Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (20)
 Add a review

Salifert Calcium Test Kit Featured

 
Salifert Calcium Profi Test Kit 50-100 Tests by Salifert. Salifert professional series calcium test kit for freshwater and marine aquariums


Price: $10 to $44 at 10 stores
Searched Salifert Calcium Test Kit in Reviews
 

 

The best test on the market featured

Comments This is a great test product, hands down, it really is the best. I have to say, I no longer use it though because of cost. I discovered Elos test kits and now use them. That said...Salifert is a better test. Even though the Elos tests are just as accurate as Salifert they are not as easy to read. The color change on Salifert is plain to see and I really have never used any other test that is so clear.

I was really tired of the API test with it's drip drip drip for calcium and my local fish guy recommended Salifert. When I saw the price I was a little shocked, it was $27 but I had a clam in the tank and wanted to make sure he was getting proper care and the price seemed worth it. I can tell you it was.

If these were just a little cheaper I would switch back in a heart beat and when I find them on sale, they are always what I go for over any other brand. I don't think this is just me being cheap either, I have a feeling a lot of other aquarists would agree but they buy them anyway because of the quality.

I feel like this review would stand for any of the Salifert tests. All the ones that I have used are great, clear, precise, and expensive.


Liked about it 1. Clear, and easy to read results.
2. Easy to use with clear instructions.


Didn't like 1. Costs more than I like to pay.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Easy to use kit featured

Comments This is my favorite calcium test kit of the ones I have used. It is a nice clear color change which is important. Plus its easy to do and the directions are clear and easy to follow, once you do it a few times you will be able to do it in your sleep. No tedious counting of drops or any of that, you just read the value on the syringe when the color changes and go to the chart for you reading. Plus it gives you readings in 10 ppm increments which is a lot better than some that only give you 50 ppm increments.


Liked about it You get a good amount of tests per test kit. You can even half the reagents and water and multiply your answer 2x and get double the tests. No counting of drops, you just read the value on the syringe and get a reading from the chart it comes with.


Didn't like You have to be careful with the syringe or the numbers can wear off before the kit runs out.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Sep 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

great calcium test kit featured

Comments A little bit more complicated than the alk test kit, but a very good product. I've used it for years and it seems to provide a consistent measure. I'd highly recommend this test kit. I've used salifert exclusively for the last 3-4 years, and the tests are very consistent and straight forward way of measuring the tank's levels. the instructions are very clear, and the fidelity of the test gives you great results. It comes with everything needed to get the test done, and the simplicity of this product is what really sells me on it.


Liked about it I liked the instructions, which are very clear, and the fidelity of the test gives precise data. It's also very repeatable; you can perform the same test 3 or more times and get the same result within a very tight margin. The change in color is dramatic, so you know exactly when you've gotten the right measure. I've been very satisfied with this test kit.


Didn't like I don't have anything negative to say about this test kit. It does cost a bit more than some of the other calcium test kits, but the fidelity of test is hard to match so I'm happy to pay for this brand.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Apr 27, 2009
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

would recommend it!!

Comments Easy to maintain accurate calcium levels using Saliferts kit.
Yes, I would recommend this product to my friends.


Liked about it -accurate
-lasting


Didn't like -nothing, the product was more than i expected


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

The Reliable Salifert Calcium Test

Comments A must have in the Reef Aquaria hobby. Easy to follow direction that gives accurate results. Results is achieved by using the "titration method" the most common laboratory analysis. Adding one solution to another to achieve a chemical reaction. End result shown by a color change which is easy to identify. Makes you feel like a chemist. Salifert brands are all I use.


Liked about it Accurate results and easy to use. Lasts a while once you achieve calcium balance.


Didn't like Syringe. Values wear off to easy and sometimes its difficult to draw the solution to the starting point.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Best thing I've come across but needs a few improvements

Comments Gives a consistently accurate value. The Directions are easy to understand and the results are easy to interpret. This kit can be used with confidence I dont think that there is any product available on the market to rival the Salifert Brand.


Liked about it Reliable test results with a great scale layout to determine the level with near pinpoint accuracy. This test kit can be used by a beginner or advanced aquarist.
It's even kind of Fun to watch the color change from pink to purple then to blue.


Didn't like However the reagent dropper bottle needs to be revamped and needs a better quality delivery system. The bottle seems to leak or over purge when using. This causes loss of reagent and drops that are not uniform in size.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 4kay2day
Feb 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

The only Calcium tesk kit I use!

Comments I have found the Salifert Calcium test kit to be simple, reliable, and accurate. Being a test kit, these three things make it a no brainier for me. I buy the kit locally from my LFS and always get a good deal.


Liked about it Easily distinguishable color change allows error free testing. Consistent results over the years of using this kit.


Didn't like I don't like the little powder that you add via the litte spoon. I wish this was a liquid so that it could be dropped in. I never know if I'm adding exactly the right amount of powder.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By MeuserReef
Jan 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

As usual the Salifert kits are a winner !

Comments So far I have never had a problem with a Salifert brand test kit, and the Ca test kit is no different. The kit provides an accurate easy to use reading that gives me high confidence in what I am reading.


Liked about it 1. A high quality kit from a company that is conistantly providing quality test kits.
2. Easy to use with clear directions included.


Didn't like 1.The plastic tip can become damaged fairly easily if you are not careful when putting in back in the box for storage. You should definitely remove the tip after each use to prevent this.
2. As with most Salifert kits this can be a fairly expensive product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mark_Winn
Jan 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Salifert Calcium

Comments Salifert's calcium test is my favorite and the only one I use. Simple to use, quick & painless to perform, very accurate and titration based.


Liked about it Simple & fast.
Accurate.
Titration based -- no color charts.


Didn't like Could be cheaper, but you get what you pay for.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wharyat
Jan 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great Test Kit!!!!

Comments This product is very accurate, well worth the price of admission.


Liked about it test kit is simple to use. direction are very clear and easy to understand. the test results are instant. there is no mistaking the color change while conducting the test.


Didn't like nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Nov 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Very accurate Calcium test.

Comments This is an extremely accurate test for Calcium. It is not the easiest by far but well worth the effort. They are not the cheapest either but will worth the money.

The metering syringe in .1ML is what makes this test so accurate. The color change is not to hard to determine when the color actually changes like some are.

Another issues I have had is with the scoop and what exactly is level.

All in all a great affordable test that I consider a must have especially for anyone keeping SPS.


Liked about it Extremely accurate
East to follow directions.
Close increments for the actual readings


Didn't like They are not the easiest to use and I think I went through two or three before I felt comfortable..
The lines on the syringe seem to wear off before the kit is exhausted.
It's hard to tell when the spoon is full/level or how much you actually have when adding the powders
I would like to see a laminated mini reference card for the readings.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2009
 
Last updated: May 31, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great Test Kit

Comments The Salifert Calcium test kit is a great investment. I feel confident I'm getting accurate readings every time I test. It's a little pricey but worth the money.


Liked about it 1. Easy to follow instructions.
2. Obvious color change.
3. Titration is a big plus; no counting drops.


Didn't like I'm not too big on powder reagents but the rounded scoop makes it easy. The price is more than other Ca test kits, but in this case, you get what you pay for.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dirtycontour
Dec 03, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Best test kit

Comments This is a great test kit it is very relibal and you cant get a better test kit that is more relibal


Liked about it i liked that you had a bunch of steps that you had to go threw this makes testing fun i think Also you get the results right away and you dont have to wait to see what the test is


Didn't like The things i didnt like was that it cost so much for so little tests


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By gr.dane101
May 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Salifert is the best

Comments This titration based test kit is one of the most accurate ways to measure the calcium levels in your aquarium. With a scale from 0ppm to 1000ppm and an accuracy of 10ppm, this kit will satisfy your needs as a reefer.


Liked about it Titration gives the most accurate results
Color change is drastic and recognizable
75+ tests


Didn't like Its a bit pricey, but for the accuracy you get its very much worth it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

One of the best on the market

Comments Salifert's test is one of the best on the market. Very accurate results under normal resolution testing; does offer "Low resolution" testing, which is basically half the normal dosing reagents but IMO you will sacrifice accuracy. Expect 50 tests, not 100.


Liked about it Popular test that is carried at many LFS, accurate readings under normal resolution and long shelf life


Didn't like The single drop/swirl procedure from the syringe can be a bit tedious, a couple of the reagents are a little difficult to measure


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By lunatank21
Oct 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great

General Remember that when you are filling the 1ml syringe that there will be a gas bubble the volume of the tip when you fill it. So the solution inside the syringe may only be full up to the .65ml mark.


Liked about it Easy to see the titration occur.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hawaii4485
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Excellent Kit

General A must have for the hobbyist keeping hard corals and SPS.


Liked about it Easy to use and very reliable results. Easy to read.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drdude05
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Accurate and reliable

General Salifert test kits are one of the most reliable and trusted brand of test kits currently available.


Liked about it I've been using Salifert test kits for years and they are one of the few brands of test kits that I trust to provide accurate results every time.


Didn't like They are higher cost than other brands, but that is the price you pay for having an accurate test kit.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By pogodzib
May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Acuate but a little complicated

General Its a good test kit, yes it cost a little more then the other test kits out there but it give you results and you are getting a quality product. They provide you with everything you need to measure the chemicals which is a plus. So if you have expensive corals break down spend a little more and get a better kit.


Liked about it Acuate test kit. Provides you with everything you need to test your water.


Didn't like It is a little compicated and sightly on the expensive side.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Apr 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Excellent Product

General If you are serious about measuring Calcium, this is the test kit you need.

A bit intimidating at first glance. But after you do it the first time it is quite simple.


Liked about it Easy to use
Very accurate


Didn't like It's a little pricey, but worth it


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Apr 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $44
Compare Prices
at 10 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec407