Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (9)
 Add a review

Aqueon Circulation Pump 500

 
This powerhead is built for exceptional flow for a wide spread current for all aquaria.


Price: $42 to $62 at 2 stores
Searched Aqueon Circulation Pump 500 in Reviews
 

 

Great little pump for the money featured

Installation and Operation Very simple installation, simply place it on clean glass in the spot you want it and flip the suction cup bar down to engage the suction cup and viola! Some people have had problems with the suction cup but I have not. Been in the tank nearly 6 months and it has never failed or fallen off.


Performance vs. Expectations Admittedly I was not expecting much from this pump for the price and from the company that makes it however I was surprised this time. Pump has run 24-7 for nearly 6 months flawlessly. Only thing I notice about this pump is the cone of flow is a bit narrower than other pumps, so it a great little pump to get rid of dead spots


Value for money Great value considering it is still working perfectly, no problems compared to other pumps I have that are nearly double the price and have not lasted. Great buy for the budget.


Customer Support Have not had to deal with customer support and I doubt I will have to. If I get a year out of this pump I will be more than happy.


Liked about it Dependable
Easy to install
Cheap


Didn't like Small cone of flow compared to a wider one.
Nothing else I dislike


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By SeaCow
Feb 23, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Quick replacement, but better than expected! featured

Installation and Operation Very easy installation! You basically wont need the instructions if you have had a GPS before, same concept. They say you should clean the area on the inside of the tank before applying. Even though I did not, it stuck to the glass solidly.


Performance vs. Expectations I bought this because one of the pairs of my Koralia Nano 425's broke on me in my 20 gallon long. I was expecting that this would be a cheapo piece of equipment because I've never heard any good reviews about it, but I was very surprised that it was way more powerful than expected. I placed it close to the surface and saw the upper level of my sand start to stir! The way these are designed (suctioning to the wall) you get a lot more mobility with these. The head doesnt move if you tug on the cord, especially when the cord is locked in place.


Value for money Considering the Koralias were about 38 dollars and these were 30...I'd say you are undoubtedly getting your moneys worth with these. More flow, better mounting system(in my eyes), better at holding it's desired direction than the Nano. Plus it's a few bucks cheaper.


Customer Support Have never dealt with this company before, yet alone for this product.


Liked about it I really like the suction cup mounting mechanism, the increased flow, and the ability for the head to stay in its desired position.


Didn't like I wish it was as silent as my Koralia (though the Aqueon is not noisy, it seems to have a quiet, low hum). Due to the mounting design, it sticks out a little farther than i'm used to...no biggie. The cord containment system is kind of comber-sum at times.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By bubby317
Jan 06, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Worst powerhead I have ever bought featured

Installation and Operation Installation seems like it would be easy, simply unpackage, insert in tank clip down your suction cup and viola you have flow.....but its not like that. I cleaned the area of glass that the suction cup was supposed to attatch to and installed the pump to the side of the aquarium, 30 seconds later it pops off, I went through this process about 6-7 times and on the last time, broke the connecting rod that attatched to the suction cup. Needless to say I broke it during installation and made it almost impossible to use.


Performance vs. Expectations No, the suction cup is not enough to hold the powerhead on the side of the aquarium. It will not stay put and its hard to adjust if you needed to.


Value for money poor, I would not waste my money on this product again, I will stick to Ecotech, Koralia, or Tunze.


Customer Support They were not able to help me with the pump since I broke it trying to fix it in the first place. I was somewhat dissapointed my investment had lasted only an hour or so in my tank.


Liked about it It puts out nice flow when it is stuck to the wall properly.
Shaftless propellor is sweet, and would really make it easy to clean if needed.
Its not a koralia....and its not the normal round egg like powerhead that we are all used to, its square and offers a different look than the other brands


Didn't like Connecting rod is a sorry excuse of a support for this pump, a little bit more beefy supporting system would make this a killer pump.
customer service was lacking
Didn't last long enough for me to write a more through review.....im letting you guys down. I did however attempt to fix it with epoxy only to weaken the plastic more and cause the plastic to become even more brittle and break again.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By fihsboy
Oct 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Powerheads!! featured

Installation and Operation I had heard alot about these powerheads and wanted to try them. I had the chance at the LFS to compare a similar Korilla and one of these Aqueon powerheads and the output of these Aqueon powerheads is amazing. They are very well constructed and seem very durable and well built. I cannot use the magnetic Korillas on my acrylic because it is 1 inch thick. These are suction and they hold very tight after locking it into place.


Performance vs. Expectations I had heard that they where good and I was not disappointed. Everything about it was good. More power than expected, can be aimed anyplace you want it and it holds very tight to the wall.


Value for money Compared to similar powerheads in the same price range this one in my opinion is a far better value. I think they will be making a strong appearance in the reefing community.


Customer Support I have not needed them.


Liked about it As stated above, the quality is great. Great value. Very powerful.


Didn't like The only thing that I could say that could use some improvement is there is a small clip on each side of the powerhead that holds the wire into place but it does not hold the wire that tight. Not really a big issue once it is in place and left alone.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Oct 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

great affordable powerhead

Installation and Operation The installation and operation could not be easier. Takes seconds to install. I like the suction cup because my glass is too thick for magnets. Holds firmly in place and you can position the head in pretty much any position that you want to. Easy to take apart to clean.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs great. Great water flow. I don't know if its pushing exactly 500gph like they claim, but I'm sure that its pretty close to it. Took back my Koralia 250 in favor of the aqueon 500.


Value for money Compared to other brands such as the Hydor Koralia 250 which cost $39.99, this by far outperforms it at about $8 less. You get double the flow for less money. Good solid construction.


Customer Support Have not had any issues or problems with my powerhead yet.


Liked about it Great price. Great construction. Great performance. Suction cup instead of magnet. 2.5W power consumption.


Didn't like A lot bigger footprint than similar products like the Koralia.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bigreefer420
Jan 06, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

So Far So Good

Installation and Operation Very easy to install. Just like a suction cup for a GPS. I had no problem with placement in my 54 gal corner tank.


Performance vs. Expectations I purchased these because I have two Koralia's that the front screen broke and their customer service has not responded to me (its been a week now). I had the pumps connected to a jbj ocean pulse wave maker for several months. These aqueons seem to be working ok. I will have to give it a bit more time as to how well they will hold up.


Value for money Yes, I am satisfied.


Customer Support I have not dealt with the company yet.


Liked about it Easy to install. Seem to circulate the water just as well as the koralias I had.


Didn't like I do hear slight clicking with the wavemaker when they go on, but I heard that with the Koralias too.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Saltygal
Aug 22, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great performance

Installation and Operation Very easy installation. The suction attachment is great. No messing with magnets on the outside of the glass, just place in tank and fasten suction cup. Power head stays in place firmly(considering you tighten the joints enough). I seen these at my LFS and the key selling point for me what the suction cup attachment. LFS employee suctioned one to the wall of one of there displays and told me to try to pull it off.....that was not happening, fells like they are glued on to the glass.


Performance vs. Expectations Performance is great, I have two of the 1156 model and they are extremely powerful. Propeller, and shroud work great together channeling flow in a strong stream. Performance was better than expected.


Value for money Great value for the money. I won't buy another model power head again. Defiantly bang for the buck.


Customer Support Have not needed to contact customer support.


Liked about it Powerful, compact design, suction cup for fastening, almost no assembly. Easy to clean, power of flow is consistent over time.


Didn't like Could use a longer power cord.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By reefkeeperSR
Mar 14, 2011
 
Last updated: March 22, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great powerhead

Installation and Operation I like these more than koralias. They are very easy to set up, it has a nice clamp that suctions to the inside glass of your aquarium and locks the postion of the 360 rotation head tightly. The flow for each sized aquarium is a bit higher than the koralias. These are a wonderful value for the money. The noise level is extremely quiet, they aren't completely silent, but they are not noisey. I like these powerheads because they have a widespread flow yet circulate the water for a long distance in the water.


Performance vs. Expectations More people need to buy these, they are relatively new and not many people know about them yet. But once you get them, you'll be glad you did instead of the koralia because the performance is more powerful in my opinion.


Value for money These powerheads are the same price as other brand name pumps. But the value is much better.


Liked about it I liked the strong current that the pumps give. If your looking for more flow in your aquarium, these will give it to you. They are the same size in comparison to the koralia powerheads. I also like the clamp tight suction that attaches to the inside of the glass. It's a 360 degree dirction pump, and the clamping makes the direction stable so the head doesn't drop.


Didn't like This powerhead is great and I have no complaints!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
Apr 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Nice, get 700+ tho

Installation and Operation Easy to install


Performance vs. Expectations super silent


Liked about it 500 was too focused, 700 is lower speed but greater amount


Didn't like the 500 broke because it's 'ball n socket' type of attachment to the suction cup and super thin by the base. the 700 has a screw on socket, so it stays and you tighten the nut to clamp down the position, whereas i'm sure the ball n socket on the 500 would have worn out if I hadn't snapped it off.. And they're cheap!


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kungpaoshizi
Feb 16, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $42 to $62
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec592 spec311 spec319