Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.0 (12)
 Add a review

Hydor Koralia Evolution 1050

 
Koralia Evolution is an improved Koralia with higher flow and lower power consumption than traditional Koralia. The Koralia Evolution may be used on wave timers. The Koralia Evolution incorporates a re-designed shaft-less impeller system for wide and gentle water flow.


Price: $62 to $62 at 1 stores
Searched Hydor Koralia Evolution 1050 in Reviews
 

 

A powerful and versatile pump for not much money featured

Installation and Operation Koralia pumps have a magnetic mount that makes them super easy to install or change the position of it. They also have a ball and socket joint connecting them to the mount which allows for easy aiming. They come with clear instructions, but they aren't really needed.


Performance vs. Expectations This Koralia pump has all the nice features you expect, like the magnetic bracket to hold it in place, which makes moving the thing a breeze, the nice flow, strong but gentle and they don't have a tendency to suck things into them like some other power heads and pumps I've had.

One of the great things about the new models over the old is the fact that they are smaller but yet still have the same flow rate. This is great because they take up less room in your tank, and can be placed in spaces, such as behind rock, where it might have been more difficult to get an older model into.

The "1050" in the name stands for 1050 gallons per hour which is a lot of flow for such a small package.

These are also really easy to clean. They come apart quickly or because of the magnet mount can be totally removed from the tank for a real good scrub. With any pump maintenance is important and I appreciate they've made it so easy.


Value for money I don't think you can really get better value for the money out of a power head. I think for the price, an aquarist gets just a bit better quality out of a Koralia than he or she would expect. They come with a magnetic mount, swivel head, they are small, and affordable and can be used with a wave maker. I use two with my JBJ Duo and they work great for me.

If you can't afford a Vortech, then I would recommend the Koralia pumps for sure. I've used tons of power heads (too many) and these were the best until I got my Vortech.


Customer Support I've not needed customer support. I do feel the web page dedicated to Koralia isn't very good, but since you really won't need it, I suppose this doesn't matter.


Liked about it 1. Small size
2. Powerful flow
3. Magnetic mount
4. Swivel head
5. Silent start up
6. Controllable
7. Affordable
8. Reliable


Didn't like 1. New ball and socket joint not as precise as the older models


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Nice powerhead for the money. featured

Installation and Operation This thing is read to go right out of the box. Just connect the head to the base and ya done. Instructions are easy to follow though you really don't even need them, it's that simple.


Performance vs. Expectations This pump does good at moving water around. It runs at 6 watts power.


Value for money This is a great powerhead if you are just getting into the hobby. It does everything that it's supposed to. For right around $50 bucks each it's hard to go wrong.


Customer Support Their customer support is great. The early release of these powerheads had a bushing problem. The problem was when they first started up they would make noise. So if you were using this on a wave controller, then every time your powerhead kicked on during wave controller timer, then you'd get the noise. They offerered free bushing upgrades and shipping to anyone that happened to get one of the early releases.


Liked about it I liked the price of this unit, really easy on the pocketbook compared to other reefing equipment out there. It has a much smaller footprint compared to the older K4's. Another thing I liked about this was the ball joint system, allowing you to move the powerhead around to get it precisely where you want it. Easy to take apart and reassemble making cleaning on this a breeze.


Didn't like I didn't like the fact that the cord is fairly short making it hard to get to the wall or powerstrip. It says it puts out a cone shaped flow, but I would say it's more of a narrow beam. I have noticed that I have a few dead spots in my tank that is not getting flow. I can change that with aquascaping, but I shouldn't have to.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By br0ken68
Sep 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

KORALIA EVOLUTION 1050 featured

Installation and Operation This little pump was extrememly easy to install. It was a matter of attaching the base to the pump, placing it in the aquarium and plugging it in. The instructions were limited and I did not find anything about troubleshooting. One of the two pumps I purchased did not start when plugged in. There were instructions on how to dismantle the pump and I did that. I put it back together and it started no problem. With the instructions on how to take it apart - maintenance should be a breeze.


Performance vs. Expectations As usual the koralia is a great little pump. It provides great water flow and the new evolution is quite a bit smaller than its predecessor. I'm very pleased.


Value for money Great value for the money. And the store I bought them from had them on sale.


Customer Support I have not had to call the company for support.


Liked about it I like the power, simplicity and size of this pump. I do not havea sump so all of my filtration and circulation is visible in my tank. The smaller the better for me.


Didn't like I did not like the fact that one of the two pumps I purchased did not start immediately. That is the second time that has happened. I wish the power cord was longer so that it was easier to get a drip loop. And the documentation that comes with the pump should include troubleshooting.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aprilstory
Jul 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Cheap but Effective

Installation and Operation The Koralia are plug and play, no instructions necessary. Every few months I take the powerhead out of my tank for cleaning. I'll run it in a vinegar/water solution for a bit, then take a toothbrush to it.


Performance vs. Expectations The Evos perform exactly as advertised. I've always read good reviews on all Koralia powerheads for good reason.


Value for money The Evos are fairly priced. I would recommend them to someone not looking to spend a fortune on some decent water movement.


Customer Support I have not had a reason to contact costumer support. However,I have heard nothing but great things about their willingness help.


Liked about it 1. Strong yet spread out flow
2. Magnet mounting system is a definite plus
3. Pivoting mount for changing the powerhead's direction is nice
4. The price is relatively cheap


Didn't like The only complaint I have is when unplugging and plugging back in, they have a tendency to run backward. I have to unplug it for bit and plug it back in until it runs correctly.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By dirtycontour
Nov 30, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Lasted a year or less

Installation and Operation Installation was extremely easy,


Performance vs. Expectations I purchased two of these, one arrived defective and the re seller would not take it back, stating that it was performing just fine. The defective one died about 9 months after installation. The other one died at around 12 months after install. This all despite monthly removal of the powerheads and cleaning them with RO water.


Value for money I will consider something else next time.


Customer Support I never dealt directly with the manufacturer, perhaps I should have with the initial defective unit. I will be selecting a different pump for replacement.


Liked about it cost was good, ease of installation, aesthetically pleasing,


Didn't like reliability, longevity.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By won4all
Oct 30, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great pump for the price

Installation and Operation Assembly was self explanatory. No need to consult the instructions. When I did look at the instructions (to figure out what a optional part was for) they were somewhat lacking on the explanation of what the part did. As for ease of operation aim it and plug it in. Maintenance, just clean off the grill every week or so. Also the front grill comes off via clips so there is no need to pry apart with a screwdriver like my tunze 6025s (not to .


Performance vs. Expectations Works great moves a lot of water (at least for my 55gal). Runs quiet and magnet/suction cup mount is quite adequate. Compared to tunze mounts they are wimpy but then again I don't have to worry about getting my fingers sandwich between two killer magnets.


Value for money Overall, construction is solid and it's affordable compared to similar pumps.


Customer Support I did not deal with the company


Liked about it Price, quite affordable
Construction, overall these pump seem very well thought out
Quiet, most prop pumps are quiet though


Didn't like Big (at least compared to my tunzes)
Doesn't swivel full 180 degrees but then again how often do you need this (tunzes will do this FYI)


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bpatrick
Jan 24, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Fine pump for the price.

Installation and Operation I like the Magnetic mount. Quick and easy install plus the advantage of easy movement when making flow changes. I did not have to use any instruction that was provided. This pump is self explanitory, just stick it in the water and plug it in. The ball joint is an added benafit, I think it is a must have.


Performance vs. Expectations performs great going on several months of use with the same operating capabilities like when it was new. This pump has a great amount of flow, and not choppy but smooth.


Value for money Could not ask for a better product for the dollar.


Customer Support Have not had any issues with the product thus far, have not had to contact customer support.


Liked about it Very versatile item. Very easy operation. Very powerfull magnetic mount, it stays were you put it. Smooth even waterflow with no noise.


Didn't like Could have made a longer power cord. That is the only thing I can think of when it comes to a dislike.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Treasures of the
Dec 21, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great Product - But Forget Customer Service!

Installation and Operation I found the pumps to work great. I had contacted customer support for the new style bushing for use with a wavemaker. It took nearly a month to get it, but I did finally receive it.


Performance vs. Expectations I love the pumps. Great flow and with the new bushing they worked great on the wavemaker.


Value for money Yes, worth the money.


Customer Support First contact took a month for me to get the replacement bushing. When the front grill broke on both pumps after three attempts to reach someone I finally had to buy replacement pumps.


Liked about it The magnet is very powerful
The flow was great
Liked the way they can be steared to where you want the flow due to a swivel


Didn't like Poor customer service. The web site should have a place to order replacement parts.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Saltygal
Aug 22, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Best Flow for the Buck!

Installation and Operation This pump was so easy to install, just pull it out of the box, pop the head in and adjust it in the tank to your liking. Magnet on the outside so no unsightly suction cup to get brittle and break over time. Its quiet and moves flow across my whole tank (6' long FOwLR) with just 1, I cant even imagine how much more it will be with the second installed!


Performance vs. Expectations I wasn't expecting it to move flow across the full length of the tank and was quite surprised when it did. Performs better than I had expected.


Value for money You know the saying "You get what you pay for"? Well, when it comes to this pump, I got more than I expected. Works perfect for what I have and needed.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Simple easy installation, quiet running pump and best bag for the buck.


Didn't like Only bad I have about it is the short power cord, I am unable to do a drip loop.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Quik Z06
Jul 18, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

NICE FLOW

Installation and Operation The installation was a very easy 3-4 step process. The instruction manual was very helpful, if needed, to assist in the installation.


Performance vs. Expectations This is my first powerhead, but from what I've researched and saw the evolution provides great flow, easy to maintain, and it is silent while operating. Adjusting the powerhead is also simple because of its design.


Value for money This product is definitely worth its value. I have a 55g and the 1050 has provided an ample amount of flow.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it The first thing I like about this product is its easy installation. Second thing I liek about this product is the effectiveness. Lastly would be the minimum maintenance the evolution needs to perform.


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By pbs1914bcc
Sep 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

good stuff!!

Installation and Operation totally cake, suction cup it where you want it in the tank, put the mag on the other side of the glass, plug it in and watch your tank whirl up.


Performance vs. Expectations i kinda thought it was weak when i put my hand in front of it, but then when it got flowing it was definitely much better then the powerheads i had before and those were not rated much less then these two, they have a very wide flow output, awesome water movement!


Value for money i think eighty bucks for two was a complete steal!


Customer Support no, heard from multiple people that they cust support is awesome but not yet had to contact them...


Liked about it -very strong mount to the glass(suction cup and magnet, be careful you dont put the magnets together without something between them!)
-awesome water movement
-nearly silent


Didn't like -the ball joints could be designed different to allow for a wider angle
-would be really nice to have power cable stay outside the tank, like the echotechs
-would also be really nice to have some sort of built in timers on them


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By joejoe104
Jul 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Disappointed!

Installation and Operation Easy install and operation.


Performance vs. Expectations Great flow as long as you don't put it on a wavemaker. On a wavemaker they begin to run in reverse and break the front grille allowing fish to be sucked in and diced. People say customer service will replace the bushing and grille for free because of this known problem but good luck getting a response.


Value for money No


Customer Support No reply from customer service after several attempts to contact them.


Liked about it price
flow
appearance


Didn't like running in reverse on a wavemaker
no customer service
power cord in the water


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By DaCentaur
Dec 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $62 to $62
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec289 spec311 spec318