Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (7)
 Add a review

Salifert Nitrate Test Kit Featured

 
Salifert Nitrate Test Kit 60 Tests by Salifert. Salifert NO3 Profi Test nitrate test kit for marine aquariums


Price: $8 to $72 at 15 stores
Searched Salifert Nitrate Test Kit in Reviews
 

 

Salifert hardly ever is a disapointment

Comments The Nitrate test kit from Salifert is again another great test kit put on the market from Salifert. With it's high range and low range scale you can feel very confident of reading Nitrates down to < 1 ppm.


Liked about it - Accurate readings for the low end. Where other test kits say 0 ppm I can measure .3 ppm.


Didn't like - As always with Salifert a little costly for the kit.
-Getting the measuring spoon level is difficult.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mark_Winn
Mar 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $72
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Essential test kit - Salifert Nitrate

Comments Buy the best for nitrate testing. Salifert is more expensive but you get what you pay for: reliability and accuracy. Nitrates, harmful to tank livestock, must be kept very, very low (preferably at zero) and stable in a healthy, cycled tank; this nitrate test kit is essential. The Salifert nitrate test is easy to use. The test uses a graduated cylinder for the water sample to which you add measured spoonfuls of two reagents, wait three minutes and read the color results in indirect daylight. Higher levels are read looking down from the top of the container; lower readings are read from the side and divided by 10. The results are accurate for a wide range of nitrate readings.


Liked about it Accurate and easy to use for a variety of nitrate levels. Salifert's nitrate kit is the best nitrate test for a cycled tank. It stores easily in the Salifert box taking up little space.


Didn't like Best read in consistent, indirect sunlight and, face it, some day's weather doesn't cooperate. Salifert is a more expensive kit (although its value is excellent). The test gives a different reading if not timed properly (i.e., not as accurate if read after 5 minutes instead of 3).


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Mar 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $72
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Salifert Nitrate

Comments Simple to use. The only issue is that it is based on a color chart, which can be interpreted differently based on your particular lighting. The color is meant to be checked under sunlight. That being said, it tends to be a very accurate test. Nitrate is not a normal test I perform, but it's a great test during cycling or "emergency" conditions.


Liked about it Easy to use.
Accurate.


Didn't like Not titration based.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By wharyat
Jan 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $72
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Great kit.

Comments This is definitely my favorite Nitrate test kit. The best thing about it is its really easy to read the color if you have a reading above 10ppm. But if you have a reading of less than 10 ppm you can look through the side of the test vile and divide your result by 10. So if you look from the side and it looks like 50ppm its really 5ppm. Which is absolutely the way to go if your levels are that low.


Liked about it You get a good number of tests per box. You can look through the side for a low range test. And the test is simple to perform, and isn't time consuming.


Didn't like It would be nice if it was a little cheaper, but its worth every penny in my opinion.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Oct 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $72
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Another great Salifert Test

Comments Like all the other Saliferts tests you get what you pay for.
If you want to be sure you are getting the most accurate test invest in Saliferts.

Magnesium is so much more important than people give it credit for and if you are keeping stony corals and not monitoring magnesium you really should it is very critical in coral calcification.

Yes they are pricey so I do not use them exclusively. But I do keep them in my test kit storage and use randomly to ensure the cheaper kit's readings are consistent with Saliferts

All in all a great product and a must have...


Liked about it simple to use
extremely accurate
easy to read color chart


Didn't like it's hard to tell when the measuring spoon is "level"
price They are not cheap.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2009
 
Last updated: May 31, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $72
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

good nitrate kit, sure beats a test strip

Comments this is a very simple kit to use; add 1ml of water and 1 scoop of two different powders, then let it sit for a few minutes. I've always felt that the colors are very easy to read (and very clear when there's no color, meaning no nitrates in the water). The kit is relatively cheap and gives me a lot more confidence than any test strip or other ways of measuring nitrate.


Liked about it Simple, relatively in expensive, and a good brand. I use only salifert kits for my test kits, and this one is employed often. I've been very satisfied with this product.


Didn't like Nothing in particular. The volume of water needed for the test is surprisingly low, so use in the larger vial is a bit odd, but it's never really taken anything away from the test kit in my experience.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Apr 27, 2009
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $72
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Accurate and reliable

General Salifert test kits are one of the most reliable and trusted brand of test kits currently available.


Liked about it I've been using Salifert test kits for years and they are one of the few brands of test kits that I trust to provide accurate results every time.


Didn't like They are higher cost than other brands, but that is the price you pay for having an accurate test kit.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By pogodzib
May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $72
Compare Prices
at 15 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec407