Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (13)
 Add a review

Salifert Magnesium Test Kit Featured

 
Salifert Magnesium Test Kit 50 Tests by Salifert. Salifert Mg Profi Test magnesium test kit for marine aquariums


Price: $7 to $44 at 15 stores
Searched Salifert Magnesium Test Kit in Reviews
 

 

Great Test Kit

Comments The Mg test from Salifert is tops in my book. As with other Salifert test kits, you get what you pay for. This kit is worth the money.


Liked about it I like the accuracy of the kit. I never second guess my results. Although I'm not a big fan of powder reagents, Salifert comes with a rounded "spoon" which makes it easy to scoop up the powder and dump it in the vial. I switched to Salifert from Sera. I was happy with Sera except the "shovel" they use for the powder. The scoop is a big plus for me. The color change is obvious, so there is no guesswork involved. Instructions are easy to follow. I also like the marked syringe; it eliminates counting drops.


Didn't like As mentioned above, I do not like the powder but the rounded scoop makes it easy to use. I recommend the Salifert Mg test kit.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dirtycontour
Nov 18, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Salifert is the best

Comments The magnesium test kit is like most all other salifert kits: titration. This results in a very accurate reading of the magnesium levels. The only downside to this test is that its only 50 tests. Many people have been complaining about the color change being hazy but all you have to do is place the vial on a white piece of paper to make the color change stand out. Then you will never get inaccurate results. Instructions are super easy to understand.


Liked about it Accurate
Easy to read instructions
Obvious color change (with white background)


Didn't like 50 tests is not to many. Although if you do test weekly this test will almost last a year.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Salifert Magnesium

Comments My favorite magnesium test on the market, it's the only one I use. Simple to use, quick & painless to perform, very accurate and titration based. The color change is not very prominent and tends to be a touch too gradual for me.


Liked about it Simple and fast test.
Titration based.
Accurate.


Didn't like Color change could be a little more pronounced.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wharyat
Jan 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

As with all salifert test kits they are great

Comments these test kits are on the expensive side however they are accurate and give you the confidence that you are providing you animals the correct chemical evironment through testing regularly with there products


Liked about it The Magnisum test kit is easy to use with minimal steps involved to achieve results. I prefer the numeric id to determine value instead of looking at a color chart and trying to compare shads of pink or purple. there test are instant you don't have to wait twenty minutes for chemical to settle.


Didn't like Expense


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Nov 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

NIce kit

Comments I really like this kit. Its like many other Salifert kits which is good because once you get the technique down you just repeat it on the other kits. It easy to use and fast, which I like. It has a decent color change, it could be a little more vivid but you can tell when its changed color. It is also very reliable in my experience with the kits.


Liked about it No counting of the drops and/or multiplying of any numbers. Very fast and easy to use.


Didn't like The color change could be a little more clear.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Nov 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

the best?

Comments like all salifert kits this one takes a little time to produce the result but the accuracy is supposed to be worth the effort. this kit has a few steps to it and i don't like the way you "measure" the dry reagent. you basically get a tiny plastic spoon to "measure" the amount of reagent #2. this seems a little random to me...i haven't tested this kit results vs another for accuracy as i have just started testing for this parameter, but i trust salifert so i'm sure it's as good as i am at measuring with my little spoon


Liked about it makes me feel like a real scientist with all the steps, easy to read the results


Didn't like crazy spoon measuring device


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

A must have for the serious reefer

General Like all Saliferts tests this one is a little tedious but well worth the effort. They are a little more expensive than some other kits so I use the saliferts monthly and other cheaper tests for the weekly testing.

One issues I have had with all Saliferts tests is the metering syringe. If you fill it then empty it over and over you actually fill to a different line. As long as you use moderate speed while pulling back on the syringe it is consistant.

All in all a great test and well worth the time and money
I must have for all serious reefers!


Liked about it Extermely accurate
easy to read results
Close increments for the actual readings


Didn't like Like all saliferts they are a little tedious.
The lines on the syringe seem to wear off before the kit is exhausted.
I would like to see a laminated mini reference card for the readings.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

A must have for the serious reefer

General Like all Saliferts tests this one is a little tedious but well worth the effort. They are a little more expensive than some other kits so I use the saliferts monthly and other cheaper tests for the weekly testing.

One issues I have had with all Saliferts tests is the metering syringe. If you fill it then empty it over and over you actually fill to a different line. As long as you use moderate speed while pulling back on the syringe it is consistant.

All in all a great test and well worth the time and money
I must have for all serious reefers!


Liked about it Extermely accurate
easy to read results
Close increments for the actual readings


Didn't like Like all saliferts they are a little tedious.
The lines on the syringe seem to wear off before the kit is exhausted.
I would like to see a laminated mini reference card for the readings.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

good mag test kit

Comments A little bit more complicated than the alk test kit, but a very good product. Where the alk kit has only requires a few drops of the reagent, this requires a powder as well. I've used it for years and it seems to provide a consistent measure. The tests are very consistent and straight forward way of measuring the tank's levels. the instructions are very clear, and the fidelity of the test gives you great results. It comes with everything needed to get the test done, and the simplicity of this product is what really sells me on it.


Liked about it Probably the fidelity is the best part of this kit. It gives results within a 20ppm range, whereas other high-end magnesium kits only give you about 100ppm fidelity. So while there are some negatives, I'll surely stick with this kit in the future.


Didn't like The change in color on this product is not nearly as dramatic as that with the calcium and alkalinity kits. This goes from a light gray to a light pink, and it's hard to say exactly when that transition occurs. As a result, it's a bit more challenging to use, but overall I've been satisfied.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
Apr 27, 2009
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

garbage

Comments waste of money do not buy.


Liked about it nothing.


Didn't like Way to expensive for a piece of garbage like this very inacurate way to long dont buy this.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By spittle22
May 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

complex but accurate

General It takes time and effort to get good results. If you are going to use elevated mag you are going to need to use a precise test kit that is going to be more complicated that a dip paper or color matching style kits.


Liked about it Very accurate, not complicated to use


Didn't like it takes a tedious amount of drops to get results. But the results when you get them are clear. Test tubes were a little cheap.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Excellent Kit

General A must have to help diagnose problems with alkalinity and buffer stabiltiy in general.


Liked about it Easy to use. Clear instructions. Easy test setup and performance.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drdude05
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Accurate and reliable

General Salifert test kits are one of the most reliable and trusted brand of test kits currently available.


Liked about it I've been using Salifert test kits for years and they are one of the few brands of test kits that I trust to provide accurate results every time.


Didn't like They are higher cost than other brands, but that is the price you pay for having an accurate test kit.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By pogodzib
May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $44
Compare Prices
at 15 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec407