at the same time to single button feeding mode and then pump resumes in 10 mins. Also that you can save settings for all wave types and quickly one button switch between each setting and that particular wave type is set for your tank, strength of wave and frequency of waves.


Didn't like No direction capabilities.
Unlike other pump`s this is not as big a deal as I thought it was going to be due to the flow created from around the pump.
But due to cost really limits placement. if pump is directly near a rock work then that limits flow created from around pump and creates dead spots.
PRICE this pump would be only pump on the market if it was slightly cheaper because two in sink work like nothing else but the price really limit`s this pump because of rock scraping blocks areas and can not afford to have two pumps.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fireandsalt
May 02, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

My First Vortech

Installation and Operation Pretty simple to install, but not as easy as other powerheads. You have to use a self-adhesive mounting point above the pump and zip tie the power cable to it. This way if the wet side of the pump drops off, the pump won't go crashing to the ground. The instructions are really good and maintenance is as simple as pulling the wetside out and cleaning it.


Performance vs. Expectations It performed a lot better than I expected because I really wasn't expecting that undertow. I mean, I've read reviews on it, but it's different in real life.


Value for money I'm not sure how to really answer this. Let's just say I wouldn't have one right now if I didn't find someone local selling theirs for almost 1/2 off.


Customer Support Never have. Heard they are 2nd to none, though.


Liked about it 1) Undertow, 2) Wide pattern, 3) Controllability


Didn't like 1) Noisy, 2) Expensive, 3) Looking forward to Neptune's Apex Controllers being able to support these. When they do, I'll possibly buy another one or two...


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By flipside
Mar 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Product

Installation and Operation Very easy to install Great instructions.


Performance vs. Expectations These things move some water!!! Can make some big waves if set up properly. I have 2 of them setup in anti sync mode short pulse in my 120 gallon which makes a good wave. I also use the night time mode wich runs the pumps at 50% constant power for a period of 10 hours


Value for money expensive but you know the saying "You get what you pay for" Its worth it!!


Liked about it Very easy to install
Has alot of different modes
Motor is outside of tank so it wont heat up the water


Didn't like I wish it had a longer cord that connects to the motor


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By MattT627
Mar 04, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Fish do surf!

Installation and Operation Extremely easy to setup. I have not had to do any maintenance to it since I got it.


Performance vs. Expectations Ecotech says that my fish will love surfing the waves. They sure do! My Chromis hover in front of it and get quite a work out.


Value for money Very expensive, $400 for a pump is pretty outrageous. I ordered this on a manic Jameson whiskey inspired binge :) However it does perform as ecotech says it will. Just keep your ere out for a used one to save yourself some $$$.


Liked about it The variable speeds are incredible. In my 90 gallon reef I typically keep it on reefcrest mode at about 80% power. I am looking forward to picking up a 2nd vortech and using the built in wireless to sync the two pumps.

Low power consumption.

The output is very gentle and wide. When I first installed the vortech it was very cool to watch detritus getting pulled up by the undertow and kicked into the water column.


Didn't like price, the next one I buy will be used.

It is rather loud, I can hear the motor wind up as it speeds up. Even after adjusting it there is a distinct whirring sound.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Kyuss
Jan 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

MP 40

General A quality product that I would not be without.


Liked about it The vortech has a very low profile which is important in a display tank.

The pumps are come with a controller unlike other high end flow pumps.

The pumps also communicate through a wireless connection so set up is very easy.

The controller offers several flow programs. Long pulse mode, Short pulse mode, Reefcrest Random mode, Constant speed mode, as well as feed mode and night time mode.

The battery back up feature is nice when you are not home and the power fails. It will allow your livestock to survive until you can hook up a generator.

The design of the pump keeps the motor out of the tank so there is no heat transfer.

The pumps are very powerful and using multiple pumps produces amazing results.

Most important is the customer service from Ecotech. I have received answers to my questions very quickly and professionally. A product is only as good as the company behind it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By PelagicMagic
Jul 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Vortec

General I purchased this powerhead as a combination random flow device and to provide water movement during a power outage. Currently I'm running a single unit on a 300-gallon system, combined with a closed-loop and a couple modded MJ units, and have no complaints other than the decreased battery longevity over the past eighteen months or so. There are some indications that some of the pumps have problems, but mine has been running flawlessly since the day I took it out of the box.

Ultimately I plan on picking up a second one here in the near future to replace the modded MJ units.


Liked about it This is a quality unit. Installation was easy and the instruction were simple. It moves a great amount of water and the easy-to-adjust, strait forward controls are nice. I've played with a few settings, but leave it at about 75% in reefcrest mode.


Didn't like I purchased the battery backup with my vortec and after a year it only powers a single pump for about four to six hours.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Hop
Apr 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Pricey, but worth it.

General I run one of these on my frag tank (48x30x12) and it keeps everything in suspension. I have been very happy with this pump and you can't beat it. Love it!


Liked about it Wide Flow Pattern, Undertow


Didn't like If it is not exactly lined up, it is noisy, but that is an easy fix.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great but expensive powerhead

General Overall the pump is excellent, minor problems with rusty magnets has been fixed.
Pump can be noisey if wet-side is not properly alligned with motor.


Liked about it External motor design, no heat added to tank.
Programmable in multiple modes to allow circulation throughout tank.
Low power consumption.
Great customer service.


Didn't like Expensive initial investment.
Old wet-side housing had problems with magnet rusting and malfunctioning.
Back-up battery is additional expense and has 6 hour charge.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By depitch
Jun 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good enough to replace multiple powerheads

General Man, these things are pretty expensive. That negative aside it's a great powerhead. It's easy to install, has a LOT of power, a lot easy to use settings, expandability and relatively low noise. I removed two K3s and have more flow at about half speed with just one of these powerheads. If you can afford it you may want to give it a try.


Liked about it Just about everything. Easy to install and set up, great power with low noise.


Didn't like The price.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By mscottring
Apr 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $375 to $459
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec286 spec311 spec319 spec324