Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (10)
 Add a review

CaribSea Aragamax Sugar-Sized Sand 30 lb

 
Aragamax Sand 30 lbs by . Naturally aids in the reduction of nitrates


Price: $22 to $24 at 2 stores
Searched CaribSea Aragamax Sugar-Sized Sand 30 lb in Reviews
 

 

Sugar Fine Sand - Works Great!

Comments I used this sand to fill my fuge and it is simply fantastic. It looks good, critters love it, and it's helping keep my nitrates down to zero. I hands-down wish I had purchased some of this for my display tank - it just works perfectly. I currently have a crush coral substrate which is a pain to clean in comparison to this sand in my sump. I like it so much I believe I'll be making the gradual transition to get this sand into my DT.


Liked about it - appearance/color is very pleasing
- grain size is perfect for every level of bacterial colonization
- quite inexpensive


Didn't like - YOU MUST RINSE THIS STUFF VERY WELL before adding it to your tank. The dust makes a very messy cloud


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kristopher
Nov 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

NO3 Level Hits Rock Bottom!

Comments Absolutely the last thing you'll ever need to complete the N cycle! Due to CaribSea Aragamax sugar-sized fine particle size, water flow is restricted in the lower parts of the sand bed therefore, creating an anaerobic area suitable for N converting bacteria colonization. NO3 level remains 0 compared to coarse crushed corals which gave me NO3 reading of 18-36ppm resulting to uncontrolled algae bloom, most corals get too sensitive at NO3 levels of >20ppm. You'll definitely need to do a significant volume of water change!


Liked about it NO3 level remained at constantly 0. No algae bloom ever since I switched to sugar-sized sand bottom. Water change frequency reduced! Aesthetically, it looks a lot better than coarse-sized substrates.


Didn't like Sugar-sized sand particles tend to shift every now and then depending on wave patterns you set in your tank.
The key is to set your pumps/wavemakers to positions where the sand is less likely to be blown away or shifted here and there.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rye_ws@yahoo.com
Jun 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

way too small for systems with high flow

Comments This sand is about as small a grain size as you can get, and in my opinion it's simply too small to be useful. The product is packaged well and comes in a variety of sizes for various use, but I generally don't prefer it.


Liked about it The sugar sized sand does have a good color for a nature looking substrate for your tank, and it's relatively inexpensive (especially compared to "live" sand). It works well in low flow applications where a lot of sand-sifters are housed, but in most cases I find it too small.


Didn't like The biggest drawback for me on this sand is the size. At a 0.1-1.0mm grain size, it gets blown around way too easily. If you're keeping a reef tank with a high flow, you will regret having this product in the tank. It works well and has a good composition, but the grain size is a non-starter for me.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

I loved it in my low flow softie tank!.

Comments I would not put this product in a high flow tank!
It is far too fine and all you will have is a dust storm.
This sand is really unique super fine and almost looks fluid in the tank.
I chose this product because the super fine sand have the benefit of trapping unwanted stuff such as Nitrates and Ammonia..
But beware eventually it will begin to leach out as your sand bed ages.
This sand also provides a really solid foundation for your live rock. Unlike with coarser sand once you set a piece of rock in this sand it stays put and there is not settling.


Liked about it I really like the look of the super fine sand. I would keep in in my SPS reef if I did not have so much flow. I have actually though about putting some of this into my sump for nutrient absorption. This sand is very fine a dense. It make a great foundation for large and heavy live rock.


Didn't like Because it is so dense you do not get as much volume per pound so by that it is more costly than other more coarse sands.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

CaribSea Aragamax Sugar-Sized Sand

General Probably the better sand I've used. Great for fuges.


Liked about it This sand is probably some of the most used sand in the industry. I've used it in my 450 gallon tank, a 300 and several fuges. Ultimately I think this is a great product and if you are a deep-sand bed person, most likely is the one you want to use. Good surface area and the color is nice and bright. Sand-sifting critters do well in the sugar sized mix.


Didn't like If you are looking into higher flow, this sand may not be right for you. It does tend to blow around and therefor care needs to be taken and quite a bot of experimentation to ensure your set up is right. Otherwise you may have a nice pile of sand and some bare areas. Expect a couple days of running filter socks and skimming wet to clear the tank if you are adding it to an established tank.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Hop
Apr 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Best Sand Bed Choice.

Comments Best sand out to buy in my book. Great color, size's , and live bacteria.


Liked about it Low sand storm , can clean top layer with out a mess , and cleans easy.


Didn't like Not much i don't like about this product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By BobbyRodriguez
Dec 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Aragamax sugar sand

Comments Good grain size. I found that with the larger grains, there is too much detritus buildup and it gets pretty colored up with material. Though it blows around for a few days, it soon gets enough growth to settle down and not get disturbed by power heads.


Liked about it Nothing fancy, but it does it's job. I like the fine, white appearance, and the size is very uniform. I did let it sit/rinse for a few days in RODI, but it was pretty well rinsed & clean.


Didn't like If not available locally, shipping several 30lb bags gets expensive.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hansmatt
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Sugar fine sand

General Great sand, I have used it for years. If you have diggers it can be so fine it is hard for them to make stable caves in without rocks or shells to add structure.


Liked about it This is the fine sand most deep sand bed people are talking about when they say they have sugar fine sand. It offers great surface area and is easy for critters to dig in.


Didn't like If you have high flow, this sand will need to be covered with a heavier courser sand or you will will get sand dunes.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great substrate

General This is a graet choice for deep sand beds and lower flow softy and FOWLR setups. Not for reef tanks housing sps as the flow needed for those tanks kicks this sand up in the water column regularly and keeps the water cloudy.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By drdude05
Jun 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

love the look.

General For DSB i think this is an excellent choice. Love the aesthetics of the sand and soon I will enjoy the benefits of the DSB.


Liked about it great quality. sand grains are uniform. Decided to go deep sand band and this was my first choice. Dust was not as bad as I have experienced with other brands.


Didn't like Sandstorm! luckily, It cleared in a few days.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By harlequin29
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $22 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec421