Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (27)
 Add a review

API Saltwater Master Test Kit Featured

 
Master Liquid Test Kit Saltwater by Aquarium Pharmaceuticals API. Everything you will need to monitor your saltwater aquarium


Price: $17 to $29 at 14 stores
Searched API Saltwater Master Test Kit in Reviews
 

 

Great for beginners!! featured

Comments I paid $15 for this test kit at my LFS. I just started a tank a few months ago and my LFS explained the importance of testing to me, especially for the chemicals this kit tests for, cause they're bound to kill your fish if you let them get out of control. This kit wasn't the cheapest I saw, nor the most expensive. Since I did my research before starting my tank, I knew that I didn't want to skimp on my test kit and this one has been great for me so far. It isn't 100% accurate but definitely great for those just starting out with a new cycle and what not.


Liked about it I do like:

-Easy to use, understandable directions
-Test tubes that come with it are nice with the little holder for them, if you use a dropper it's easy to fill them up to the 5mL level
-You get a lot of tests out of it so it's definitely good value for your money
-Tests pH, Ammonia, Nitrite, & Nitrate, not just one of them
-The matching chart is waterproof, and once you've done the test a few times, you don't even need the directions, it's that easy


Didn't like I did not like:

-Sometimes it's not 100% accurate
-Sometimes hard to read under different brightness of light (different readings if I go outside in the sun or stay inside)
-Test tubes leak after some use of them


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By EazyE518
Jan 31, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Great Entry Level Test Kit featured

Comments This is a great test kit for those who are just starting out their SW aquarium. It measures all the nesessary parameters for the nitrogen cycle + pH. Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate and Ph are contained in this test kit. All for less than on Salifert kit. Its a pretty good deal. The tests are colormetric so they are not as accurate as a titration test like Salifert but they still do the job nonetheless. The colors are distinct and easy to read under REGULAR lighting. I say regular because if you try to view this under your aquarium lights, the color may look different that what it actually is. I suggest going outside in the sun to get the real color. Instructions are fairly easy to read but I suggest taking the instruction booklet and typing them up on a computer, that way all the test instructions are on one page.


Liked about it Good value.
Tests last a while
Color charts are waterproof and easy to read
Simple to follow instructions
Great for beginner SW aquarists


Didn't like the test tubes are a pain to get exactly to the 5mL line. I started using a syringe to dose the correct amount of water.
The caps leak a bit when shaking.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Great test kit! featured

Comments Great value for the price. Has everything you need to test your water with accuracy.


Liked about it I liked it because...
- Easy to follow instructions
- One test tube for each test (nice feature)
- Convenient little holding tray...
- About 550 tests from the kit, making it very affordable!
- Much more accurate then some cheaper brands or the all elusive "Dip Test"
- Includes the four most important parameters in a marine aquarium ( PH, Ammonia, Nitrate, Nitrite)
- Once you get the hang of the testings, its second nature.


Didn't like - Glass test tubes are kind of fragile, I broke many in my freshwater test kit.
- The caps for the solutions sometimes leak, and the test tubes sometimes leak when you shake them.
- Cards can be a little hard to read at times, especially when testing in a room with different lighting, it may not be as accurate.
- Can get a little confusing with different drop amounts, wait times, and different boodles to be applied at different times. For a first timer, read the directions before anything to familiarize yourself with what you will be doing. But the instructions are really worth holding on to!
- The Parameters on the card are not labeled for quick reading, it would be nice that next to the PH reading 8.2 -8.4 it said "Ideal" or something, so us first timers wont get confused...


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Arteom Shostak
Feb 27, 2011
 
Last updated: March 08, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

A decent test kit, not to be confused with the API Reef Master Test Kit featured

Comments API makes a Reef Master test kit that comes with tests for calcium, carbonate hardness, phosphate and nitrate levels. This is not that test, this is the Saltwater Master Test Kit and it tests for high range pH, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. So if you have an established reef tank, you probably won't use these tests very often and it's the Reef Master you're looking for.

This entire test kit (4 tests) costs less than 1 Salifert or ELOS test does so in terms of cost alone, it is very attractive for someone just starting out in the hobby. The tests are accurate, but not precise. What I mean by that is, they will only show if you have high levels but won't show very specific amounts. That make this a very good set of tests for cycling a new tank, but not so much for testing an established one.

If you are just starting out in the hobby your first inclination might be to skip testing as unnecessary. You may look at the cost of ELOS or Salifert tests and confirm that inclination based on the high cost of them. Rather than skip testing, I recommend this test kit. It isn't perfect by any means, but for a beginner with a new tank, it's a safe and affordable bet.


Liked about it 1. Very affordable.
2. Contains 4 separate tests.
3. Easy to use and easy to read the results.
4. Nice packaging that keeps everything in one place, has a slot for the cards and instructions as well as reagents and vials and a nice little handle to carry it with.


Didn't like 1. Not as precise as the more expensive test kits.
2. Color cards can be a little difficult to read.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Good combination of tests featured

Comments This is a nice kit that comes with calcium, alkalinity, nitrate, and phosphate test kits. Ever since my tank has been established, these are really the only tests that I perform regularly. So for general maintenance, this is a good kit to have. If you have more challenging corals, or are interested in highly accurate and repeatable tests, I'd probably pass on this brand and looking at some higher fidelity products (such as salifert and elos).


Liked about it The best part of this setup is the price. You can probably find this kit for about half the cost of buying these individually from other brands. They are relatively simple tests to perform and they should give decent results for general knowledge of your tank's water conditions. For softy, fish only, or even a simple mixed reef, these test kits are a decent investment.


Didn't like If you're looking for something that's got great precision and high fidelity, this isnt going to be the test kit for you. The range of results on these kits leaves some to be desired. For systems where data is critical, or if you're trying to hit a very precise range with your water parameters, I'd recommend buying something of a higher quality.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Great Product!!

Comments I really like this test kit. It works great and is very accurate every time.
I use this kit every week to test the 4 most important parameter on my reef tank.
I think that this test kit is definitely a good deal for your money. Especially since I got it for $22 on eBay!
Is test kit test for ph, nitrite, nitrate and ammonia.


Liked about it Easy to use
Easy to read with the waterproof card
Fun


Didn't like Tests seem to run out quickly. Or maybe it's just how the bottles feel.
Sometimes the tests are hard to read.
Takes time.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Plugger999
Mar 12, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Perfect Starter Kit

Comments Ive been looking at getting a test kit for a while now and have decided to go with the API Saltwater Master kit. Its perfect for the new tanks as it tests for a lot of the necessary stuff. Its easy to use and comes with step by step instructions for every test. The bottles are even marked just in case you lose the instructions!


Liked about it - Simplicity. Very easy to use
- Best bang for the buck for starters.
- Comes with a vial for each test so you dont have to take 20 mins to do all the tests (some tests require 5 mins sit time for accuracy)


Didn't like - When shaking, I did notice some leakage.
- Cards are hard to tell the proper readings (especially if you're color blind)
- Not precise, but you would spend rent money to get a more accurate one.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Quik Z06
Jun 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

API Saltwater Master Test Kit

Comments Great Kit for the $$ Covers all important aspects of a s/w environment and fairly easy to use!


Liked about it Has all essential tests , PH,Nitrite,Nitrate,Ammonia Stores as a kit nicely , can get re-fill kits and or individual kits almost anywhere. Waterproof test cards. Great Price.


Didn't like Test tubes hard to fill to the line. Caps often leak when shaking , and Nitrate , PH cards hard to compare colors for beginners. Testing against the card is kind of questionable, and instructions don't specify. Correct Lighting can mean your dead on or way off, Do you hold it right up to the card , 1" away or look from the top down? Also sometimes test bottles can be hard to squeeze. Shaking the nitrate for 1 min seems too long. NO EXPIRE DATE ??


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By hunter81
Mar 31, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Awesome value!!!

Comments I think this is the best bang for your buck with water tests. I have been using these and the API Reef Master testing kit for over a year and they are great. It comes with everything you need to do the job besides the water and the instructions are easy to read and follow.


Liked about it I really like that it is all inclusive package that comes with the test tubes, chemicals, and color graphs. It also comes with recommendations on what to do for your aquarium if something is chemically off with your water. I found the tests easy to read in regular light, just match the color. I also really like that you get so many tests from one kit. I can test around 150 times without having to buy a new kit. Extremely easy to find at petshops and LFS.


Didn't like The tubes do seem to leak a bit when mixing the chemicals so put it in a towel when you shake it up or tilt it. Just make sure to follow the directions and you shouldnt have any problems at all.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aquaman1987
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Great kit for starting a new tank

Comments Price is decent, Nitrate test is hard to read, if you don't give it enough time you will be under, give it to much and you will be over. also on the Nitrate you have to follow directions exactly, or you will be way off on your results.


Liked about it great kit to use to cycle tanks. PH test is useful, also Nitrate test.


Didn't like Unless you cycle tanks for a living, or test your friends cycling tanks, its a waste of your money. I got this kit when i cycled my first SW tank. i used Ammonia test like 10 times, and nitrite test like 14 times, and never used them again. better off getting a single PH kit, and get the Reef Master Test kit.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Nate_Bro
Dec 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

it is a perfect starter kit

Comments this product is the perfect test kit for beginers as i use this kit for all cycle tanks but this is not the only kit you will need it is missing the calcium and kh test so when you get passed the cycle period you will have to get them tests also this is also a very cheap route to go they do make better test kits which are more expensive but more accurate with more detailed results


Liked about it has seperate cards to read colors with the instructions on the back of each card.
very cheap.
it has a box to keep everything in order and safe.
has 4 different viles for the 4 different tests


Didn't like it does not give a detailed reading only close
cards can be hard to judge at times


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By big_trucks_1985
Nov 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

bang for your buck

Comments This product performed just as expected. A must have for anyone with a saltwater aquarium. Very simple to use. The instructions couldn't be more clear. Very easy to take it right out of the box and take some water readings.


Liked about it I like the fact that is has a "built in" holder for the test tubes. This is very convenient while having to wait 5 minutes on a couple of the tests. Everything is color coded which is another plus. I often let my daughter match the colors so she feels like she's a big help. :)


Didn't like Having to wait the 5 minutes for the tests to calibrate is sometimes inconvenient. Other than that it's a good product for the price. Some of the colors are very close to the next one on the chart sometimes which can be misleading.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 9erNation
Feb 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Very good for beginners! !

Comments This product performs very well,very good value for the money,can be easily used by novice or expert saltwater tank keepers


Liked about it I liked how easy it was to use,the colors develop very well,instructions are easily read!


Didn't like none


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jboley
Jan 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Worth the money!

Comments For $20 or less this product is great! All the basic chem tests for cycling your tank. When you are testing every day or every day, some of the higher end chem kits can be pricey. This test kit is accurate easy to use.


Liked about it Kit is easy to use, most tests require adding a few drops of developer, shaking and then allowing 5 min to develop. EASY! Also, accurate enough for the basic tests like ammonia and nitrate. Finally one of the least expensive kits available!


Didn't like Nitrate test is awkward. Requires shaking both solutions, test tube, then waiting. Values 5-10 on nitrate test are identical colors. Ph color is also hard to read (not a good test for Ph IMO). Test tubes break! I am down to 2 test tubes after breaking them when I pulled the lid off. Wish they would give you an extra.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drew1092
Sep 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

A great beginner kit.

Comments Simple and easy to use this kit helps the new reef keeper get into the habit of regular testing without it being a hassle. These are not the most accurate tests but a good enough for most aquariums. As the tank matures and requirements become a little more importance most reefer steer away from these test. Like I said their accuracy is questionable and when stability is so crucial accurate is just as critical.

This kit includes a good mix of test. It includes PH,Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate. Those four are the most critical in the early stages of any aquarium.


Liked about it cheap
easy to use
clear concise instructions.


Didn't like They may not be as accurate as some of the higher end tests.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2009
 
Last updated: May 31, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Good Test Kit, Not the Best but not the most expen

General If your a starting a new tank this is the kit for you. When first starting you are going to be constantly testing the water and other kits are expensive. This will give you a idea of what is going on in the water of your tank. No its not the best kit on the market but it also is not going to cost you an arm and a leg. For easy fish and coral I have used it without any problems.


Liked about it Inexpensive, easy to find at stores and give you an idea of what is going on in the tank.


Didn't like Not the most acuate, cards can be hard to read and shelf life is not as long as some of the other kits out there.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Apr 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Good basic test kit.

General If you plan to have a relatively simple aquarium with hardy fishes and easy corals, this is not a bad test kit. If you want a mini chemistry set with scientific accuracy to use for keeping delicate and sensitive stuff, you need something like Salifert. I have used this item for years and have always gotten accurate results that i can use to set a remedial course of action. The color cards, i admit, can be hard to match at times but for general info it is good.


Liked about it Easy to use and understand, cheap, available everywhere. Decent little storage box.


Didn't like Sometimes the colors can be hard to match.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By icebear
Mar 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Great for keeping track of the basics

Comments This is a great kit that can bee used by a novice or experienced reefer. A must if you want to track your parameters during your cycle or just need to keep track of whats going on in your age old beauty. Being able to test all three major players is advantageous and easy with the dedicated tubes and all the included chemicals.


Liked about it Easy to use and add different tests
Great directions
includes everything you need for the basics


Didn't like You need a seperate kit for other tests


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gouch
May 28, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Decent test kit for the money

Comments I have always used this test kit ever since I have started mainting saltwater tanks. This kit is readily available at any local fish store (LFS) and the price is decent. If you are gonna be maintaing corals also then I would suggest you buy the reef masters test kit by API. The kit can sometimes be tough on beginners; the color chart can be tough depending on the way you compare the tube and bottle and the tubes themselves may be a pain to fill to the correct line for accurate readings. Bottles have experations dates so make sure you keep that in mind that way you get the right readings, and make sure to rinse out each test tube after sampling to ensure there wont be any contamination for the next test. If you have the money and want something easier than I would look into other test kits but for me this is good enough. If I think there's a problem with my tank I usually just take a sample to my LFS to be tested.


Liked about it Cost
variety


Didn't like Directions
Needs to be easier


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By jamesbooth66
Apr 06, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Not accurate

Comments If you are looking to find percise and accurate, please but a higher quality test kit. The colors are very hard to read and the tests are very time consuming. Sure, it was fun the first time but now it's a chore. I would like to test my water weekly but it takes too much time


Liked about it Cheap
Good packaging
Detailed instructions


Didn't like Not accurate
Time consuming


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Coreyb
Jan 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Easy to use

Comments I found this product very easy to use. I didn't even read the instructions. For the money this seems like a great value. All the tests a beginner needs in one kit.


Liked about it I like how the instructions for the test are one the back of the color chart. They are very easy to follow.


Didn't like Nothing really to dislike. Kit does what it's supposed to do.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Highflyr
Aug 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Worth the money

Comments Performed as expected a good starter kit for the begginer, worth the money as compared to some of the test kits that can be expensive


Liked about it Easy to use and easy to follow instructions with color charts, test are fairly accurate, i still use these test kits for the basics


Didn't like The ph test can be a little hard to tell what colors what, broke a few of the test tubes, test tubes leak when shaking


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By chrisd
Oct 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Finally have a good representation of my water par

Comments The price was a little hight (bought it at petsmart)


Liked about it I like the ease of checking all four parameters quickly.


Didn't like the Nitrate tests from them and the the one from tetra test differ....but I'm not sure who is incorrect


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Staplesofficewar
Sep 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Very good test kit

General Very accurate readings and the kit lasts for awhile.


Liked about it Everything.


Didn't like Some of the colors for comparing should be more different. Some colors it's hard to tell the difference!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By cutietwo
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Test kit

General The KH and calcium are brilliant and theres not much room for manouver however the phosphate and especially the nitrate are so subjective, you have to shake one for the nitrate tubs for a minute and vigoriously however how much is vigourously as the more you shake the different your result will be and the difference between 10 and 20 ppm is vast on the colour chart, so they are easy to use but not very accurate.


Liked about it Ease of some of the tests.
Packaging is useful.


Didn't like Subjectivity of some of the tests.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

API Master test kit

General This is a great kit if you are setting up a new aquarium. You can afford to do the amount of tests to track your cycle.


Liked about it Easy to use and pretty cheap.


Didn't like Not very accurate.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores

Great Test kit

General Good kit for beginners and pros alike


Liked about it It is a cheap accurate test kit


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By clowninaround
Jun 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $29
Compare Prices
at 14 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec399