Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (15)
 Add a review

Salifert Alkalinity (KH/Alk) Test Kit Featured

 
Salifert Carbonate Hardness/Alkalinity Test Kit 100-200 Tests by Salifert. Salifert KH/Alk Profi Test Kit for freshwater and marine aquariums


Price: $6 to $49 at 18 stores
Searched Salifert Alkalinity (KH/Alk) Test Kit in Reviews
 

 

great and consistent means of measuring alkalinity featured

Comments I've used salifert exclusively for the last 3-4 years, and I'd recommend this alk kit. Very consistent and straight forward way of measuring the tank's levels. the instructions are very clear, and the fidelity of the test gives you great results. It comes with everything needed to get the test done, and the simplicity of this product is what really sells me on it.


Liked about it I liked the instructions, which are very clear, and the fidelity of the test gives precise data. It's also very repeatable; you can perform the same test 3 or more times and get the same result within a very tight margin. The change in color is dramatic, so you know exactly when you've gotten the right measure. I've been very satisfied with this test kit.


Didn't like This test kit in particular (salifert alkalinity test) did go through a few batches that gave inaccurate results, however I was never affected by that specifically. They have since corrected the problem, and the last kit I bought came with a standard to calibrate your kit with. I know this turned a few people away from the salifert brand, but I've stuck with them. The price of these kits is a bit high compared to some others, but I think the fidelity can't be matched with the cheaper kits so I'm content to pay what this test costs.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Apr 27, 2009
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Good test kit

Comments All of these kits that i have got so far are great test kits and they are so accurate and they are defently worth the money even know they are a litttle bit expensive.


Liked about it I like that they are so acurate and that you dont have to wait at all to get your results you get all of you results right away and these are very fun test kits they are like chemisty set.


Didn't like The only problem with these kits are that they cost sooo much and that they dont have that many tests that you get out of these test kits.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By gr.dane101
May 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

One of the best out there

Comments This test kit and just the name in general have provided some of the most accurate test kits on the market today. They provide detailed instructions on their use. The new ALK test kits now come with a sample you can calibrate your kit precisely + or - .03. I've tried other test kits on the market and they are not even close to being accurate. This is one area you get what you pay for.


Liked about it This kit as well as all their other kits are very easy to use. They come with everything needed, syringes, tips,vials etc. All the bottles are numbered in order making it easy to know which step you are on. Dyes change drastically so you know exactly where you are. You might think their test kits are expensive, but think about how much livestock one has in their tank. Having the peace of mind to know your water parameters are where they should help you sleep a little better at night.


Didn't like My only complaint with Salifert kits is the numbers on the syringes aren't as clear as I would like to see. Not Salifert's fault but whoever makes their syringes.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By br0ken68
Sep 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Salifert Alkalinity (KH/Alk) Test Kit

Comments Salifert test kits are the only kits I use. Some are more complicated than others. This one being the easiest. The titration method is the most common way to find out the concentration. Make sure you fill the syringe exactly ever time. Very distinct color change. Also provides chart for dKh and meq/L readings. I prefer dkh.


Liked about it I find it to be accurate. Very good directions and charts.(comes with all the kits)


Didn't like price


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Salifert Alkalinity

Comments The best test on the market. Accurate and quick; very pronounced color change. Simple and painless to use. Relatively cheap for the quality of test you receive.


Liked about it Pronounced titration.
Easy.
Fast.


Didn't like None.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wharyat
Jan 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Great Product!!!

Comments Well worth the money spent. This is one of those Aquarium Items you get what you pay for. they are not cheap test kits, however, they are accurate trust wothry and one of those items that is worth spending the long dollar on.


Liked about it This test is Very easy to conduct, The instructions are well writtin and even easy for young adults to follow with supervison the color change is distinct and unmistakeable.


Didn't like Air bubbles in the plungers. (even thought test kit says it ok) Maybe a less expensive price.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Nov 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

High qulity kit

Comments I prefer Salifert brand kits in general. This kit is no different. Very easy to use and the directions are crystal clear on what should be done. Its also great they give you a test solution to verify if the kit is still working properly when you get it and down the road a little. I also like the fact that you can half all of the reagents and water then just multiply your answer 2x to double the number of tests you get.


Liked about it There is a nice clear color change that is very distinct. I also like that they give you a chart in both dKh and meq/L. That's nice if you prefer 1 over the other. I had a different brand kit that only gave readings in meq/L and I preferred dKh.


Didn't like The price is the only downside, but in my opinion its worth every penny. But bit would be nice if it was a little cheaper.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Sep 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

A must have for the serious reefer

General Like all Saliferts tests this one is a little tedious but well worth the effort. They are a little more expensive than some other kits so I use the saliferts monthly and other cheaper tests for the weekly testing.

One issues I have had with all Saliferts tests is the metering syringe. If you fill it then empty it over and over you actually fill to a different line. As long as you use moderate speed while pulling back on the syringe it is consistant.

All in all a great test and well worth the time and money
I must have for all serious reefers!


Liked about it Extermely accurate
easy to read results
Close increments for the actual readings
Comes with a standard.


Didn't like Like all saliferts they are a little tedious.
The lines on the syringe seem to wear off before the kit is exhausted.
I would like to see a laminated mini reference card for the readings.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

What can I say its a Salifert

Comments Salifert titration kits are the best out there. This kit accurately measures alkalinity in any SW aquarium. This kit also comes with an extremely long life: 200 tests! instuctions are detailed and very easy to understand.


Liked about it Accurate
Easy to read instructions
200 tests!


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

very accurate

Comments the only kits i use easy to use
i think for what they do & accurcey they are a very good value


Liked about it price not bad
easy to use
very accurate


Didn't like iv used these test kits for years never found anything not to like


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefwreck
May 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Salifert Alkalinity (KH/Alk) Test Kit

General Great test kit.


Liked about it I believe it was more accurate than my other tests kits that I have tried.


Didn't like The syringe was a little confusing.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By AquaGrizzly
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Alk

General What can I say? The directions are easy to follow, the titration is no-nonsense, and the results are easy to read and consistent. Though I don't test as regularly as I perhaps should, this test makes it easy.


Liked about it consistent, I trust the brand, reliable results


Didn't like a bit more expensive than other kits, but why pay for an inaccurate test?


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hansmatt
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Solid Kit, But not simple.

General This kit is a very accurate test kit. Salifert tends to be more complicated in general, but gives you very accurate results. Be sure to read the directions twice if you have not used this kit before. It can be a little confusing at first to a novice. The first time also took me a good 10 mins to read, re-read and follow the step by step instructions. Its not a simple kit, but it is extremely accurate.


Liked about it Step by Step instructions.
Accurate Readings
Includes Reference Sample


Didn't like Numerous Steps
Time Consuming
Needs mild clarification on directions.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mnemic
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Excellent Kit

General A must have if you run a calcium reactor to track optimal levels and ensure SPS health.


Liked about it This kit is very straight forward and easy to use. Reliable results.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drdude05
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Accurate and reliable

General Salifert test kits are one of the most reliable and trusted brand of test kits currently available.


Liked about it I've been using Salifert test kits for years and they are one of the few brands of test kits that I trust to provide accurate results every time.


Didn't like They are higher cost than other brands, but that is the price you pay for having an accurate test kit.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By pogodzib
May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $6 to $49
Compare Prices
at 18 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec407