Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.8 (19)
 Add a review

API Reef Master Test Kit Featured

 
Reef Master Test Kit Liquid Test Kit by Aquarium Pharmaceuticals API. Measures calcium, carbonate hardness, phosphate, and nitrate in saltwater aquariums


Price: $4 to $37 at 19 stores
Searched API Reef Master Test Kit in Reviews
 

 

Not exactly what Is needed to get spot on reading in my opinion. featured

Comments This test Kit is convenient in more than one way.
It is very cheap and for any new Salt Water keeper it can be very appealing and fit the available budget.
Also the directions for all the tests are very easily understood and can be performed by any keeper, no matter the skill and knowledge.


Liked about it One good thing is the available amount of solutions, there is plenty to give you many tests.
Also like the fact that the end of each dropper is controlled and it does take a decent amount of Pressure to get each drop. So over doing a test is not really a big concern.
Also the directions and color charts are full proof, Meaning anyone can pick up a kit and test away even if they have never ran the first test on water.


Didn't like I do not like the fact that the results can differ from test to test.
It is not a spot on accurate method of getting true levels.
The Nitrate test is not at all accurate, I formed this opinion using two separate Nitrate test solutions.
The readings were inconclusive, meaning I could take a test and five minutes later when performing the EXACT same test it would read different.


Overall rating:
 
2.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.5

By Treasures of the
Apr 16, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

An affordable test for beginners featured

Comments This entire test kit (4 tests) costs less than 1 Salifert or ELOS test does so in terms of cost alone, it is very attractive for someone just starting out in the hobby. The tests are accurate, but not precise. What I mean by that is, with the ELOS tests I use for phosphate it reads to .05 parts per million, Salifert (I believe) does .03 PPM but the test included with the API Reef Master Test Kit only reads to .5 which is a big difference when dealing with small polyp stony corals.

If you are just starting out in the hobby your first inclination might be to skip testing as unnecessary. You may look at the cost of ELOS or Salifert tests and confirm that inclination based on the high cost of them. Rather than skip testing, I recommend this test kit. Once you get some more expensive corals, you will be happy to get the more expensive test kits, in the meantime, this one is certainly going to give you a general idea of what's going on in your tank and allow you to take the corrective action required to achieve balance in your water.


Liked about it 1. Very affordable.
2. Contains 4 separate tests.
3. Easy to use and easy to read the results.
4. Nice packaging that keeps everything in one place, has a slot for the cards and instructions as well as reagents and vials and a nice little handle to carry it with.


Didn't like 1. Not as precise as the more expensive test kits.
2. Calcium test can take some time to complete (drop, shake, drop, shake...boring).


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By tcamos
Jul 20, 2010
 
Last updated: August 05, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good baseline master kit featured

Comments Especially good for beginners and/or frequent testing, API Reef Master Test Kit provides testing for basic salt water parameter: nitrate, alkalinity (carbonate hardness), calcium and phosphate. Control of these parameters (plus other tests for salinity and pH) will provide a healthy reef environment. The kit is a good value on the less expensive side but may be less accurate than more expensive tests. In my opinion, you should use the more expensive test periodically to double check. For example, the calcium API test is slow to register the end color resulting in a higher concentration result than a more expensive, more accurate calcium test result. Still since kalkwasser wouldn't be added unless the calcium were low, the API test functionally helped. (I recommend double checking calcium with the more expensive test periodically.) The kit is compactly stored in a plastic base with a plastic lid covering; capped vials are used in the tests. Corrosive or harmful reagents are safely stored in childproof caps: press the red tab down while twisting with other hand. However using the reagents usually results in some spillage because the caps don't fit tightly. Also, you need to use the caps to fill the vials to the correct level. (I borrowed a syringe from another test kit to more precisely fill the vials.) I suggest preparing an easy-to-clean up area and doing the tests inside the inverted plastic lid which catches spillage. Clearly this is a kit to keep out of the reach of anyone who doesn't respect the harmful nature of some chemicals: no unsupervised use by kids.


Liked about it The API Reef Master kit is efficiently set up as a small chemistry set with clear, easy-to-follow directions. Results are easy to read (either as number of drops counted for color change for calcium and carbonate hardness or set number of reagent drops with resultant color read against a color-coded chart for phosphate and nitrate). An inexpensive kit, API Reef Master effectively measures most basic parameters for frequent baseline testing (though periodic testing with more accurate, more expensive test kits is advised). Harmful reagent chemicals are protected by well designed child-proof caps.


Didn't like Vial caps leak and you have to shake vials to mix tests so it isn't going to be a neat testing area: corrosive or harmful chemicals have to be cleaned up. Some "double-checking" recommended periodically using more accurate, expensive test (but routine, frequent testing is well-served by API kit). Not the kind of aquarium testing that kids can do unsupervised.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Fielding12
Apr 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great and inexpensive test kits featured

Comments I use API kit regularly. They are cheap, quick and easy to use. To be safe I do also test with another higher quality tests just to keep a closer eye on my water parameters.

This is a great inexpensive test that I think every reef has used.
It comes with Alkalinity, Calcium, phosphate and nitrate.
I fell the was meant for the more advanced user. The average new tank owner should not really be worrying about much of these until the tank matures a bit and more and more livestock is added. But a great test and 4 tests that are vital to maintaining a healthy and stable aquarium. The Calcium test is one of the easiest test I have used but just not all that accurate and 20ppm increments. The Alkalinity is just as easy but far more inaccurate with resolution of only 1dkh. As small as .25 Dkh can make a huge difference in a tank an I think this test is only goof to give you a estimate. The nitrate if good. But usually at the time you are testing these three other nitrates are usually not much of an issue. Finally Phosphates. This tests is totally useless and not even worth the time. If you really want to know you PO34 the only way is with a photometer.



Liked about it Cheap
Easy to use
Clear concise instructions.


Didn't like They may not be as accurate as some of the higher end tests.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2009
 
Last updated: May 31, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great Product

Comments I got this to test my water parameters in my reef tank and was very pleased comes with everything you need to test from nitrites to calcium etc well worth the money and they last for a long time well over 200 tests each so you wont have to keep going to your LFS to get water tested lasts a very long time! nice container also to put and store all of them in so its not just one big mess. Plus the cost alone is what makes it worth it this whole kit may cost any where from 20-30 dollars and any other test kits you may be able to buy only 1-2 tests for that price so its very cost effective instead you get every test kit that you will need in one big bundle if you decide to go ahead with this item i dont know about you but im going to keep buying this item


Liked about it lasts a long time
color coded
nice storage


Didn't like sometimes may be hard to get accurate results


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By jamesbooth66
Nov 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

You get what you pay for

Comments This is an ok test kit for the money. The test will get you in the ballpark of where your actual reading is. Not bad for using during the cycle or on a softie tank but would not use on a sps tank. I guess the most attractive thing about this test kit is the price. You can get away with this test kit with softies but for sps or lps I would look for a more precise test kit. As I said above I use this kit for tank cycling and such but never on my main reef tank. Sometimes the colors don't seem to match to any of the card colors so your stuck guessing what the actual reading is. Just not precise enough when you got thousands of dollars worth of corals in your tank


Liked about it 1 Price
2 easy to use for the most part


Didn't like 1. Doesnt give accurate readings
2. Calcium test is horrible
3.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Dnazta
Nov 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Its cheap it works

Comments Much cheaper than other tests but still adequate for keeping levels where they should be. These test seem to get a bad reputation but really a "ballpark" measure is all you need for most parameters. More expensive tests run $15-20 or more so the question becomes is the extra accuracy worth the extra money.


Liked about it - cheap compared to other tests
- Gives consistent results.
- Each test good for at least 60 tests


Didn't like - Colors on phosphate test make it hard to read low levels
- Nitrate test take a while to do
- Vials are easily broken and caps do leak


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bpatrick
Mar 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Cheap, Easy, Fairly Accurate

Comments My first test "kit" ever. I had no idea what I was doing. After I purchased some Elos and Salifert kits, I found that the API stuff wasn't near as bad as people on the Internet forums were saying. I still use it as a way of "second guessing" my other readings. There are more accurate test kits out there, but the API is pretty easy to use, cheap, and accurate enough for quick checks.


Liked about it 1) Cheap, 2) Ease of use (clear instructions, too), 3) Ballpark accuracy


Didn't like The test vials are terrible. I use vials from other test kits when I do API testing.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By flipside
Feb 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Decent test kit

Comments I decided to give this test kit a try and it works pretty well. It's accurate and pretty easy to use. I'm not sure I like the test tube caps. Mine seem not to fit tight enough or something and I end up with some leakage. They should have been sealed better.


Liked about it Decent price
very good instructions and easy to use


Didn't like The caps for the test tubes need to be sealed better


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ibanez2k
Nov 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good kit, phosphate test a waste of time

Comments API is always accurate and is easy to perform the tests. with this kit i would like to have gotten a different test than phosphate though. maybe magnesium would be a good substitute. in any case, they have a solid package of tests and they're all easy enough to perform, but without the phospate test being needed i could have bought the other tests seperately for less money


Liked about it Price, ease of use, accuracy


Didn't like Phosphate test not needed, leaky test tube caps (have a towel handy)


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

its good but there is better

Comments This is a alright test kit it is not as acurate as come test kits but it gets the job done the test kit shows the results pretty quick and you get alot of tests in the kit.


Liked about it I liked that the test showed up really quick and they where really easy to do and if you dont have a ton of time to test this is a great test kit.


Didn't like I didnt like that it didnt tell you exaclty what the mesurment was it told you intervals


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By gr.dane101
May 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Worth the money

Comments This product is a must for a reef tank. It has saved my tank twice since i bought it.


Liked about it This test kit comes with alkalinity, calcium, phosphate, nitrate tests and instruction book and 4 test tubes with tops. Great for beginners. I have been told the shelf life is short on API but I have not ran into that yet.


Didn't like Needed Ph test in it also


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By richieg0324
Nov 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

be a "Reef Master"

Comments I received one of these "reef master" test kits as gift and I am very happy to have it. As always API has a good product with easy to follow directions. I do like the carrying case, it keeps everything nice and neat when not in use.


Liked about it Easy to use
Easy to read results


Didn't like No major complaints


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great and very clear except for calcium

Comments Great product, has all tests needed for the average reefer


Liked about it Very clear directions, colors develop very clearly in tests


Didn't like Calcium test does not work for me, it never changes to the end color.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good average test

General I don't test a lot, so I only use this to double check everything. It has done well for me so far. This kit is probably best for people starting out for there first year or so of reef keeping, after which it can be supplemented with more high end kits.


Liked about it The price is right and the results are usually close enough that I am happy.


Didn't like I isn't as accurate as some of the test kits out there.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By guitar8222
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

API Reef Test

General A great test for getting a base line reading.


Liked about it For the most part easy to use and pretty cheap.


Didn't like The accuracy is a little less than I would like.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great Starter kit

General Good starter kit


Liked about it Cheap and easy to use an understand


Didn't like Colors are sometimes hard to determine


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By clowninaround
Jun 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good entry level kit

General A good cheap basic kit. It is fine for keeping fish, inverts and hearty corals such as most soft corals and many large polyp stony corals. It lacks the accuracy for sensitive species. If you are not trying to keep a ultra low nutrient SPS system then this kit cannot be beaten for the price.


Liked about it It is easy to test, easy to read and very inexpensive.


Didn't like It does not test very low levels of nitrate or phosphate. Some find the colors hard to discern on the comparison charts. It has a shorter shelf life than higher end test kits.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By jenglish
Mar 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

API Reef Masters Test kit

General API are known for good test kits . My test kit was $24.99 at the LFS (Local Fish Store). I'm trying a Red Sea Marine Lab test kit now .Much more user friendly .


Liked about it Small compact testing kit,


Didn't like Should have 5ml syringe for adding tank water to test vial. Caps on test vials leak when shaking if not held on tight.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By biowheel
Jan 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $37
Compare Prices
at 19 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec399