Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (11)
 Add a review

CaribSea Seaflor Special Grade Reef Sand 40 lb Featured

 
Special Grade Reef Sand 40 lbs by Caribsea. Perfectly suited as a reef tank bottom cover or for use with nitrate-reducing systems


Price: $25 to $43 at 3 stores
Searched CaribSea Seaflor Special Grade Reef Sand 40 lb in Reviews
 

 

best sand available in my opinion featured

Comments This is my favorite sand for a reef tank, or really any marine aquarium. While many finer products have a tendency to blow around, this product stays put and won't make dunes near significantly as other sands. With a grain size range from 1-2mm, this is still plenty small for burrowing or sand sifting fish, yet large enough to handle high flow applications.


Liked about it The price on this product is good, I don't see any reason to spend large amounts of money on live sand. When purchased in larger bags, this product is even more cost effective. It does cover well, and the best aspect of it is that it doesn't blow around in high flow tanks. If you're using tuzne or vortech pumps in a display, or even high powered closed loops systems, making sure the sand stays put is important. This is going to give you the best chance unless you want to step up towards a crushed coral product. The color is good, too, giving a very natural look to your aquarium.


Didn't like While this does cover the tank well, it still requires a pretty large quantity to cover deeply if desired. That's not necessarily unique to this sand, but for a 2" sand bed in a 180 gallon tank you'll probably need upwards of 200 lbs.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

I had no problems with this sand.

Comments I have a 150g tank and had the LFS guy come out and hook everything up. He put this sand into my tank and filed it up. Everyone was shocked to see how clear the water was. Don't get me wrong as it was a little cloudy but nothing like what anyone thought it would be. In a few hours it was really clear. The color is nice and it looks great!

I will buy this sand again for my 265g reef tank fixing to be put together.


Liked about it It didn't make the tank real cloudy when it was first put into the tank
I also like the look and feel of it and the price was about right.
I don't have any problem with the sand being blown around in the tank.


Didn't like I really don't have aything bad to say about this product. I guess if it was free it would be perfect!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kingsnake
Jun 26, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Pretty wallet friendly

Comments This is a good quality sand for the money. Even though it's not "live" it's not hard to get it seeded.


Liked about it I liked the fact that it varies in size. It has some fine particles as well as a little coarser sand mixed in as well. The bags these came in are pretty heavy duty, I liked this because I had to move the bags around a few times before I was ready to set up my tank. Had they been made of smaller mil bags, I would have punctured it during moving and have sand everywhere. I like the fact that this sand is readily available at just about any pet store.


Didn't like I only have one complaint about this item and that is the fact that it takes a while to get it rinsed. Due to the different sizes of coarse and fine makes this sand pretty dusty. A good rinsing though and you're good to go


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By br0ken68
Sep 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Dusty....but worth it

Comments Awesome product! Its a dry sand not a "live" sand so it does take quite a bit more rinsing then others. Once you get this stuff clean...it does a great job in your tank! You can use it for any animal, and you can clean it weekly with a vac if you would like, if you want to run a deep sand bed this stuff works for that too. Its pretty forgiving if you stir it up and it wont blow around with crazy flow.


Liked about it Heavy enough to not blow around
Great size
burrower safe
Easy to clean


Didn't like DUSTY DUSTY DUSTY
some wood scraps were in my bag.....
Did I mention you have to rinse this stuff several times because its dusty....


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jun 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

LOOKS GREAT

Comments Well worth it.just rinse it really well and then it is awsome. no dust storms if it is rinsed well


Liked about it looks great. actually reflects alot of light. easy to maintain.


Didn't like that the package says no need to rinse. well i know first hand you need to. after not rinsing the first time.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jboley
Jan 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

GREAT for a high flow reef!

General I have used this on all mt tank and have suggested it to many other people. Every person I know who has used it has loved it.

I have a 125 with 12,000gph flow and this substrate does not move around at all.

If your tired of the sand storms with finer aragonite try Carib Sea Special Grade Reef Floor...

You wont regret it!


Liked about it It's a great size not too small not too large
Stays put even in a high flow reef.
for the most part it's clean (free of debris)
Look very nice as long as it's kept clean.


Didn't like Took a long time to rinse but so do all the others.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

The best sand you can get for a reef.

Comments I've tried many kinds of substrates before. However, this was definitely the substrate of my choice.


Liked about it I liked how the sand had the nice, reef, look to it and it was white and really expressed the colors of the sea.


Didn't like I didn't like how it was so cloudy even after I rinsed it. However, the dust was only short-lived and the next day, all of the dust went away.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Silentdea
Mar 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great look

Comments Works great and looks great, definitely worth the money. This sand is heavy enough to not create sand storms in your tank and not create mounds, but it is also small enough to not trap detritus.


Liked about it It look's great and very natural, it does not cause sandstorms inside your tank, it is a very easy sand to keep and is also great for bottom dwelling fish like jawfish.


Didn't like Nothing to complain about with this sand, it is very easy to keep and looks great!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Last updated: December 28, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Stable sand for flow

General I use this as a layer over sugar fine sand to stop sand storms but get the benefits of sugar fine sand as well.


Liked about it Handles flow much better than most sands. Is stable for digging critters.


Didn't like Does trap a bit of detritus.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good for Lots of Flow!

General I use this sand in all my displays. You need to rinse it well, and sometimes it traps detritus, but a good clean up crew and sand stirrers, and that problem is solved. I am running 7200 GPH in my 60 cube, and with proper flow management, this sand doesn't budge. It has been good for me, just make sure to rinse it! I was running bare bottom, but got tired of the look...


Liked about it Great grain size, Stays put for the most part...


Didn't like Sometimes traps detritus, but MUCH better than crushed coral!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great sand!

General i got recommended this sand so i bought it. I definitely would recommend it to a friend


Liked about it never moved. if you want the flow of a bare bottom and want sand i would use this sand.


Didn't like sometimes got build up.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quader94
Jun 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $43
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec421