Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (8)
 Add a review

Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original 20 lb Featured

 
Kitchen


Price: $18 to $47 at 3 stores
Searched Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original 20 lb in Reviews
 

 

Only sand ill use!

Comments this sand is well worth the money and i have been happy with everything about it ive used this type of sand in about 5 diff. reef tanks and have never had a problem has great bacteria to help start your cycle and is fine enough for the inhabitants that like sand to enjoy it. doesnt blow around very much and depending on how you put in the tank it doesnt tank long for the water to clear mine took about a hour, i fill my tank with about 3 inches of saltwater then add the sand and spread it out then slowly add the rest of the water and you should be good. like i said ive used this in many tanks and have never had any problems perfect natural colors wich make the tank seem more like the ocean!



Liked about it great color
doesnt blow around
great bacteria


Didn't like depending on how you use it at first it may fog up the tank


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jamesbooth66
Jan 08, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Excellent for starting new systems!

Comments I used Carib Sea live sand when I started the tank over five years ago. Since then I have added sand just last year to replace some that was siphoned out in water changes. It mixes well with other substrate, has good bacteria content, and is fine textured for sand loving critters. It is worth the money, especially if you do not have an existing tank or source of live sand.


Liked about it I liked the fine texture and color of this sand. It gives the tank a good seabed appearance. It really helped promote cycling of my tank. It can be added to existing sand without having to fully mix it and without affecting existing sand chemistry/bacteria.


Didn't like It does take a while to settle out when first introduced. Filled my filter sock in sump quickly. Pricey if you have a used sand source.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By refhater
Apr 30, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great product for your sand bed

Comments This product comes with a promise of instant cycling for your tank. That's quite a promise. Does it deliver? Well, yes and no. If you carefully read the instructions you will find some qualifications to that promise. However, within the bounds of those qualifications it does do what it says. Certainly using this live sand in your tank will reduce the amount of time it takes to fully cycle the tank. Also, in terms of quality of sand, this is great quality for those creatures that live in sand. For example, a pistol shrimp and his watchman goby companion would do well in this sand. It also comes in black if you are going for an Hawaiian style tank.


Liked about it 1. Reduces cycle time
2. Nice color and texture to sand
3. Has tiny shells in it that add a nice touch


Didn't like 1. More expensive than regular sand but I still wouldn't buy any other brand.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great look

Comments Im not sure how live it really is but it does have an ample supply of good bacteria. I used it in display and in my refugium. It did the best in the refugium but I think maybe you be better off seeding some sand yourself.


Liked about it I liked the white fine color it has in my display tank and the good supply of nitrifying bacteria.


Didn't like Not worth the price.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Nice color

Comments This sand does add helpful bacteria when starting out a tank, so it cycles faster, but like others have said, it's about the same to have some "dead sand" and add just a little bit of live sand. This sand is a nice color and is pretty fine in size. It does add cloudiness to the tank for about 24 hours when you poor it in, but that settles.


Liked about it This sand has many little critters in it and helps your tank cylce much faster!
I also like the fine whitness of it, it makes it look like an ocean bed.


Didn't like This sand is quite expensive(so are other sands) so just go with dead sand and it becomes live sand once your tank establishes anyway.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By berger9953
Jan 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Not worth the money

Comments It is better to get a cup or two of live sand from a tank that has been established for a while and then add dry sand then to buy live sand. I think that live sand sold in bags like this isn't exactly live, but if you have no one to get live sand from it would be a good idea to get a bag of this mixed with dry sand.


Liked about it It looks nice and gives you a kickstart in your cycle because it does have alot of nitrifying bacteria already in it. This sand is great if you need a quick cycling sand and don't have access to sand from an already existing tank.


Didn't like Came with nitrates and wasn't worth it for the bit of live sand. Better to just seed dry sand with a cup or two of real live sand.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Last updated: December 28, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Amazing!

Comments Very good sand, great variety in texture.


Liked about it I love this sand. It's got a little bit of everything and just looks extraordinarily natural in any aquarium. I've used it in two aquariums and love it! Very fine grains all the way up to tiny pieces of coral skeletons and shells, just beautiful IMO.


Didn't like Can't think of much. I love this stuff. I guess if I had to say one thing it would be that after about 6 to 8 months in the tank your sand stiring crew will have settled all the smaller pieces to the bottom and the top will be almost nothing but the larger grain pieces and tiny shells. Still looks great though.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Oct 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

My main sand!

Comments This sand is great. I put 20 pounds in my 20 gallon tank and it gives it a nice look. Just be aware, it will cloud your tank at first! Definitely worth the money for it. Also, since this sand is from the ocean, it has already added bacteria!


Liked about it -a lot of sand in a bag
- perfect grain size
- bacteria


Didn't like -clouds tank


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Plugger999
Apr 25, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $47
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec421