Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.4 (11)
 Add a review

API 5 in 1 Aquarium Test Strips Featured

 
Testing your water quality can be complicated, but test strips can help you simplify your testing routine These strips can be dipped directly into your aquarium, no test tubes or separate samples are required. Highly...


Price: $4 to $16 at 20 stores
Searched API 5 in 1 Aquarium Test Strips in Reviews
 

 

I was expecting more

Comments Yes. At a basic level.


Liked about it Easy, quick to use.


Didn't like Product works but the packet says to come to this site "for information on interpreting the test results and correcting unsafe conditions". Seems like there is no information on what the results mean ... or it's very well hidden ... ... is 120 GH good or bad? is a PH of 6.5 killing my fish ... instead of these answers, I found lots of promotion for other products ... but why buy them here? Seems like another case of deceptive advertising ...what they say they offer and what you get are chalk and cheese. Now, I will post to a review site to warn others.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By nicmac
May 18, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

quick and easy

Comments Alittle pricy but seem to work. I have this test kit but never found anything wrong with using it on my salt water tank.


Liked about it its simple and easy to use. just dunk it and check. thats what i like about it cause your not mixing water and waiting for resualts. what i love is you get 5 things in one plus its a one dip deal and no messing with bottles.


Didn't like after you dunked it in water some of the dye on the pads leak out and mix with a other pad on the strip. pricy for what u get and there's alot better test kits out there, but over all i think its a great product for someone starting out to use.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aquatic-marine
Aug 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

Do not trust them

Comments I have used them on both fresh water and salt water and I would say they would be ok for fresh water but in saltwater I would not trust them at all. I have used them and found very erratic results and a lot of variation depending on ho long you dip the strip and how long you wait to read the results. For me I now only use high quality test with a proven track record for quality and any serious reef tank keeper should be considering the same thing. I have no idea why any manufacture would ever make and market something like these for saltwater tanks. Using this product to maintain a reef tank would only lead to big problem down the road.


Liked about it I would use this for fresh water only and then I may still question the accuracy of these tests.


Didn't like The accuracy is very questionable same with the reliability of the reading. I would also what if any chemicals re getting into your tank when you dip the strip.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

These are not accurate

Comments I used test strips years ago when I was new to the hobby, and I gave them more credibility than I should have. Test strips, in general, do not have near the accuracy that high quality test kits provide. In general, you get what you pay for in this hobby, and these test strips are no exception.


Liked about it These are cheap and very easy to use. The color variations is generally good, and the instructions are clear. The product itself works as directed, but the results are questionable. This kit also combines many of the tests required for early tank life, so knowing things such as ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and carbonate hardness is nice to have all in one kit.


Didn't like Again, the results are very questionable. I would not recommend these for anything other than very simple tests where the results are notional, not being used for critical decision making.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
May 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

Easy to use!

Comments These test strips are designed so you don't need to be a chemist to use them. They're easy to use as long as you read the directions carefully. Many hobbists simple dip it in the water and record, but some test squares are required to sit for 30 seconds or so to be read accurately.


Liked about it These are moderately cheap and are easy to use.


Didn't like These strips aren't extremely accurate, it's more an approximate, ex: dip...wait...orange-purple color, review the charts and you see that it's somewhere between 7.8 and 8.4 for your pH. You know if it's in the right range but you don't know the exact numbers.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
Jan 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

Good general test kit

Comments This works all right if you want a general overview of what's going on with your water. It gets the job done.


Liked about it Easy to use
fairly accurate


Didn't like a bit pricy, there are better reef test kits.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By ibanez2k
Nov 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

Accurate but wasteful

Comments These are accurate for casual measurements, but my complaint is the cost vs the number of tests you get. i don't need to test for ammonia in my tank, once your tank is established this is almost irrelevant as the biological filtration does the job. i like being able to test just parameters i'm needing to monitor...spend the money on a good reef kit and you'll be in better shape.


Liked about it Easy to use, quick readings


Didn't like Costly per test, waste a whole strip of tests for things you're not concerned with


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

No Information

Comments I followed the instructions,which were easy,since I've done soil tests before. However,after jotting down the results,I read that to evaluate the results,I should go to their website. Therein lies the problem:no data or normal levels information,just more products to look at.


Liked about it It was easy to read


Didn't like No product support or info on the site mentioned on the instructions,nor acceptable levels for each test subject


Overall rating:
 
1.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By lha
Jan 03, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

Amazing test kits to use!

Comments I always use these when I give water tests. They almost show the same amount of levels as water based test kits do!


Liked about it Accurate and very fast to use. The directions are on the same bottle that you use. The colors are easy to identify.


Didn't like I love using these test strips but however, I wished they could add ammonia to their tests too so then I don't have to buy another one.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Silentdea
Mar 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

Great for the money and fast!

Comments I love using these to test water quality quickly. The readings are accurate, very simple to use. You can get a good water reading within a minute easily. The price is good and they last a decent amount of time.


Liked about it Easy to use
Quick
Cheap


Didn't like Nothing!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jagator
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores

thoughts on 5-1 test kit

General I used this when first setting up my aquarium. Great product able to use it between working maintenace on my tanks plus other family members requesting assistance.


Liked about it QUick and simple easy to read directions.


Didn't like NO complaints


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
May 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $16
Compare Prices
at 20 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec399