Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.9 (30)
 Add a review

Coralife Digital Thermometer

 
Thermometer 2-1/4" x 1-1/2" by Coralife. Attach this compact device to the side of your aquarium for accurate temperature readings


Price: $13 to $13 at 1 stores
Searched Coralife Digital Thermometer in Reviews
 

 

Why not get it? featured

Comments With all tanks, fresh, marine, and reef, temperature is a huge factor in the health of the animals we choose to keep. Why not get a thermometer that keeps very accurate temperature? At the very affordable price you can buy one of these it seems a silly thing not to just get it. It reads your temperature to the decimal point and the probe can be placed where you want it and you can still read the temperature. With the old fashioned thermometers the suction cups eventually get stiff and loose suction. They are also glass so can break and cause problems.


Liked about it 1. Totally accurate to the decimal point.
2. Very affordable and the battery lasts long so that doesn't add to your expense much.
3. Probe is on a long wire so it can be placed anywhere in the tank, the display unit is kept outside of the tank so it doesn't tank up room and can easily be read without distortion from the glass and water.


Didn't like 1. Even though the batter lasts forever, and the replacements are cheap, you still have to change them, so I would put this down as a didn't like, though it really is more like a don't care.
2. The probe is a wire, so if you want to drop it behind rock it can be a little difficult to worm it behind, a stiff probe would make that easier, however that would also make it less flexible so, you decide.
3. The display isn't back-lit so depending on the ambient light you may have difficulty seeing it. I don't, but if the rest of your room is dark, you might.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A must have!!! featured

Comments Before we bought this thermometer we had an in tank thermometer that hung on our overflow. Unfortunately it was metal and the salt mad it rust. We had been wanting to get a digital thermometer to get more accurate readings, so what better time?! Aside from more accurate readings, I think the best part about this thermometer is that it is so easy to put in our sump or move from tank to tank. We currently have it in our sump and was easy to install with a small piece of velcro. The switch to go from F to C is easy to use for those who want to see both measurments. And because it is so small, it does not get in the way under the tank and I can easily reach under, unvelcro and see the temperature or take it to another tank to use it.


Liked about it I like that it is more accurate than an in tank thermometer. I will never have a non-digital thermometer again!
Great size, too! Big enough to read easily, but small enough to make it portable. This means I can take it from one tank to another or even to a friends house to let them borrow it.
Can use in the sump. This is probably my favorite feature....that it doesn't have to be seen all the time.


Didn't like So far I haven't found anything I don't like about it, but if I were to change one thing about it.....maybe a light up screen for easier reading inside the stand.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Nice and cheap

Comments The little thermometers are really convenient. The come with suction cups so you can place them anywhere you want. The thermometer is fairly accurate, but not perfect. If you want a perfect thermometer then go buy a $300 one. These are a simple nice thermometer. The only thing is, you can buy these for $15 witha coral ice sticker on them...or go to eBay and buy one for $3 shipped without the sticker. They are the same thing! I got one off of eBay for 2.67 and it is the same thing. Very glad I didn't overpay for something this simple.


Liked about it - fairly accurate
-convenient
- water resistant


Didn't like -don't overpay


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Plugger999
Apr 20, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Good and not a fortune to buy

Comments With me a big deal has always been knowing exacts with my systems.
One particular is temperature, I live in Phoenix and in the summer my room temp is always around 78 degrees.
This can become problematic with my Reef temperature.
It is good to have a tool that is accurate, fool proof, and affordable.


Liked about it I like that it is compact and easily put just about anywhere in the tank.
Also it has a long enough cord so you can get the Probe behind rock structures without gumming up the looks of you tank.
Very accurate when I have compared with more traditional type thermometers.
Easy to use, and easy to read.


Didn't like The only thing that I did not like about this produce is the fact that with age the digital display becomes week.
Not because of manufacture issues, but just normal aging.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Treasures of the
Apr 17, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Cheap would not buy again

Comments You get what you pay for. It was good for what you pay. I would not pay more than $10. This thermometer is cheap. The temp was off and it went dead the first time it got a little wet. I thermometer for a aquarium should be a little water resistant but this one is not. We spend a lot of money on our tanks and livestock so I would invest in a better thermometer.


Liked about it Cheap
Small
Can be placed anywhere


Didn't like The first time it got wet it stopped working. It did not get extremely wet but it stoped working. My thoughts are that a aquarium thermometer should be a little water proof.
Temp was off
The display is hard to read in a dark room.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By phill3415
Nov 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

The Beginner's Digital Thermometer

Comments The Coraline Digital Thermometer is what I'd call the beginners thermometer. It is compact, easily placed where you want it to be. It has a big display for easy readings and is able to switch back and forth from F to C readings. It is a simple unit that can be moved around for convenience and use.


Liked about it Easily readable display
Wire sending unit is easy to place
Compact enough to stick just about anywhere


Didn't like The suction cups leave something to be desired, they continually lose suction after a couple months use.
The screen has no back-light so if the room is darker, it makes it hard to read.
These units tend to be off slightly in their readings; however, once the variation has been determined, they are still accurate to use (just have to + or - the amt off).


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By JeeperReefer
Oct 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Extremely Nice Rip Off

Comments These are great products, but here is a little insider info. Manufacturing cost on these is under 1 dollars.
So why are some of us paying 20+
Do not buy this from coralife, but it directly from the manufacturer online. They are sold without the coralife tag for about 3 dollars shipped. They are the exact same as the coralife ones, because coralife does not make these.
I have half a dozen and a coralife one, opened them up, exactly the same.


Liked about it Reasonably accurate. Not dead on to the decimal point (unless my 300 dollar diagnostic temp probe is off :p) but very close. They are also reasonably water resistant, resists spills.


Didn't like Nothing bad, unless you paid way too much for it because it had a coralife sticker on it.
Like I mentioned before (because i have to write a certain number of words), these are very cheaply made, and dont get ripped off buying these from one of the many brands that just puts their name on it. Buy them on ebay or amazon, for a few bucks. They are the EXACT same.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Solace87
Aug 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Simple little thermometer good for backup info

Comments This is a simple thermometer that reads consistently, if not quite accurately. I've had it for a few years and it's worked well enough. Compared to a few other thermometers I have, it seems to be a bit off, but I don't know that it can be calibrated and it reads consistently per the range that it's in.


Liked about it This is a small unit that has a decent little mounting suction cup. It should stay in place and won't give you too much grief. The display is clear and easy to read.


Didn't like As already mentioned, this unit may not be terribly accurate. It does read precisely (meaning the same temps are displayed), though I'd use a more accurate thermometer to know how good yours is. A $15 lab grade thermometer is nice to have on hand for these purposes.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Worked till...

Comments Worked great until I couldn't get the suction cup to stick to the side of the tank anymore, which is when I would set on-top on my light fixture. It still worked great, however I eventually knocked it into the tank by mistake a couple times and it eventually stopped working. I was however able to breath some life back into it by opening it up and drying it out and cleaning the connectors, however the LCD screen never worked quite right again.


Liked about it -Did its job
-Accurate from what I could tell
-Took multiple dips into the tank before dying


Didn't like -Suction cups stopped working after what seemed like a few months (both the one that held the probe in the tank and the one that held the screen to the outside of the tank)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Maverick986
May 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

good buy for the convenience

Comments i have two separate digital thermometers from different brands. one coralife and the other is a off brand but they are both accurate withing a couple .1 degree. it is easy to read and setup. it only takes a second to switch temp readings if dropped in a different temp water. mine didn't come with a suction cup but i can attest to the long battery life.


Liked about it very east to read at a glance as you are passing by the tank. accurate to a couple .1Th of a degree. easily removed and changes temp quickly to test other water


Didn't like i wish i would have gotten a suction cup and maybe a glowing display to read in the dark


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By alcorn128
Mar 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Cheap and Easy To Read Mercury Alternative

Comments I have had a few of these units since getting into the hobby. They are great and they are not so great. The biggest "plus" is that they are quick and easy to read. They are also easy to install... as in, a "no-brainer." A huge negative to me is that it was always a couple-to-a-few degrees off. I went back to a glass thermometer because it's simply more accurate... plus I have a couple of controllers w/temp probes for quick/glance readings.


Liked about it 1) Display is easy to read, 2) Very easy to install, 3) Great battery life


Didn't like 1) "Suck"tion cup, 2) the probe is a coralline magnet, 3) probe cord should be longer, 4) mine were always 2-3 degrees off.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By flipside
Feb 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not impressed

Comments Its a cheap thermometer so I cant complain too much.


Liked about it I like the look of it and the size. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.


Didn't like Suction cup lasted about 2 days, Its 2 - 3 degrees off. My glass thermometer is way more accurate and it was 3 dollars.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By aarondu
Feb 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Coralife Digital Thermometer

Comments Great little thermometer. I find it to be pretty accurate +/- degree. I tested it against several different kinds and it came out on top. Of course the floating glass thermometer is probobly the most accurate but not a good idea to use cause it will end up breaking. They are also hard to read. Digital feature is great. It does not like to be handled. It will go a little crazy and will need to be reset. Just press the power button.


Liked about it cheap, small and long battery life span


Didn't like probe cord not long enough


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

perfect for me

Comments This little piece shouldn't be over looked because of its low price. i have had mine for nearly a year and it is still reading super accurate. i used my friends digital thermometer to test it and it is within a tenth of a degree everytime. also, i haven't had to change the battery and mine is constantly on...it is great to have a temp reading available at any moment. the suction cup is useless however, use velcro


Liked about it Price, small size, inexpensive, accurate


Didn't like Suction cup wouldn't hold after the first few weeks on mine, so i have a piece of velcro holding it in place. if you grab the readout it will spaz out and turn off, the remedy is touching the power button and turning it back on.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Very Happy someone invented this!

Comments This unit is hook up to my BioCube 14 and works very well. This to me is way better and safer then having a glass Thermometer floating around the tank. So fare its been on my tank for 3 weeks and has the same accurate temp that's on my chiller. One other thing I love about this unit is it's so easy to read. No in-between line as other thermometer have and trying to guess the temp for those who have a hard time reading old fashion thermometer. This one is a must have for any fish tank.


Liked about it Easy to read. Fahrenheit to Celsius reading option.


Didn't like Wish the cord could be longer


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By J-LUIS
Oct 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not the most acuate but the price is right

General This thermometer is close to the actual temperature. The one that I bought seemed to be a couple degrees off from the chiller thermometer. I never checked it against a cup of ice cold water which would be a good idea if you plan on buying this thermometer. The price on the other hand is a selling point most venders seem to be selling it for about ten bucks and it is alot easier to read then sick on take types which will be highly inaccurate if you are using an acrylic tank.


Liked about it Cheap and close to right tempature.


Didn't like Not the most acuate thermometer and the suction cups are usless after a few months.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By quick_murdoc
Apr 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Worth the money

Comments The coralife digital thermometer performs exactly as you would expect. It keeps the tanks temperature right there for easy monitoring.


Liked about it It's not too bulky or too small, For the price its the best value, Suction cups actually work


Didn't like no back light


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By richieg0324
Oct 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not worth the money

Comments Mine seems to be about 2 or 3 degrees off from the glass thermometer as well as the stick on thermometer


Liked about it Easy to place and set up


Didn't like Not very accurate


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By swnoobie
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Good for the price

Comments Installation was simple, I didn't find any difficulty in mounting it. I have 2 currently. One in the sump for my 90G reef and one in my 12G nano. I have tested the accuracy by taking both and putting them in one spot and they both read relatively the same. While others have complained about accuracy issues, I haven't experienced any of my own.


Liked about it Easy to install
Good price


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jagator
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

OK

Comments performs as expected. good value for the money


Liked about it like the cord with probe. I keep probe in my sump
small
comes with suction cup and place for screw to hang in back


Didn't like poor battery life
very sensitive to water
would really like it if it was water tight- at least water resistant


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By likemike99
Jul 23, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great thermometer...

Comments Great thermometer for the money. I use one on my nano and it works very well. The battery lasts for a good while and the temp reading is accurate.


Liked about it Very easy to use, works well, great for smaller tanks, reasonably priced.


Didn't like Suction cup for mount tends to fail over time, I replaced mine with velcro.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Big D
Jul 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Good thermometer

General The suction cup is no good. the thermometer is awesome. I love it, but it could use a better mounting idea.


Liked about it Accurate


Didn't like Hard to mount


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

love it

General Very nice thermometer. Battery(s) last for a long time and constantly reads and changes when temperature does.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By cutietwo
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Ok product

General This is an easy to setup and use thermometer with a easy to read digital readout. My only issue is accuracy. I have owned two, and both have been somewhat inconsistent in reading accuratly when compaired to a glass thermometer. In some settings, a FOWLR for example, this probably doesn't mean much as the temp variation was +/- 1-1.5 degrees. In a reef tank, this variation might be a little more important, especially when SPS are involved.


Liked about it Easy to use and read


Didn't like Suction cups don't hold for very long


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By drdude05
Jun 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Lil thermometer

General Great lil Thermometer for all tanks


Liked about it It is a small thermometer with a suction cup to stick to tank


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By clowninaround
Jun 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

I'd Rather a glass thermometer

General It was never correct. Checked with a laser thermometer and it was off on average 10 degrees. Save your money and go with a glass thermometer or spend the money on a pinpoint!


Liked about it Small


Didn't like Accuracy


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great little Thermometer

General i think that this is great thermometer i have two one for my big tank and one for my nano any they are pretty accurate. i like the nice easy to read display also.


Liked about it its cheap nice display


Didn't like +- 1.5 degrees, but not that big of deal to knock down it rating.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Gabriel
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

As advertised...4 years and still going strong

General Very simple to use. Battery on mine has been replaced once after 4 years and while not able to calibrate, I have found it has not lost calibration with my other temp probes in the sysem which are far more advanced. It serves it's purpose and works as advertised.


Liked about it Easy, basic, small and portable.


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By superwizbang
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not accurate

General I had one for a while and kept wondering why my tank seemed to run at 84 degrees. Well after a while I put it in a cup of ice water and it read 36 degrees. It should have read 32.2-32.5


Liked about it It looks good and can be mounted


Didn't like It is totally inaccurate


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ckusnierek
Mar 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not bad!

General easy to read display, seems to take accurate readings, comes with batteries loaded, compact design, inexpensive, long probe wire.


Liked about it it is better than the stick-on thermometers, no squinting to figure out what shade of 'beige' is the right one.

Seems pretty accurate.


Didn't like suction cups are not very strong, but they aren't critical for use.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By icebear
Mar 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec525